Energy
middle half274 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 305 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 271–372 kcal
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 123 calories for 1 slice (45 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 slice · 45 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 slice · 45 g
123calories
Bread, Boston Brown
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 123 calories for 1 slice at 45 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 274 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4.8 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 203 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, wheat, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707847: “Bread, Boston Brown.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707847, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 33.8 g | 92 kcal | 3.6 g | 1.4 g | 152 mg |
| 1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 45 g | 123 kcal | 4.8 g | 1.8 g | 203 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 56.3 g | 154 kcal | 6 g | 2.3 g | 253 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the Biscuits, muffins, quick breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707847’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half274 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter10.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter450 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707847’s 45 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.8 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium203 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.3 g
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bread, Boston Brown,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707848 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 33.8–56.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 92 kcal and 154 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 15.6 g less total fat than “Bread, nut.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “Boston Brown” fits. Inspect FDC 2707848 when “nut” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “Boston Brown”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBread, Boston Brown | 45 g123 kcal | 274 kcal | 10.7 g | 4.5 g | 4 g | 450 mg |
| Bread, pumpkin | 60 g183 kcal | 305 kcal | 5 g | 12.9 g | 1.4 g | 285 mg |
| Bread, zucchini | 40 g122 kcal | 306 kcal | 5.1 g | 13.1 g | 0.9 g | 290 mg |
| Casabe, cassava bread | 100 g299 kcal | 299 kcal | 2.5 g | 0.5 g | 3.4 g | 1,180 mg |
| Bread, Irish soda | 74 g223 kcal | 301 kcal | 6.5 g | 9 g | 2.3 g | 445 mg |
| Bread, fruit | 41 g153 kcal | 374 kcal | 6 g | 18.1 g | 1.2 g | 302 mg |
| Bread, nut | 49 g197 kcal | 403 kcal | 6.6 g | 20.1 g | 1.2 g | 336 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707847: its source amount is 45 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707847, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
123 kcal
45 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707847, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Iron
1.6 mg≈ 9% Daily ValueSodium
202.5 mg≈ 9% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707847’s 45 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707847 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 4.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 45 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 123 kcal 274 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4.8 g 10.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 21.4 g 47.5 g | 8% 17% |
| Total fat | 2 g 4.5 g | 3% 6% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 4 g | 6% 14% |
| Sugars | 2.6 g 5.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 202.5 mg 450 mg | 9% 20% |
| Saturated fat | 0.3 g 0.7 g | 2% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.3 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.7 g 1.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 63.5 mg 141 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 56.3 mg 125 mg | 4% 10% |
| Iron | 1.6 mg 3.6 mg | 9% 20% |
| Magnesium | 18.5 mg 41 mg | 4% 10% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 15.8 g 35.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707847, approximate percentages divide the displayed 45 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707847 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, Boston Brown” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Bread, wheat is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, wheatUSDA ingredient 18064 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707847, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Biscuits, muffins, quick breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 274 kcal | 403 kcal | −129 kcal |
| Protein | 10.7 g | 6.6 g | +4.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 47.5 g | 49.7 g | −2.2 g |
| Total fat | 4.5 g | 20.1 g | −15.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4 g | 1.2 g | +2.8 g |
| Sodium | 450 mg | 336 mg | +114 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 129 less calories, 4.1 g more protein, and 15.6 g less total fat than “Bread, nut.”
Only this record lists Bread, wheat. Only the comparison record lists Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Salt, table; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Bread, wheat.
Listed only in the comparison: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Salt, table; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; and 6 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (45 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 49 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (49 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707847 with FDC 2707848 at equal mass; use their 45 g and 49 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707847 versus FDC 2707848 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full biscuits, muffins, quick breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Bread, Boston Brown” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707847 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Bread, Boston Brown,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707847 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 274 kcal per 100 g becomes 123 kcal at 45 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707847
FNDDS food code: 52401000
The scaling for FDC 2707847 can be exact while the match to “Bread, Boston Brown” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 45 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.