Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin/coating eaten calories: 362 per 1 breast (175 g)

This exact USDA record reports 362 calories for 1 breast (175 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten

Quick facts

1 breast · 175 g

Calories
362 kcal
Protein
41.7 g
Carbohydrate
7 g
Total fat
17.3 g
Fiber
0.4 g
Sodium
560 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium breast · 175 g

362calories

Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten

Protein
41.7 g
Carbs
7 g
Fat
17.3 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705980

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 362 calories for 1 breast at 175 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 207 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 41.7 g protein, 0.4 g fiber, and 560 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw, representing 88% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 breast at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 59–404 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705980: “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705980, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 large breast” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 28.4 g 59 kcal 6.8 g 0.1 g 91 mg
1 medium breastUSDA-listed household measure 175 g 362 kcal 41.7 g 0.4 g 560 mg
1 large breastUSDA-listed household measure 195 g 404 kcal 46.4 g 0.4 g 624 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Chicken, whole pieces

The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705980’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

207 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
206 kcal
Middle 50%
183–250 kcal

Based on 125 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

23.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.1 g
Middle 50%
19.4–24.4 g

Based on 125 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.2 g

Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

320 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
414 mg
Middle 50%
356–486 mg

Based on 125 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705980’s 175 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Potassium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Potassium473 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium40 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium560 mg

≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat4 g

≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705981 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, cooked to 1 large breast

    USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 195 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 59 kcal to 404 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705981

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4 g more carbohydrate than “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw supplies 88% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “baked; coated; skin / coating eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2705981 when “baked; coated; skin / coating not eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705980 · FNDDS 24127500
Named qualifiers
baked · coated · skin / coating eaten
Source inputs unique in this pair
Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw · Breading or batter as ingredient in food

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705981 · FNDDS 24127501
Named qualifiers
baked · coated · skin / coating not eaten
Source inputs unique in this pair
Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “baked”, “coated”, and “skin / coating eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten 175 g362 kcal 207 kcal 23.8 g 9.9 g 0.2 g 320 mg
Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten 120 g211 kcal 176 kcal 29.6 g 5.5 g 0 g 353 mg
Chicken drumstick, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten 85 g174 kcal 205 kcal 21 g 11 g 0.2 g 439 mg
Chicken thigh, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten 70 g134 kcal 192 kcal 24.1 g 9.9 g 0 g 410 mg
Chicken thigh, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten 110 g264 kcal 240 kcal 21 g 15 g 0.2 g 420 mg
Chicken drumstick, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten 50 g85 kcal 169 kcal 23.6 g 7.5 g 0 g 432 mg
Chicken breast, fried, coated, skin / coating not eaten, from raw 120 g211 kcal 176 kcal 29.6 g 5.5 g 0 g 353 mg

How to compare FDC 2705980: its source amount is 175 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705980, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked, diced

279 kcal

135 g

1 small breast

311 kcal

150 g

1 medium breast

362 kcal

175 g

1 large breast

404 kcal

195 g

1 breast, NS as to size

362 kcal

175 g

1 small or thin slice

62 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705980, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

154 mg≈ 51% Daily Value

Sodium

560 mg≈ 24% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705980’s 175 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705980 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 41.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705980 at 175 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 560 mg sodium, about 24% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 175 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 362 kcal Not established
Protein 41.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 7 g 3%
Total fat 17.3 g 22%
Dietary fiber 0.4 g 1%
Sugars 0.1 g Not established
Sodium 560 mg 24%
Saturated fat 4 g 20%
Monounsaturated Fat 6.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 4.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 154 mg 51%
Potassium 472.5 mg 10%
Calcium 19.3 mg 1%
Iron 1.3 mg 7%
Magnesium 40.3 mg 10%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 29.8 µg 3%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 106.1 g Not established

For FDC 2705980, approximate percentages divide the displayed 175 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705980 to 3 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw, Breading or batter as ingredient in food, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from rawUSDA ingredient 24122130 · encyclopedia page available 88 GM 88 g 88%
2 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 2 GM 2 g 2%
3 Breading or batter as ingredient in foodUSDA ingredient 99995000 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 10%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705980, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories207 kcal176 kcal+31 kcal
Protein23.8 g29.6 g−5.8 g
Carbohydrate4 g0 g+4 g
Total fat9.9 g5.5 g+4.5 g
Dietary fiber0.2 g0 g+0.2 g
Sodium320 mg353 mg−33 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 31 more calories, 5.8 g less protein, and 4 g more carbohydrate than “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating not eaten.”

Only this record lists Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw; Breading or batter as ingredient in food. Only the comparison record lists Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Vegetable oil, NFS.

Listed only in this record: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin eaten, from raw; Breading or batter as ingredient in food.

Listed only in the comparison: Chicken breast, baked, broiled, or roasted, skin not eaten, from raw.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (175 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 120 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (120 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705980 with FDC 2705981 at equal mass; use their 175 g and 120 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705980 versus FDC 2705981 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705980 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705980 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 207 kcal per 100 g becomes 362 kcal at 175 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 breast has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705980

FNDDS food code: 24127500

The scaling for FDC 2705980 can be exact while the match to “Chicken breast, baked, coated, skin / coating eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 175 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.