Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin/coating removed calories: 211 per 1 breast (120 g)

This exact USDA record reports 211 calories for 1 breast (120 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten

Quick facts

1 breast · 120 g

Calories
211 kcal
Protein
35.5 g
Carbohydrate
0 g
Total fat
6.5 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
424 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium breast · 120 g

211calories

Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten

Protein
35.5 g
Carbs
0 g
Fat
6.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705981

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 211 calories for 1 breast at 120 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 176 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 35.5 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 424 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw, representing 98% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 breast at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 50–273 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705981: “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705981, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 breast quarter (yield after cooking, bone removed)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 28.4 g 50 kcal 8.4 g 0 g 100 mg
1 medium breastUSDA-listed household measure 120 g 211 kcal 35.5 g 0 g 424 mg
1 breast quarter (yield after cooking, bone removed)USDA-listed household measure 155 g 273 kcal 45.9 g 0 g 547 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Chicken, whole pieces

The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705981’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

176 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
206 kcal
Middle 50%
183–250 kcal

Based on 125 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

29.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.1 g
Middle 50%
19.4–24.4 g

Based on 125 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.2 g

Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

353 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
414 mg
Middle 50%
356–486 mg

Based on 125 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705981’s 120 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Potassium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Potassium422 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium34 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium424 mg

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.2 g

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705980 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, cooked to 1 breast quarter (yield after cooking, bone removed)

    USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 155 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 50 kcal to 273 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705980

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4 g less carbohydrate than “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw supplies 98% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “baked; coated; skin / coating not eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2705980 when “baked; coated; skin / coating eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705981 · FNDDS 24127501
Named qualifiers
baked · coated · skin / coating not eaten
Source inputs unique in this pair
Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705980 · FNDDS 24127500
Named qualifiers
baked · coated · skin / coating eaten
Source inputs unique in this pair
Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw · Breading or batter as ingredient in food

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “baked”, “coated”, and “skin / coating not eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten 120 g211 kcal 176 kcal 29.6 g 5.5 g 0 g 353 mg
Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten 175 g362 kcal 207 kcal 23.8 g 9.9 g 0.2 g 320 mg
Chicken drumstick, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten 50 g85 kcal 169 kcal 23.6 g 7.5 g 0 g 432 mg
Chicken thigh, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten 70 g134 kcal 192 kcal 24.1 g 9.9 g 0 g 410 mg
Chicken drumstick, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten 85 g174 kcal 205 kcal 21 g 11 g 0.2 g 439 mg
Chicken thigh, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten 110 g264 kcal 240 kcal 21 g 15 g 0.2 g 420 mg
Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating not eaten, from raw 120 g211 kcal 176 kcal 29.6 g 5.5 g 0 g 353 mg

How to compare FDC 2705981: its source amount is 120 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705981, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked, diced

238 kcal

135 g

1 small breast

185 kcal

105 g

1 medium breast

211 kcal

120 g

1 large breast

238 kcal

135 g

1 breast, NS as to size

211 kcal

120 g

1 small or thin slice

53 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705981, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

115.2 mg≈ 38% Daily Value

Sodium

423.6 mg≈ 18% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705981’s 120 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705981 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 35.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705981 at 120 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 424 mg sodium, about 18% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 120 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 211 kcal Not established
Protein 35.5 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0 g 0%
Total fat 6.5 g 8%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 423.6 mg 18%
Saturated fat 1.2 g 6%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 115.2 mg 38%
Potassium 422.4 mg 9%
Calcium 8.4 mg 1%
Iron 0.5 mg 3%
Magnesium 33.6 mg 8%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 10.8 µg 1%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 75.4 g Not established

For FDC 2705981, approximate percentages divide the displayed 120 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705981 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from rawUSDA ingredient 24122131 · encyclopedia page available 98 GM 98 g 98%
2 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 2 GM 2 g 2%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705981, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories176 kcal207 kcal−31 kcal
Protein29.6 g23.8 g+5.8 g
Carbohydrate0 g4 g−4 g
Total fat5.5 g9.9 g−4.5 g
Dietary fiber0 g0.2 g−0.2 g
Sodium353 mg320 mg+33 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 31 less calories, 5.8 g more protein, and 4 g less carbohydrate than “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten.”

Only this record lists Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw. Only the comparison record lists Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw; Breading or batter as ingredient in food. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Vegetable oil, NFS.

Listed only in this record: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw.

Listed only in the comparison: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw; Breading or batter as ingredient in food.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 120 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (120 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (175 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705981 with FDC 2705980 at equal mass; use their 120 g and 175 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705981 versus FDC 2705980 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705981 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 176 kcal per 100 g becomes 211 kcal at 120 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 breast has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705981

FNDDS food code: 24127501

The scaling for FDC 2705981 can be exact while the match to “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 120 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.