Energy
middle half506 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 500 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 483–535 kcal
Based on 17 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 228 calories for 1 pouch (45 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 pouch · 45 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 pouch/regular size · 45 g
228calories
Chocolate candy, candy shell with nuts
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 228 calories for 1 pouch at 45 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 506 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5 g protein, 1.5 g fiber, and 55 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is candies, mars snackfood us, m&m's peanut chocolate candies, representing 50% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 pouch at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 10–911 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710366: “Chocolate candy, candy shell with nuts.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710366, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 piece” through “1 sharing/movie theater size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 pieceUSDA-listed household measure | 2 g | 10 kcal | 0.2 g | 0.1 g | 2 mg |
| 1 pouch/regular sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 45 g | 228 kcal | 5 g | 1.5 g | 55 mg |
| 1 sharing/movie theater sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 180 g | 911 kcal | 19.8 g | 6.1 g | 220 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 17 exact records in the Candy containing chocolate USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710366’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half506 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter11 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half3.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half122 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710366’s 45 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium35 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.5 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6 g
≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium55 mg
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chocolate candy, candy shell with nuts,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710330 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 180 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 10 kcal to 911 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 58 mg more sodium than “Chocolate candy with nuts.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Candies, MARS SNACKFOOD US, M&M's Peanut Chocolate Candies supplies 50% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “candy shell with nuts” fits. Inspect FDC 2710330 when the exact wording “Chocolate candy with nuts” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “candy shell with nuts”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChocolate candy, candy shell with nuts | 45 g228 kcal | 506 kcal | 11 g | 25.4 g | 3.4 g | 122 mg |
| Chocolate candy, candy shell | 45 g221 kcal | 492 kcal | 4.3 g | 21.1 g | 2.8 g | 61 mg |
| Chocolate candy with nuts | 45 g245 kcal | 545 kcal | 11 g | 33.7 g | 4.4 g | 64 mg |
| Dark chocolate candy with nuts | 45 g252 kcal | 560 kcal | 8.3 g | 36.3 g | 7.9 g | 19 mg |
| Chocolate candy, caramel filled with nuts | 45 g218 kcal | 484 kcal | 7.4 g | 23.1 g | 2.5 g | 133 mg |
| Chocolate candy, nougat filled with nuts | 55 g266 kcal | 483 kcal | 6.5 g | 22.7 g | 2.2 g | 234 mg |
| Chocolate candy | 45 g241 kcal | 535 kcal | 7.7 g | 29.7 g | 3.4 g | 79 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710366: its source amount is 45 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710366, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
10 kcal
2 g
51 kcal
10 g
76 kcal
15 g
228 kcal
45 g
455 kcal
90 g
911 kcal
180 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710366, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
6 g≈ 30% Daily ValueTotal fat
11.4 g≈ 15% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
27.1 g≈ 10% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710366’s 45 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 45 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 228 kcal 506 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5 g 11 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 27.1 g 60.2 g | 10% 22% |
| Total fat | 11.4 g 25.4 g | 15% 33% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g 3.4 g | 5% 12% |
| Sugars | 23.4 g 52 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 54.9 mg 122 mg | 2% 5% |
| Saturated fat | 6 g 13.3 g | 30% 67% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.8 g 6.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.2 g 2.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 1.8 mg 4 mg | 1% 1% |
| Potassium | 158.9 mg 353 mg | 3% 8% |
| Calcium | 38.7 mg 86 mg | 3% 7% |
| Iron | 0.4 mg 0.8 mg | 2% 5% |
| Magnesium | 35.1 mg 78 mg | 8% 19% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 5 µg 11 µg | 1% 1% |
| Caffeine | 2.3 mg 5 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.8 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710366, approximate percentages divide the displayed 45 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710366 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chocolate candy, candy shell with nuts” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Candies, MARS SNACKFOOD US, M&M's Peanut Chocolate Candies, Candies, REESE'S PIECES Candy. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Candies, MARS SNACKFOOD US, M&M's Peanut Chocolate CandiesUSDA ingredient 19140 | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
| 2 | Candies, REESE'S PIECES CandyUSDA ingredient 19151 | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710366, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Candy containing chocolate” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 506 kcal | 545 kcal | −39 kcal |
| Protein | 11 g | 11 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 60.2 g | 51.8 g | +8.4 g |
| Total fat | 25.4 g | 33.7 g | −8.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 3.4 g | 4.4 g | −1 g |
| Sodium | 122 mg | 64 mg | +58 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 39 less calories, 8.4 g more carbohydrate, and 8.3 g less total fat than “Chocolate candy with nuts.”
Only this record lists Candies, MARS SNACKFOOD US, M&M's Peanut Chocolate Candies; Candies, REESE'S PIECES Candy. Only the comparison record lists Candies, milk chocolate; Peanuts, all types, dry-roasted, without salt. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Candies, MARS SNACKFOOD US, M&M's Peanut Chocolate Candies; Candies, REESE'S PIECES Candy.
Listed only in the comparison: Candies, milk chocolate; Peanuts, all types, dry-roasted, without salt.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (45 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (45 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710366 with FDC 2710330 at equal mass; use their 45 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710366 versus FDC 2710330 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full candy containing chocolate source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chocolate candy, candy shell with nuts” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2710366 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Chocolate candy, candy shell with nuts,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710366 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 506 kcal per 100 g becomes 228 kcal at 45 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 pouch has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710366
FNDDS food code: 91746110
The scaling for FDC 2710366 can be exact while the match to “Chocolate candy, candy shell with nuts” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 45 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.