Energy
middle half297 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 277 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 262–299 kcal
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 74 calories for 1 medium or regular slice (25 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium or regular slice · 25 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium or regular slice · 25 g
74calories
Bread, raisin, toasted
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 74 calories for 1 medium or regular slice at 25 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 297 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.4 g protein, 0.7 g fiber, and 112 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, white, commercially prepared, representing 90% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium or regular slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 27–116 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707645: “Bread, raisin, toasted.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707645, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 slice, snack-size” through “1 large or thick slice” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 slice, snack-sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 9 g | 27 kcal | 0.9 g | 0.3 g | 40 mg |
| 1 medium or regular sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 25 g | 74 kcal | 2.4 g | 0.7 g | 112 mg |
| 1 large or thick sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 39 g | 116 kcal | 3.8 g | 1.1 g | 175 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707645’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half297 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half448 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707645’s 25 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Sodium112 mg
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.2 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bread, raisin, toasted,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707644 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 9 g and 39 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 27 kcal to 116 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 27 kcal more calories than “Bread, raisin.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Bread, white, commercially prepared supplies 90% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “raisin; toasted” fits. Inspect FDC 2707644 when “raisin” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “raisin” and “toasted”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBread, raisin, toasted | 25 g74 kcal | 297 kcal | 9.7 g | 3.6 g | 2.8 g | 448 mg |
| Bread, raisin | 28 g76 kcal | 270 kcal | 8.8 g | 3.3 g | 2.5 g | 408 mg |
| Bread, oatmeal, toasted | 25 g74 kcal | 296 kcal | 9.2 g | 4.8 g | 4.4 g | 491 mg |
| Bread, Cuban, toasted | 18 g54 kcal | 299 kcal | 11.8 g | 2.7 g | 2.4 g | 662 mg |
| Bread, white, toasted | 25 g73 kcal | 293 kcal | 10.4 g | 3.9 g | 2.5 g | 495 mg |
| Bread, cinnamon, toasted | 25 g73 kcal | 293 kcal | 10.4 g | 3.9 g | 2.5 g | 495 mg |
| Bread, barley, toasted | 25 g75 kcal | 301 kcal | 11.7 g | 5 g | 4.4 g | 495 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707645: its source amount is 25 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707645, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
65 kcal
22 g
74 kcal
25 g
116 kcal
39 g
36 kcal
12 g
27 kcal
9 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707645, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
14.4 g≈ 5% Daily ValueIron
0.9 mg≈ 5% Daily ValueSodium
112 mg≈ 5% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707645’s 25 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 25 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 74 kcal 297 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.4 g 9.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 14.4 g 57.4 g | 5% 21% |
| Total fat | 0.9 g 3.6 g | 1% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.7 g 2.8 g | 3% 10% |
| Sugars | 3.1 g 12.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 112 mg 448 mg | 5% 19% |
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g 0.8 g | 1% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.5 g 1.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 49.3 mg 197 mg | 1% 4% |
| Calcium | 53.8 mg 215 mg | 4% 17% |
| Iron | 0.9 mg 3.5 mg | 5% 20% |
| Magnesium | 7.8 mg 31 mg | 2% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.3 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 6.8 g 27.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707645, approximate percentages divide the displayed 25 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707645 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, raisin, toasted” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bread, white, commercially prepared, Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program). The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available | 90 GM | 90 g | 90% |
| 2 | Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 9298 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 10% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707645, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 297 kcal | 270 kcal | +27 kcal |
| Protein | 9.7 g | 8.8 g | +0.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 57.4 g | 52.2 g | +5.2 g |
| Total fat | 3.6 g | 3.3 g | +0.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.8 g | 2.5 g | +0.3 g |
| Sodium | 448 mg | 408 mg | +40 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 27 more calories than “Bread, raisin.”
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Bread, white, commercially prepared; Raisins, dark, seedless (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program).
The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 25 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (25 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (28 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707645 with FDC 2707644 at equal mass; use their 25 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707645 versus FDC 2707644 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Bread, raisin, toasted” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707645 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Bread, raisin, toasted,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707645 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 297 kcal per 100 g becomes 74 kcal at 25 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium or regular slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707645
FNDDS food code: 51129020
The scaling for FDC 2707645 can be exact while the match to “Bread, raisin, toasted” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 25 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.