Energy
middle half279 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 277 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 262–299 kcal
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 159 calories for 1 medium pita (57 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium pita · 57 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium pita · 57 g
159calories
Bread, pita with fruit
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 159 calories for 1 medium pita at 57 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 279 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4.7 g protein, 1.5 g fiber, and 259 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, pita, white, enriched, representing 83.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium pita at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 6–318 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707617: “Bread, pita with fruit.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707617, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 surface inch” through “1 extra large pita” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 surface inchUSDA-listed household measure | 2 g | 6 kcal | 0.2 g | 0.1 g | 9 mg |
| 1 medium pitaUSDA-listed household measure | 57 g | 159 kcal | 4.7 g | 1.5 g | 259 mg |
| 1 extra large pitaUSDA-listed household measure | 114 g | 318 kcal | 9.3 g | 3 g | 518 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707617’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half279 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter8.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half454 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707617’s 57 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.5 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium259 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.1 g
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bread, pita with fruit,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707616 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 114 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 6 kcal to 318 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 82 mg less sodium than “Bread, pita.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Bread, pita, white, enriched supplies 83.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “pita with fruit” fits. Inspect FDC 2707616 when “pita” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “pita with fruit”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBread, pita with fruit | 57 g159 kcal | 279 kcal | 8.2 g | 1.1 g | 2.6 g | 454 mg |
| Bread, pita | 57 g157 kcal | 275 kcal | 9.1 g | 1.2 g | 2.2 g | 536 mg |
| Bread, pita, whole wheat | 57 g149 kcal | 262 kcal | 9.8 g | 1.7 g | 6.1 g | 421 mg |
| Bread, pita, wheat or cracked wheat | 57 g149 kcal | 262 kcal | 9.8 g | 1.7 g | 6.1 g | 421 mg |
| Bread, barley | 28 g77 kcal | 274 kcal | 10.7 g | 4.5 g | 4 g | 450 mg |
| Bread, Cuban | 20 g54 kcal | 272 kcal | 10.8 g | 2.4 g | 2.2 g | 602 mg |
| Bread, raisin | 28 g76 kcal | 270 kcal | 8.8 g | 3.3 g | 2.5 g | 408 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707617: its source amount is 57 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707617, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
78 kcal
28 g
159 kcal
57 g
237 kcal
85 g
318 kcal
114 g
6 kcal
2 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707617, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
33.9 g≈ 12% Daily ValueSodium
258.8 mg≈ 11% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707617’s 57 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707617 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 4.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707617 at 57 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 57 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 159 kcal 279 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4.7 g 8.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 33.9 g 59.5 g | 12% 22% |
| Total fat | 0.6 g 1.1 g | 1% 1% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g 2.6 g | 5% 9% |
| Sugars | 6.6 g 11.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 258.8 mg 454 mg | 11% 20% |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g 0.2 g | 0% 1% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.3 g 0.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 119.1 mg 209 mg | 3% 4% |
| Calcium | 46.7 mg 82 mg | 4% 6% |
| Iron | 1.4 mg 2.5 mg | 8% 14% |
| Magnesium | 16 mg 28 mg | 4% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.3 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 16.8 g 29.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707617, approximate percentages divide the displayed 57 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707617 to 2 source inputs totaling 743.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, pita with fruit” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bread, pita, white, enriched, Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program). The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
743.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, pita, white, enrichedUSDA ingredient 18041 · encyclopedia page available | 22 WO | 623.7 g | 83.9% |
| 2 | Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 9298 · encyclopedia page available | 0.75 C | 120 g | 16.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707617, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 279 kcal | 275 kcal | +4 kcal |
| Protein | 8.2 g | 9.1 g | −0.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 59.5 g | 55.7 g | +3.8 g |
| Total fat | 1.1 g | 1.2 g | −0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.6 g | 2.2 g | +0.4 g |
| Sodium | 454 mg | 536 mg | −82 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 82 mg less sodium than “Bread, pita.”
Only this record lists Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program). Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Bread, pita, white, enriched.
Listed only in this record: Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program).
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 57 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium pita (57 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 57 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium pita (57 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707617 with FDC 2707616 at equal mass; use their 57 g and 57 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707617 versus FDC 2707616 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Bread, pita with fruit” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707617 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Bread, pita with fruit,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707617 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 279 kcal per 100 g becomes 159 kcal at 57 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium pita has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707617
FNDDS food code: 51109150
The scaling for FDC 2707617 can be exact while the match to “Bread, pita with fruit” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 57 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.