Energy
middle half183 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 206 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 183–250 kcal
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 339 calories for 1 medium leg (185 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten
Quick facts
1 medium leg · 185 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium leg · 185 g
339calories
Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 339 calories for 1 medium leg at 185 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 183 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 36.3 g protein, 0.4 g fiber, and 1,077 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broilers or fryers, thigh, meat only, cooked, roasted, representing 47.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium leg at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 52–439 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705993: “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705993, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 large leg” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 28.4 g | 52 kcal | 5.6 g | 0.1 g | 165 mg |
| 1 medium legUSDA-listed household measure | 185 g | 339 kcal | 36.3 g | 0.4 g | 1,077 mg |
| 1 large legUSDA-listed household measure | 240 g | 439 kcal | 47 g | 0.5 g | 1,397 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705993’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half183 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half19.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter582 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705993’s 185 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium464 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,077 mg
≈ 47% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.4 g
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705991 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 240 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 52 kcal to 439 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.3 g more carbohydrate than “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 5 input rows; Chicken, broilers or fryers, thigh, meat only, cooked, roasted supplies 47.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “drumstick and thigh; grilled with sauce; skin not eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2705991 when “drumstick and thigh; grilled without sauce; skin not eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “drumstick and thigh”, “grilled with sauce”, and “skin not eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten | 185 g339 kcal | 183 kcal | 19.6 g | 7.8 g | 0.2 g | 582 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten | 120 g220 kcal | 183 kcal | 23.9 g | 9 g | 0 g | 419 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin eaten | 195 g429 kcal | 220 kcal | 18.6 g | 12.3 g | 0.2 g | 578 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled without sauce, skin eaten | 140 g319 kcal | 228 kcal | 22.6 g | 14.5 g | 0 g | 414 mg |
| Chicken thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten | 100 g191 kcal | 191 kcal | 19.8 g | 8.6 g | 0.2 g | 575 mg |
| Chicken thigh, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten | 70 g134 kcal | 192 kcal | 24.1 g | 9.9 g | 0 g | 410 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten | 75 g129 kcal | 172 kcal | 19.4 g | 6.6 g | 0.2 g | 592 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705993: its source amount is 185 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705993, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
302 kcal
165 g
284 kcal
155 g
339 kcal
185 g
439 kcal
240 g
339 kcal
185 g
52 kcal
28 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705993, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
194.3 mg≈ 65% Daily ValueSodium
1,076.7 mg≈ 47% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705993’s 185 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705993 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 36.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705993 at 185 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 185 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 339 kcal 183 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 36.3 g 19.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 13.5 g 7.3 g | 5% 3% |
| Total fat | 14.4 g 7.8 g | 18% 10% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.4 g 0.2 g | 1% 1% |
| Sugars | 11 g 5.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,076.7 mg 582 mg | 47% 25% |
| Saturated fat | 3.4 g 1.9 g | 17% 9% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.8 g 3.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.6 g 2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 194.3 mg 105 mg | 65% 35% |
| Potassium | 464.4 mg 251 mg | 10% 5% |
| Calcium | 25.9 mg 14 mg | 2% 1% |
| Iron | 1.9 mg 1 mg | 10% 6% |
| Magnesium | 38.9 mg 21 mg | 9% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 14.8 µg 8 µg | 2% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 118.2 g 63.9 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705993, approximate percentages divide the displayed 185 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705993 to 5 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, broilers or fryers, thigh, meat only, cooked, roasted, Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted, Sauce, barbecue. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roastedUSDA ingredient 5073 · encyclopedia page available | 32 GM | 32 g | 31.7% |
| 2 | Chicken, broilers or fryers, thigh, meat only, cooked, roastedUSDA ingredient 5098 · encyclopedia page available | 48 GM | 48 g | 47.6% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.8% |
| 4 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 2% |
| 5 | Sauce, barbecueUSDA ingredient 6150 · encyclopedia page available | 18 GM | 18 g | 17.9% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705993, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 183 kcal | 183 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 19.6 g | 23.9 g | −4.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 7.3 g | 0 g | +7.3 g |
| Total fat | 7.8 g | 9 g | −1.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.2 g | 0 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 582 mg | 419 mg | +163 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 4.3 g less protein, 7.3 g more carbohydrate, and 1.2 g less total fat than “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled without sauce, skin not eaten.”
Only this record lists Sauce, barbecue. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat only, cooked, roasted; Chicken, broilers or fryers, thigh, meat only, cooked, roasted; Salt, table; Vegetable oil, NFS.
Listed only in this record: Sauce, barbecue.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 185 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium leg (185 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 120 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium leg (120 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705993 with FDC 2705991 at equal mass; use their 185 g and 120 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705993 versus FDC 2705991 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2705993 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705993 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705993 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 183 kcal per 100 g becomes 339 kcal at 185 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium leg has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705993
FNDDS food code: 24134151
The scaling for FDC 2705993 can be exact while the match to “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, grilled with sauce, skin not eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 185 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.