Energy
upper quarter106 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 80 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 60–94 kcal
Based on 12 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 180 calories for a 6-ounce container (170 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Yogurt, whole milk, fruit
Quick facts
6-ounce container · 170 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 6 oz container · 170 g
180calories
Yogurt, whole milk, fruit
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 180 calories for a 6-ounce container at 170 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 106 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.7 g protein, 0.3 g fiber, and 70 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is yogurt, plain, whole milk, representing 86% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists a 6-ounce container at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 120–260 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705426: “Yogurt, whole milk, fruit.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705426, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 4 oz container” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 4 oz containerUSDA-listed household measure | 113 g | 120 kcal | 3.8 g | 0.2 g | 46 mg |
| 1 6 oz containerUSDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 180 kcal | 5.7 g | 0.3 g | 70 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 245 g | 260 kcal | 8.2 g | 0.5 g | 100 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 12 exact records in the Yogurt, regular USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705426’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter106 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter3.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter0.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter41 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705426’s 170 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium190 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin D2 µg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.4 g
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium70 mg
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Yogurt, whole milk, fruit,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705418 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 113 g and 245 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 120 kcal to 260 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 8.8 g more carbohydrate than “Yogurt, whole milk, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Yogurt, plain, whole milk supplies 86% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “whole milk; fruit” fits. Inspect FDC 2705418 when “whole milk; plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whole milk” and “fruit”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordYogurt, whole milk, fruit | 170 g180 kcal | 106 kcal | 3.3 g | 3.9 g | 0.2 g | 41 mg |
| Yogurt, whole milk, plain | 170 g133 kcal | 78 kcal | 3.8 g | 4.5 g | 0 g | 42 mg |
| Yogurt, whole milk, flavors other than fruit | 170 g162 kcal | 95 kcal | 3.3 g | 3.9 g | 0 g | 36 mg |
| Yogurt, nonfat milk, fruit | 170 g78 kcal | 46 kcal | 3.6 g | 0.1 g | 0 g | 45 mg |
| Yogurt, low fat milk, fruit | 170 g158 kcal | 93 kcal | 4.6 g | 1.3 g | 0.2 g | 65 mg |
| Yogurt parfait, with fruit | 150 g156 kcal | 104 kcal | 5.3 g | 2.2 g | 1.3 g | 44 mg |
| Yogurt, nonfat milk, flavors other than fruit | 170 g80 kcal | 47 kcal | 3.6 g | 0.1 g | 0 g | 44 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705426: its source amount is 170 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705426, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
120 kcal
113 g
180 kcal
170 g
180 kcal
170 g
260 kcal
245 g
A source measure below uses USDA shorthand; the full glossary appears with the source formulation.
At a glance
For FDC 2705426, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
3.4 g≈ 17% Daily ValueCalcium
190.4 mg≈ 15% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705426’s 170 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705426 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 5.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 170 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 180 kcal 106 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.7 g 3.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 24.5 g 14.4 g | 9% 5% |
| Total fat | 6.6 g 3.9 g | 8% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.3 g 0.2 g | 1% 1% |
| Sugars | 17.5 g 10.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 69.7 mg 41 mg | 3% 2% |
| Saturated fat | 3.4 g 2 g | 17% 10% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.3 g 0.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 20.4 mg 12 mg | 7% 4% |
| Potassium | 258.4 mg 152 mg | 5% 3% |
| Calcium | 190.4 mg 112 mg | 15% 9% |
| Iron | 0.1 mg 0.1 mg | 1% 0% |
| Magnesium | 17 mg 10 mg | 4% 2% |
| Vitamin C | 2.9 mg 1.7 mg | 3% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 2 µg 1.2 µg | 10% 6% |
| Vitamin A | 69.7 µg 41 µg | 8% 5% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 131.9 g 77.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705426, approximate percentages divide the displayed 170 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705426 to 3 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Yogurt, whole milk, fruit” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Yogurt, plain, whole milk, Jams and preserves, Vitamin D as ingredient. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Yogurt, plain, whole milkUSDA ingredient 1116 · encyclopedia page available | 86 GM | 86 g | 86% |
| 2 | Jams and preservesUSDA ingredient 19297 · encyclopedia page available | 14 GM | 14 g | 14% |
| 3 | Vitamin D as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999328 · encyclopedia page available | 0.01 GM | 0 g | 0% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705426, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yogurt, regular” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 106 kcal | 78 kcal | +28 kcal |
| Protein | 3.3 g | 3.8 g | −0.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 14.4 g | 5.6 g | +8.8 g |
| Total fat | 3.9 g | 4.5 g | −0.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.2 g | 0 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 41 mg | 42 mg | −1 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 28 more calories and 8.8 g more carbohydrate than “Yogurt, whole milk, plain.”
Only this record lists Jams and preserves. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Yogurt, plain, whole milk; Vitamin D as ingredient.
Listed only in this record: Jams and preserves.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is a 6-ounce container (170 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is a 6-ounce container (170 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705426 with FDC 2705418 at equal mass; use their 170 g and 170 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705426 versus FDC 2705418 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yogurt, regular source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2705426 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Yogurt, whole milk, fruit” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705426 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.
For “Yogurt, whole milk, fruit,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705426 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 106 kcal per 100 g becomes 180 kcal at 170 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 6-ounce container has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705426
FNDDS food code: 11431000
The scaling for FDC 2705426 can be exact while the match to “Yogurt, whole milk, fruit” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 170 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.