Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Wheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked calories: 118 per 1 cup, cooked (240 g)

This exact USDA record reports 118 calories for 1 cup, cooked (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup, cooked · 240 g

Calories
118 kcal
Protein
4.3 g
Carbohydrate
26.4 g
Total fat
1.1 g
Fiber
4.3 g
Sodium
809 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 240 g

118calories

Wheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked

Protein
4.3 g
Carbs
26.4 g
Fat
1.1 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708443

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 118 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 49 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 4.3 g protein, 4.3 g fiber, and 809 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 86.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 103–345 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708443: “Wheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708443, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, dry, yields” through “1 cup, dry, yields” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure 210 g 103 kcal 3.8 g 3.8 g 708 mg
1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 240 g 118 kcal 4.3 g 4.3 g 809 mg
1 cup, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure 705 g 345 kcal 12.6 g 12.7 g 2,376 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Grits and other cooked cereals

The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Grits and other cooked cereals USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708443’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

49 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
68 kcal
Middle 50%
58–84 kcal

Based on 18 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

1.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1.2–1.7 g

Based on 18 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

1.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.7 g
Middle 50%
0.5–1.2 g

Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

337 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
84 mg
Middle 50%
71–197 mg

Based on 18 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708443’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber4.3 g

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium60 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium809 mg

≈ 35% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.4 g

≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Wheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708442 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, dry, yields to 1 cup, dry, yields

    USDA assigns those measures 210 g and 705 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 103 kcal to 345 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708442

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 266 mg more sodium than “Whole wheat cereal, cooked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, drinking

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 86.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “chocolate flavored; cooked” fits. Inspect FDC 2708442 when “cooked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Wheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked

Exact source wording
“Wheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708443 · FNDDS 56207370
Named qualifiers
chocolate flavored · cooked
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Whole wheat cereal, cooked

Exact source wording
“Whole wheat cereal, cooked”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708442 · FNDDS 56207200
Named qualifiers
cooked

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate flavored” and “cooked”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordWheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked 240 g118 kcal 49 kcal 1.8 g 0.5 g 1.8 g 337 mg
Whole wheat cereal, cooked 240 g113 kcal 47 kcal 1.6 g 0.3 g 1.3 g 71 mg
Oat bran cereal, cooked 240 g110 kcal 46 kcal 3.2 g 1.3 g 2.9 g 69 mg
Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, no added fat 240 g122 kcal 51 kcal 1.5 g 0.2 g 0.5 g 72 mg
Cream of wheat, instant, made with water, no added fat 240 g161 kcal 67 kcal 1.5 g 0.2 g 0.5 g 85 mg
Cream of wheat, regular or quick, made with water, fat added 240 g156 kcal 65 kcal 1.4 g 1.8 g 0.5 g 83 mg
Cream of wheat, instant, made with water, fat added 240 g197 kcal 82 kcal 1.5 g 2.1 g 0.5 g 98 mg

How to compare FDC 2708443: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708443, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked

118 kcal

240 g

1 cup, dry, yields

345 kcal

705 g

1 oz, dry, yields

103 kcal

210 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708443, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

808.8 mg≈ 35% Daily Value

Dietary fiber

4.3 g≈ 15% Daily Value

Magnesium

60 mg≈ 14% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708443’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708443 at 240 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 4.3 g dietary fiber, about 15% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 809 mg sodium, about 35% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 118 kcal Not established
Protein 4.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 26.4 g 10%
Total fat 1.1 g 1%
Dietary fiber 4.3 g 15%
Sugars 0.2 g Not established
Sodium 808.8 mg 35%
Saturated fat 0.4 g 2%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 172.8 mg 4%
Calcium 26.4 mg 2%
Iron 1.5 mg 8%
Magnesium 60 mg 14%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 7.2 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 205.2 g Not established

For FDC 2708443, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708443 to 4 source inputs totaling 821 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Wheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Cereals, whole wheat hot natural cereal, dry, Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

821 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cereals, whole wheat hot natural cereal, dryUSDA ingredient 8144 1 94 g 11.4%
2 Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetenedUSDA ingredient 19165 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 1.2%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1 TS 6 g 0.7%
4 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 3 C 711 g 86.6%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708443, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Grits and other cooked cereals” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories49 kcal47 kcal+2 kcal
Protein1.8 g1.6 g+0.2 g
Carbohydrate11 g10.4 g+0.6 g
Total fat0.5 g0.3 g+0.2 g
Dietary fiber1.8 g1.3 g+0.5 g
Sodium337 mg71 mg+266 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 0.5 g more dietary fiber and 266 mg more sodium than “Whole wheat cereal, cooked.”

Only this record lists Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Cereals, whole wheat hot natural cereal, dry; Salt, table; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.

Listed only in this record: Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708443 with FDC 2708442 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708443 versus FDC 2708442 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full grits and other cooked cereals source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.

For “Wheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708443 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 49 kcal per 100 g becomes 118 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708443

FNDDS food code: 56207370

The scaling for FDC 2708443 can be exact while the match to “Wheat cereal, chocolate flavored, cooked” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.