Energy
upper quarter374 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 305 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 271–372 kcal
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 153 calories for 1 slice (41 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 slice · 41 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 slice · 41 g
153calories
Bread, fruit
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 153 calories for 1 slice at 41 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 374 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.5 g protein, 0.5 g fiber, and 124 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, representing 22.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 11 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 33–213 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707850: “Bread, fruit.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707850, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 individual loaf” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 8.7 g | 33 kcal | 0.5 g | 0.1 g | 26 mg |
| 1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 41 g | 153 kcal | 2.5 g | 0.5 g | 124 mg |
| 1 individual loafUSDA-listed household measure | 57 g | 213 kcal | 3.4 g | 0.7 g | 172 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the Biscuits, muffins, quick breads USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707850’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter374 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter1.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter302 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707850’s 41 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Saturated fat1.1 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium124 mg
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bread, fruit,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707848 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 8.7 g and 57 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 33 kcal to 213 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 29 kcal less calories than “Bread, nut.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 11 input rows; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached supplies 22.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “fruit” fits. Inspect FDC 2707848 when “nut” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fruit”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBread, fruit | 41 g153 kcal | 374 kcal | 6 g | 18.1 g | 1.2 g | 302 mg |
| Muffin, fruit | 130 g488 kcal | 375 kcal | 4.5 g | 16.1 g | 1.1 g | 336 mg |
| Bread, nut | 49 g197 kcal | 403 kcal | 6.6 g | 20.1 g | 1.2 g | 336 mg |
| Bread, zucchini | 40 g122 kcal | 306 kcal | 5.1 g | 13.1 g | 0.9 g | 290 mg |
| Bread, pumpkin | 60 g183 kcal | 305 kcal | 5 g | 12.9 g | 1.4 g | 285 mg |
| Bread, Irish soda | 74 g223 kcal | 301 kcal | 6.5 g | 9 g | 2.3 g | 445 mg |
| Casabe, cassava bread | 100 g299 kcal | 299 kcal | 2.5 g | 0.5 g | 3.4 g | 1,180 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707850: its source amount is 41 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707850, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
153 kcal
41 g
33 kcal
9 g
213 kcal
57 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707850, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
7.4 g≈ 10% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
19.4 g≈ 7% Daily ValueCholesterol
18.5 mg≈ 6% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707850’s 41 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 41 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 153 kcal 374 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.5 g 6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 19.4 g 47.3 g | 7% 17% |
| Total fat | 7.4 g 18.1 g | 10% 23% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.5 g 1.2 g | 2% 4% |
| Sugars | 10.3 g 25.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 123.8 mg 302 mg | 5% 13% |
| Saturated fat | 1.1 g 2.7 g | 5% 13% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.5 g 6.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.2 g 7.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 18.5 mg 45 mg | 6% 15% |
| Potassium | 70.1 mg 171 mg | 1% 4% |
| Calcium | 59.9 mg 146 mg | 5% 11% |
| Iron | 0.8 mg 2.1 mg | 5% 12% |
| Magnesium | 10.3 mg 25 mg | 2% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0.5 mg 1.3 mg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.5 µg | 1% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 13.9 µg 34 µg | 2% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 10.9 g 26.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707850, approximate percentages divide the displayed 41 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707850 to 11 source inputs totaling 1,113 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, fruit” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, Milk, NFS, Sugars, brown. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
1,113 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available | 2 C | 250 g | 22.5% |
| 2 | Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfateUSDA ingredient 18369 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TB | 13.8 g | 1.2% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 TS | 3 g | 0.3% |
| 4 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 9% |
| 5 | Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available | 1 C | 244 g | 21.9% |
| 6 | Sugars, brownUSDA ingredient 19334 · encyclopedia page available | 0.67 C | 146.7 g | 13.2% |
| 7 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 C | 112 g | 10.1% |
| 8 | Vanilla extract, imitation, no alcoholUSDA ingredient 2052 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TS | 4.3 g | 0.4% |
| 9 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 0.33 C | 66.7 g | 6% |
| 10 | Bananas, ripe and slightly ripe, rawUSDA ingredient 9040 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 C | 112.5 g | 10.1% |
| 11 | Nuts, walnuts, English, halves, rawUSDA ingredient 12155 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 5.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707850, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Biscuits, muffins, quick breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 374 kcal | 403 kcal | −29 kcal |
| Protein | 6 g | 6.6 g | −0.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 47.3 g | 49.7 g | −2.4 g |
| Total fat | 18.1 g | 20.1 g | −2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g | 1.2 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 302 mg | 336 mg | −34 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 29 less calories than “Bread, nut.”
Only this record lists Bananas, ripe and slightly ripe, raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Salt, table; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; and 6 more.
Listed only in this record: Bananas, ripe and slightly ripe, raw.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 41 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (41 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 49 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (49 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707850 with FDC 2707848 at equal mass; use their 41 g and 49 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707850 versus FDC 2707848 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full biscuits, muffins, quick breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Bread, fruit” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707850 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Bread, fruit,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707850 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 374 kcal per 100 g becomes 153 kcal at 41 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707850
FNDDS food code: 52405010
The scaling for FDC 2707850 can be exact while the match to “Bread, fruit” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 41 g weight, 11-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.