Energy
middle half489 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 490 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 437–531 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 147 calories for 1 cup (30 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 30 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 30 g
147calories
Tortilla chips, reduced sodium
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 147 calories for 1 cup at 30 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 489 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.8 g protein, 1.4 g fiber, and 4 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted, representing 85% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 10–416 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708212: “Tortilla chips, reduced sodium.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708212, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 chipUSDA-listed household measure | 2 g | 10 kcal | 0.2 g | 0.1 g | 0 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 30 g | 147 kcal | 2.8 g | 1.4 g | 4 mg |
| 1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 416 kcal | 7.9 g | 3.8 g | 11 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Tortilla, corn, other chips USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708212’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half489 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter13 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708212’s 30 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium25 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.8 g
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium4 mg
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Tortilla chips, reduced sodium,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708205 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 10 kcal to 416 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 282 mg less sodium than “Corn chips, reduced sodium.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted supplies 85% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “reduced sodium” fits. Inspect FDC 2708205 when “reduced sodium” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “reduced sodium”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordTortilla chips, reduced sodium | 30 g147 kcal | 489 kcal | 9.4 g | 19.8 g | 4.5 g | 13 mg |
| Corn chips, reduced sodium | 45 g247 kcal | 549 kcal | 6.8 g | 33.6 g | 3.9 g | 295 mg |
| Tortilla chips, reduced fat, plain | 30 g123 kcal | 411 kcal | 10.9 g | 5.6 g | 5.2 g | 511 mg |
| Tortilla chips, reduced fat, flavored | 30 g123 kcal | 411 kcal | 10.9 g | 5.6 g | 5.2 g | 511 mg |
| Tortilla chips, plain | 30 g142 kcal | 472 kcal | 7.1 g | 20.7 g | 5.4 g | 328 mg |
| Tortilla chips, flavored | 30 g156 kcal | 519 kcal | 7.4 g | 27.4 g | 5.1 g | 691 mg |
| Tortilla chips, other flavors (Doritos) | 30 g156 kcal | 519 kcal | 7.4 g | 27.4 g | 5.1 g | 691 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708212: its source amount is 30 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708212, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
10 kcal
2 g
137 kcal
28 g
279 kcal
57 g
416 kcal
85 g
147 kcal
30 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708212, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
5.9 g≈ 8% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
20.4 g≈ 7% Daily ValueMagnesium
24.6 mg≈ 6% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708212’s 30 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 30 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 147 kcal 489 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.8 g 9.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 20.4 g 68.1 g | 7% 25% |
| Total fat | 5.9 g 19.8 g | 8% 25% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g 4.5 g | 5% 16% |
| Sugars | 0.2 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 3.9 mg 13 mg | 0% 1% |
| Saturated fat | 0.8 g 2.7 g | 4% 14% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.7 g 5.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.1 g 10.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 69.3 mg 231 mg | 1% 5% |
| Calcium | 40.5 mg 135 mg | 3% 10% |
| Iron | 0.4 mg 1.4 mg | 2% 8% |
| Magnesium | 24.6 mg 82 mg | 6% 20% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0.9 µg 3 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.4 g 1.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708212, approximate percentages divide the displayed 30 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708212 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Tortilla chips, reduced sodium” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted, Oil, corn. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 19833 · encyclopedia page available | 85 GM | 85 g | 85% |
| 2 | Oil, cornUSDA ingredient 4518 · encyclopedia page available | 15 GM | 15 g | 15% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708212, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Tortilla, corn, other chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 489 kcal | 549 kcal | −60 kcal |
| Protein | 9.4 g | 6.8 g | +2.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 68.1 g | 56.8 g | +11.3 g |
| Total fat | 19.8 g | 33.6 g | −13.8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4.5 g | 3.9 g | +0.6 g |
| Sodium | 13 mg | 295 mg | −282 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 60 less calories, 2.5 g more protein, and 11.3 g more carbohydrate than “Corn chips, reduced sodium.”
Only the comparison record lists Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Snacks, tortilla chips, low fat, unsalted; Oil, corn.
Listed only in the comparison: Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (45 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708212 with FDC 2708205 at equal mass; use their 30 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708212 versus FDC 2708205 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full tortilla, corn, other chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708212 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Tortilla chips, reduced sodium” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708212 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Tortilla chips, reduced sodium,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708212 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 489 kcal per 100 g becomes 147 kcal at 30 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708212
FNDDS food code: 54402080
The scaling for FDC 2708212 can be exact while the match to “Tortilla chips, reduced sodium” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 30 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.