Energy
middle half228 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 206 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 183–250 kcal
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 319 calories for 1 medium leg (140 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium leg · 140 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium leg · 140 g
319calories
Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin eaten
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 319 calories for 1 medium leg at 140 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 228 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 31.6 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 580 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broilers or fryers, thigh, meat and skin, cooked, roasted, representing 58.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium leg at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 65–422 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705994: “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705994, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 large leg” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 28.4 g | 65 kcal | 6.4 g | 0 g | 118 mg |
| 1 medium legUSDA-listed household measure | 140 g | 319 kcal | 31.6 g | 0 g | 580 mg |
| 1 large legUSDA-listed household measure | 185 g | 422 kcal | 41.8 g | 0 g | 766 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705994’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half228 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half22.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half414 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705994’s 140 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium342 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat5.2 g
≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium580 mg
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705990 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 185 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 65 kcal to 422 kcal.
The closest published neighbor currently carries the same nutrient, portion, and source-input evidence. The FDC IDs still identify separate source records, so the exact citation remains the deciding field.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Chicken, broilers or fryers, thigh, meat and skin, cooked, roasted supplies 58.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
The published nutrient, portion, and formulation evidence is identical for this pair. Preserve FDC 2705994 when this is the cited source; do not manufacture a nutritional distinction that the records do not show.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “drumstick and thigh”, “sauteed”, and “skin eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin eaten | 140 g319 kcal | 228 kcal | 22.6 g | 14.5 g | 0 g | 414 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin not eaten | 120 g220 kcal | 183 kcal | 23.9 g | 9 g | 0 g | 419 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, rotisserie, skin eaten | 140 g305 kcal | 218 kcal | 23.8 g | 13.6 g | 0 g | 358 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin eaten | 155 g327 kcal | 211 kcal | 22.4 g | 13.4 g | 0 g | 396 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, rotisserie, skin not eaten | 120 g222 kcal | 185 kcal | 25.5 g | 9.2 g | 0 g | 362 mg |
| Chicken thigh, sauteed, skin eaten | 80 g194 kcal | 243 kcal | 22.6 g | 16.3 g | 0 g | 406 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, sauteed, skin eaten | 60 g122 kcal | 204 kcal | 22.7 g | 11.8 g | 0 g | 427 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705994: its source amount is 140 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705994, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
308 kcal
135 g
274 kcal
120 g
319 kcal
140 g
422 kcal
185 g
319 kcal
140 g
65 kcal
28 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705994, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
179.2 mg≈ 60% Daily ValueSaturated fat
5.2 g≈ 26% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705994’s 140 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705994 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 31.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705994 at 140 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 140 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 319 kcal 228 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 31.6 g 22.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 20.3 g 14.5 g | 26% 19% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 579.6 mg 414 mg | 25% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 5.2 g 3.7 g | 26% 19% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 8.6 g 6.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.6 g 3.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 179.2 mg 128 mg | 60% 43% |
| Potassium | 341.6 mg 244 mg | 7% 5% |
| Calcium | 14 mg 10 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 1.5 mg 1.1 mg | 8% 6% |
| Magnesium | 29.4 mg 21 mg | 7% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.3 µg 0.2 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 19.6 µg 14 µg | 2% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 86.8 g 62 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705994, approximate percentages divide the displayed 140 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705994 to 4 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, broilers or fryers, thigh, meat and skin, cooked, roasted, Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roasted, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, roastedUSDA ingredient 5069 · encyclopedia page available | 39 GM | 39 g | 38.7% |
| 2 | Chicken, broilers or fryers, thigh, meat and skin, cooked, roastedUSDA ingredient 5094 · encyclopedia page available | 59 GM | 59 g | 58.5% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.8% |
| 4 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705994, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
Source-equivalent fields
Across the nutrient, portion, and formulation fields published here, FDC 2705994 and FDC 2705990 match exactly. Their descriptions and source identities remain distinct provenance; matching database fields do not make every real-world version interchangeable.
Practical reading: do not infer a nutrient difference from the names alone. Choose the description that more closely matches what was reported, while treating the shared values as a standardized reference rather than a measurement of your plate.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705994 versus FDC 2705990 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin eaten” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705994 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705994 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 228 kcal per 100 g becomes 319 kcal at 140 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium leg has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705994
FNDDS food code: 24134300
The scaling for FDC 2705994 can be exact while the match to “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 140 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.