Energy
middle half380 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 384 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 379–388 kcal
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 152 calories for 1 cup (40 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 40 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 40 g
152calories
Cereal, chocolate crispy
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 152 calories for 1 cup at 40 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 380 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.1 g protein, 0.6 g fiber, and 219 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, rice, white, unenriched, representing 56.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 10 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 114–152 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708451: “Cereal, chocolate crispy.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708451, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 prepackaged single serving” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 prepackaged single servingUSDA-listed household measure | 30 g | 114 kcal | 1.6 g | 0.4 g | 164 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 40 g | 152 kcal | 2.1 g | 0.6 g | 219 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 50 g | 190 kcal | 2.7 g | 0.7 g | 274 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g) USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708451’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half380 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half5.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter1.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half547 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708451’s 40 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron4 mg
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin D2 µg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium219 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.3 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cereal, chocolate crispy,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708458 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 30 g and 40 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 114 kcal to 152 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.1 g more dietary fiber than “Cereal, rice crispy, flavored.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 10 input rows; Flour, rice, white, unenriched supplies 56.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “chocolate crispy” fits. Inspect FDC 2708458 when “rice crispy; flavored” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate crispy”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCereal, chocolate crispy | 40 g152 kcal | 380 kcal | 5.4 g | 4.2 g | 1.4 g | 547 mg |
| Cereal, fruit crispy | 35 g134 kcal | 384 kcal | 4.3 g | 3.9 g | 0.3 g | 542 mg |
| Cereal, other, chocolate | 40 g154 kcal | 384 kcal | 5.4 g | 4.6 g | 3.2 g | 486 mg |
| Cereal, chocolate puffs | 35 g136 kcal | 388 kcal | 5.4 g | 5 g | 5 g | 425 mg |
| Cereal, rice crispy, flavored | 40 g149 kcal | 372 kcal | 5 g | 0.9 g | 0.3 g | 355 mg |
| Cereal, O's, flavored | 40 g154 kcal | 385 kcal | 8.6 g | 5.4 g | 7.6 g | 580 mg |
| Cereal, K's, flavored | 35 g127 kcal | 363 kcal | 7.3 g | 1.2 g | 8 g | 617 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708451: its source amount is 40 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708451, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
152 kcal
40 g
114 kcal
30 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708451, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Iron
3.8 mg≈ 21% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
32.7 g≈ 12% Daily ValueVitamin D
2 µg≈ 10% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708451’s 40 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 40 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 152 kcal 380 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.1 g 5.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 32.7 g 81.8 g | 12% 30% |
| Total fat | 1.7 g 4.2 g | 2% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.6 g 1.4 g | 2% 5% |
| Sugars | 14.2 g 35.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 218.8 mg 547 mg | 10% 24% |
| Saturated fat | 0.3 g 0.7 g | 1% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.9 g 2.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.4 g 1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 35.6 mg 89 mg | 1% 2% |
| Calcium | 4 mg 10 mg | 0% 1% |
| Iron | 3.8 mg 9.6 mg | 21% 53% |
| Magnesium | 11.2 mg 28 mg | 3% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 2 µg 4.9 µg | 10% 25% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 2.8 mg 7 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 2.7 g 6.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708451, approximate percentages divide the displayed 40 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708451 to 10 source inputs totaling 101.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal, chocolate crispy” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, rice, white, unenriched, Sugars, granulated, Oil, canola. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
101.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flour, rice, white, unenrichedUSDA ingredient 20061 · encyclopedia page available | 57 GM | 57 g | 56.2% |
| 2 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 36 GM | 36 g | 35.5% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1.4 GM | 1.4 g | 1.4% |
| 4 | Oil, canolaUSDA ingredient 4582 · encyclopedia page available | 3 GM | 3 g | 3% |
| 5 | Soy protein isolateUSDA ingredient 16122 · encyclopedia page available | 1 GM | 1 g | 1% |
| 6 | Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetenedUSDA ingredient 19165 · encyclopedia page available | 3 GM | 3 g | 3% |
| 7 | Vitamin B composite in cerealsUSDA ingredient 999001 · encyclopedia page available | 0.02 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 8 | Folic acid as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999431 · encyclopedia page available | 0.03 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 9 | Iron as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999303 · encyclopedia page available | 0.01 GM | 0 g | 0% |
| 10 | Vitamin D as ingredientUSDA ingredient 999328 · encyclopedia page available | 0.05 GM | 0.1 g | 0% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708451, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g)” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 380 kcal | 372 kcal | +8 kcal |
| Protein | 5.4 g | 5 g | +0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 81.8 g | 86 g | −4.2 g |
| Total fat | 4.2 g | 0.9 g | +3.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g | 0.3 g | +1.1 g |
| Sodium | 547 mg | 355 mg | +192 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.3 g more total fat, 1.1 g more dietary fiber, and 192 mg more sodium than “Cereal, rice crispy, flavored.”
Only this record lists Oil, canola; Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Flour, rice, white, unenriched; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table; Soy protein isolate; and 4 more.
Listed only in this record: Oil, canola; Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 40 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (40 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 40 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (40 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708451 with FDC 2708458 at equal mass; use their 40 g and 40 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708451 versus FDC 2708458 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g) source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cereal, chocolate crispy” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708451 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Cereal, chocolate crispy,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708451 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 380 kcal per 100 g becomes 152 kcal at 40 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708451
FNDDS food code: 57126000
The scaling for FDC 2708451 can be exact while the match to “Cereal, chocolate crispy” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 40 g weight, 10-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.