Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken breast, stewed, skin eaten calories: 272 per 1 breast (150 g)

This exact USDA record reports 272 calories for 1 breast (150 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 breast · 150 g

Calories
272 kcal
Protein
37.1 g
Carbohydrate
0 g
Total fat
12.4 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
474 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium breast · 150 g

272calories

Chicken breast, stewed, skin eaten

Protein
37.1 g
Carbs
0 g
Fat
12.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705965

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 272 calories for 1 breast at 150 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 181 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 37.1 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 474 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw, representing 84.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 breast at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 51–308 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705965: “Chicken breast, stewed, skin eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705965, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 large breast” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 28.4 g 51 kcal 7 g 0 g 90 mg
1 medium breastUSDA-listed household measure 150 g 272 kcal 37.1 g 0 g 474 mg
1 large breastUSDA-listed household measure 170 g 308 kcal 42 g 0 g 537 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Chicken, whole pieces

The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705965’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

181 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
206 kcal
Middle 50%
183–250 kcal

Based on 125 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

24.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.1 g
Middle 50%
19.4–24.4 g

Based on 125 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.2 g

Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

316 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
414 mg
Middle 50%
356–486 mg

Based on 125 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705965’s 150 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Potassium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Potassium420 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium35 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium474 mg

≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat3.2 g

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken breast, stewed, skin eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705966 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, cooked to 1 large breast

    USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 170 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 51 kcal to 308 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705966

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 5 g more total fat than “Chicken breast, stewed, skin not eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw supplies 84.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “stewed; skin eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2705966 when “stewed; skin not eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken breast, stewed, skin eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken breast, stewed, skin eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705965 · FNDDS 24123110
Named qualifiers
stewed · skin eaten
Source inputs unique in this pair
Chicken, broilers or fryers, skin only, raw

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken breast, stewed, skin not eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken breast, stewed, skin not eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705966 · FNDDS 24123120
Named qualifiers
stewed · skin not eaten

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “stewed” and “skin eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken breast, stewed, skin eaten 150 g272 kcal 181 kcal 24.7 g 8.3 g 0 g 316 mg
Chicken breast, stewed, skin not eaten 140 g209 kcal 149 kcal 28 g 3.3 g 0 g 333 mg
Chicken breast, sauteed, skin not eaten 120 g211 kcal 176 kcal 29.6 g 5.5 g 0 g 353 mg
Chicken drumstick, stewed, skin eaten 65 g121 kcal 186 kcal 22.5 g 10.6 g 0 g 417 mg
Chicken breast, rotisserie, skin eaten 130 g228 kcal 175 kcal 26.4 g 7.7 g 0 g 329 mg
Chicken thigh, stewed, skin not eaten 80 g140 kcal 175 kcal 24.4 g 8.6 g 0 g 384 mg
Chicken breast, sauteed, skin eaten 130 g268 kcal 206 kcal 25.7 g 10.6 g 0 g 329 mg

How to compare FDC 2705965: its source amount is 150 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705965, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked, diced

244 kcal

135 g

1 small breast

235 kcal

130 g

1 medium breast

272 kcal

150 g

1 large breast

308 kcal

170 g

1 breast, NS as to size

272 kcal

150 g

1 small or thin slice

54 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705965, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

138 mg≈ 46% Daily Value

Sodium

474 mg≈ 21% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705965’s 150 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705965 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 37.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705965 at 150 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 474 mg sodium, about 21% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 150 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 272 kcal Not established
Protein 37.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0 g 0%
Total fat 12.4 g 16%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 474 mg 21%
Saturated fat 3.2 g 16%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 138 mg 46%
Potassium 420 mg 9%
Calcium 10.5 mg 1%
Iron 0.8 mg 4%
Magnesium 34.5 mg 8%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 25.5 µg 3%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 98 g Not established

For FDC 2705965, approximate percentages divide the displayed 150 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705965 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.6 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken breast, stewed, skin eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw, Chicken, broilers or fryers, skin only, raw, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.6 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, rawUSDA ingredient 5062 · encyclopedia page available 85 GM 85 g 84.5%
2 Chicken, broilers or fryers, skin only, rawUSDA ingredient 5015 15 GM 15 g 14.9%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.6 GM 0.6 g 0.6%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705965, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories181 kcal149 kcal+32 kcal
Protein24.7 g28 g−3.3 g
Carbohydrate0 g0 gSame listed value
Total fat8.3 g3.3 g+5 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium316 mg333 mg−17 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 32 more calories, 3.3 g less protein, and 5 g more total fat than “Chicken breast, stewed, skin not eaten.”

Only this record lists Chicken, broilers or fryers, skin only, raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Chicken, broilers or fryers, skin only, raw.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 150 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (150 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 breast (140 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705965 with FDC 2705966 at equal mass; use their 150 g and 140 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705965 versus FDC 2705966 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Chicken breast, stewed, skin eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705965 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 181 kcal per 100 g becomes 272 kcal at 150 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 breast has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705965

FNDDS food code: 24123110

The scaling for FDC 2705965 can be exact while the match to “Chicken breast, stewed, skin eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 150 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.