Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun calories: 242 per 1 sandwich (102 g)

This exact USDA record reports 242 calories for 1 sandwich (102 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 sandwich · 102 g

Calories
242 kcal
Protein
13 g
Carbohydrate
23.4 g
Total fat
10.7 g
Fiber
2.4 g
Sodium
549 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 sandwich · 102 g

242calories

Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun

Protein
13 g
Carbs
23.4 g
Fat
10.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707073

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 242 calories for 1 sandwich at 102 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 237 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 13 g protein, 2.4 g fiber, and 549 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches, representing 44.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707073: “Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707073, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 76.5 g 181 kcal 9.7 g 1.8 g 412 mg
1 sandwichUSDA-listed household measure 102 g 242 kcal 13 g 2.4 g 549 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 127.5 g 302 kcal 16.2 g 3.1 g 686 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Frankfurter sandwiches

The comparison set contains 24 exact records in the Frankfurter sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707073’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

237 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
246 kcal
Middle 50%
236–281 kcal

Based on 24 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

12.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
11.4 g
Middle 50%
10.4–12.1 g

Based on 24 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

2.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.9 g
Middle 50%
0.8–2.4 g

Based on 24 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

538 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
657 mg
Middle 50%
554–695 mg

Based on 24 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707073’s 102 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber2.4 g

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium549 mg

≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat4 g

≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707072 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 102 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 76.5–127.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 181 kcal and 302 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707072

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.6 g more dietary fiber than “Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on white bun.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches supplies 44.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “reduced fat; on wheat bun” fits. Inspect FDC 2707072 when “reduced fat; on white bun” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun

Exact source wording
“Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707073 · FNDDS 27564301
Named qualifiers
reduced fat · on wheat bun
Source inputs unique in this pair
Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on white bun

Exact source wording
“Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on white bun”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707072 · FNDDS 27564300
Named qualifiers
reduced fat · on white bun
Source inputs unique in this pair
Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “reduced fat” and “on wheat bun”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordHot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun 102 g242 kcal 237 kcal 12.7 g 10.5 g 2.4 g 538 mg
Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bread 87 g203 kcal 233 kcal 12.9 g 11.6 g 1.9 g 554 mg
Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on white bun 102 g249 kcal 244 kcal 12 g 10.5 g 0.8 g 561 mg
Hot dog sandwich, turkey, on wheat bun 102 g246 kcal 241 kcal 11.9 g 11.4 g 2.4 g 678 mg
Chili hot dog sandwich, on wheat bun 166 g364 kcal 219 kcal 10.4 g 12 g 2.7 g 541 mg
Hot dog sandwich, beef, on wheat bun 102 g296 kcal 290 kcal 11.6 g 17.4 g 2.4 g 657 mg
Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on white bread 87 g204 kcal 234 kcal 12.3 g 11.5 g 0.8 g 558 mg

How to compare FDC 2707073: its source amount is 102 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707073, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 sandwich

242 kcal

102 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707073, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

548.8 mg≈ 24% Daily Value

Saturated fat

4 g≈ 20% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707073’s 102 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707073 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707073 at 102 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 549 mg sodium, about 24% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 102 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 242 kcal Not established
Protein 13 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 23.4 g 8%
Total fat 10.7 g 14%
Dietary fiber 2.4 g 9%
Sugars 2.3 g Not established
Sodium 548.8 mg 24%
Saturated fat 4 g 20%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 29.6 mg 10%
Potassium 200.9 mg 4%
Calcium 81.6 mg 6%
Iron 2.1 mg 12%
Magnesium 31.6 mg 8%
Vitamin C 0.1 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.3 µg 2%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 52.7 g Not established

For FDC 2707073, approximate percentages divide the displayed 102 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707073 to 3 source inputs totaling 102 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches, Frankfurter, meat and poultry, low fat, Frankfurter, low sodium. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

102 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Frankfurter, meat and poultry, low fatUSDA ingredient 42280 · encyclopedia page available 28.5 GM 28.5 g 27.9%
2 Frankfurter, low sodiumUSDA ingredient 43507 · encyclopedia page available 28.5 GM 28.5 g 27.9%
3 Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99995135 · encyclopedia page available 45 GM 45 g 44.1%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707073, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Frankfurter sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories237 kcal244 kcal−7 kcal
Protein12.7 g12 g+0.7 g
Carbohydrate22.9 g25 g−2.1 g
Total fat10.5 g10.5 gSame listed value
Dietary fiber2.4 g0.8 g+1.6 g
Sodium538 mg561 mg−23 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.6 g more dietary fiber than “Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on white bun.”

Only this record lists Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches. Only the comparison record lists Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Frankfurter, meat and poultry, low fat; Frankfurter, low sodium.

Listed only in this record: Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches.

Listed only in the comparison: Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 102 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (102 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 102 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (102 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707073 with FDC 2707072 at equal mass; use their 102 g and 102 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707073 versus FDC 2707072 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full frankfurter sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2707073 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707073 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 237 kcal per 100 g becomes 242 kcal at 102 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707073

FNDDS food code: 27564301

The scaling for FDC 2707073 can be exact while the match to “Hot dog sandwich, reduced fat, on wheat bun” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 102 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.