Energy
lower quarter219 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 246 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 236–281 kcal
Based on 24 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 364 calories for 1 sandwich (166 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 sandwich · 166 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sandwich · 166 g
364calories
Chili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bun
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 364 calories for 1 sandwich at 166 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 219 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 17.3 g protein, 4.5 g fiber, and 898 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chili with meat, canned, representing 38.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 364–589 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707079: “Chili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bun.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707079, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 footlong” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 124.5 g | 273 kcal | 12.9 g | 3.4 g | 674 mg |
| 1 sandwichUSDA-listed household measure | 166 g | 364 kcal | 17.3 g | 4.5 g | 898 mg |
| 1 footlongUSDA-listed household measure | 269 g | 589 kcal | 28 g | 7.3 g | 1,455 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 24 exact records in the Frankfurter sandwiches USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707079’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter219 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 24 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half10.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 24 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 24 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter541 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 24 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707079’s 166 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron3 mg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber4.5 g
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium898 mg
≈ 39% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat7.6 g
≈ 38% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bun,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707061 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 166 g and 269 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 364 kcal to 589 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.4 g less total fat than “Hot dog sandwich, beef, on wheat bun.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chili with meat, canned supplies 38.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “on wheat bun” fits. Inspect FDC 2707061 when “beef; on wheat bun” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “on wheat bun”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bun | 166 g364 kcal | 219 kcal | 10.4 g | 12 g | 2.7 g | 541 mg |
| Chili hot dog sandwich, on white bun | 166 g370 kcal | 223 kcal | 9.9 g | 12 g | 1.7 g | 556 mg |
| Chili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bread | 151 g325 kcal | 215 kcal | 10.3 g | 12.8 g | 2.4 g | 551 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, turkey, on wheat bun | 102 g246 kcal | 241 kcal | 11.9 g | 11.4 g | 2.4 g | 678 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, beef, on wheat bun | 102 g296 kcal | 290 kcal | 11.6 g | 17.4 g | 2.4 g | 657 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun | 102 g242 kcal | 237 kcal | 12.7 g | 10.5 g | 2.4 g | 538 mg |
| Hot dog sandwich, meat and poultry, on wheat bun | 102 g276 kcal | 271 kcal | 10.5 g | 15.3 g | 2.4 g | 657 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707079: its source amount is 166 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707079, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
364 kcal
166 g
589 kcal
269 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707079, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
898.1 mg≈ 39% Daily ValueSaturated fat
7.6 g≈ 38% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707079’s 166 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707079 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 17.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707079 at 166 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 166 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 364 kcal 219 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 17.3 g 10.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 29.1 g 17.5 g | 11% 6% |
| Total fat | 19.9 g 12 g | 26% 15% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.5 g 2.7 g | 16% 10% |
| Sugars | 4 g 2.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 898.1 mg 541 mg | 39% 24% |
| Saturated fat | 7.6 g 4.6 g | 38% 23% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 8.1 g 4.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.4 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 43.2 mg 26 mg | 14% 9% |
| Potassium | 446.5 mg 269 mg | 10% 6% |
| Calcium | 94.6 mg 57 mg | 7% 4% |
| Iron | 3.2 mg 2 mg | 18% 11% |
| Magnesium | 48.1 mg 29 mg | 11% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 4 mg 2.4 mg | 4% 3% |
| Vitamin D | 0.5 µg 0.3 µg | 2% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 8.3 µg 5 µg | 1% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 96.3 g 58 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707079, approximate percentages divide the displayed 166 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707079 to 3 source inputs totaling 166 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bun” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chili with meat, canned, Frankfurter, beef, unheated, Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
166 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Frankfurter, beef, unheatedUSDA ingredient 7022 · encyclopedia page available | 57 GM | 57 g | 34.3% |
| 2 | Chili with meat, cannedUSDA ingredient 27111407 · encyclopedia page available | 64 GM | 64 g | 38.6% |
| 3 | Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99995135 · encyclopedia page available | 45 GM | 45 g | 27.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707079, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Frankfurter sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 219 kcal | 290 kcal | −71 kcal |
| Protein | 10.4 g | 11.6 g | −1.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 17.5 g | 21.6 g | −4.1 g |
| Total fat | 12 g | 17.4 g | −5.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.7 g | 2.4 g | +0.3 g |
| Sodium | 541 mg | 657 mg | −116 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 71 less calories, 1.2 g less protein, and 4.1 g less carbohydrate than “Hot dog sandwich, beef, on wheat bun.”
Only this record lists Chili with meat, canned. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Frankfurter, beef, unheated; Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches.
Listed only in this record: Chili with meat, canned.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 166 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (166 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 102 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (102 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707079 with FDC 2707061 at equal mass; use their 166 g and 102 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707079 versus FDC 2707061 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full frankfurter sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2707079 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bun” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707079 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Chili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bun,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707079 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 219 kcal per 100 g becomes 364 kcal at 166 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707079
FNDDS food code: 27564441
The scaling for FDC 2707079 can be exact while the match to “Chili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bun” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 166 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.