Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin removed calories: 85 per 1 medium drumstick (50 g)

This exact USDA record reports 85 calories for 1 medium drumstick (50 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten

Quick facts

1 medium drumstick · 50 g

Calories
85 kcal
Protein
11.8 g
Carbohydrate
0 g
Total fat
3.8 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
216 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium drumstick · 50 g

85calories

Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten

Protein
11.8 g
Carbs
0 g
Fat
3.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706017

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 85 calories for 1 medium drumstick at 50 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 169 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 11.8 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 216 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted, representing 97.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium drumstick at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 48–228 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706017: “Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706017, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 cup, cooked, diced” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 28.4 g 48 kcal 6.7 g 0 g 123 mg
1 medium drumstickUSDA-listed household measure 50 g 85 kcal 11.8 g 0 g 216 mg
1 cup, cooked, dicedUSDA-listed household measure 135 g 228 kcal 31.9 g 0 g 583 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Chicken, whole pieces

The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706017’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

169 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
206 kcal
Middle 50%
183–250 kcal

Based on 125 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

23.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.1 g
Middle 50%
19.4–24.4 g

Based on 125 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.2 g

Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

432 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
414 mg
Middle 50%
356–486 mg

Based on 125 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706017’s 50 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium216 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.9 g

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706011 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, cooked to 1 cup, cooked, diced

    USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 48 kcal to 228 kcal.

  2. 02

    Source identity: FDC 2706017 versus 2706011

    The closest published neighbor currently carries the same nutrient, portion, and source-input evidence. The FDC IDs still identify separate source records, so the exact citation remains the deciding field.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted supplies 97.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

The published nutrient, portion, and formulation evidence is identical for this pair. Preserve FDC 2706017 when this is the cited source; do not manufacture a nutritional distinction that the records do not show.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706017 · FNDDS 24144301
Named qualifiers
sauteed · skin not eaten

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken drumstick, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten

Exact source wording
“Chicken drumstick, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706011 · FNDDS 24142501
Named qualifiers
grilled without sauce · skin not eaten

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “sauteed” and “skin not eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten 50 g85 kcal 169 kcal 23.6 g 7.5 g 0 g 432 mg
Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin eaten 60 g122 kcal 204 kcal 22.7 g 11.8 g 0 g 427 mg
Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin not eaten 120 g220 kcal 183 kcal 23.9 g 9 g 0 g 419 mg
Chicken drumstick, rotisserie, skin not eaten 50 g86 kcal 172 kcal 27.7 g 6.8 g 0 g 403 mg
Chicken breast, sauteed, skin not eaten 120 g211 kcal 176 kcal 29.6 g 5.5 g 0 g 353 mg
Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin eaten 140 g319 kcal 228 kcal 22.6 g 14.5 g 0 g 414 mg
Chicken drumstick, stewed, skin eaten 65 g121 kcal 186 kcal 22.5 g 10.6 g 0 g 417 mg

How to compare FDC 2706017: its source amount is 50 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706017, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked, diced

228 kcal

135 g

1 small drumstick

68 kcal

40 g

1 medium drumstick

85 kcal

50 g

1 large drumstick

110 kcal

65 g

1 drumstick, NS as to size

85 kcal

50 g

1 oz, cooked

48 kcal

28 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706017, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

63 mg≈ 21% Daily Value

Sodium

216 mg≈ 9% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706017’s 50 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706017 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 11.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 50 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 85 kcal Not established
Protein 11.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0 g 0%
Total fat 3.8 g 5%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 216 mg 9%
Saturated fat 0.9 g 4%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1 g Not established
Cholesterol 63 mg 21%
Potassium 124.5 mg 3%
Calcium 5.5 mg 0%
Iron 0.6 mg 3%
Magnesium 10.5 mg 3%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 3 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 34 g Not established

For FDC 2706017, approximate percentages divide the displayed 50 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706017 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted, Vegetable oil, NFS, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roastedUSDA ingredient 5073 · encyclopedia page available 98 GM 98 g 97.2%
2 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.8 GM 0.8 g 0.8%
3 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 2 GM 2 g 2%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706017, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Source-equivalent fields

Different source identities, matching published reference fields

Across the nutrient, portion, and formulation fields published here, FDC 2706017 and FDC 2706011 match exactly. Their descriptions and source identities remain distinct provenance; matching database fields do not make every real-world version interchangeable.

Practical reading: do not infer a nutrient difference from the names alone. Choose the description that more closely matches what was reported, while treating the shared values as a standardized reference rather than a measurement of your plate.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706017 versus FDC 2706011 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706017 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 169 kcal per 100 g becomes 85 kcal at 50 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium drumstick has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706017

FNDDS food code: 24144301

The scaling for FDC 2706017 can be exact while the match to “Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin not eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 50 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.