Energy
upper quarter560 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 500 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 483–535 kcal
Based on 17 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 252 calories for 1 pouch (45 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 pouch · 45 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 pouch/regular size · 45 g
252calories
Dark chocolate candy with nuts
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 252 calories for 1 pouch at 45 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 560 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3.7 g protein, 3.6 g fiber, and 9 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is candies, chocolate, dark, nfs (45-59% cacao solids 90%; 60-69% cacao solids 5%; 70-85% cacao solids 5%), representing 80% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 pouch at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 45–1,008 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710338: “Dark chocolate candy with nuts.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710338, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 piece” through “1 sharing/movie theater size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 pieceUSDA-listed household measure | 8 g | 45 kcal | 0.7 g | 0.6 g | 2 mg |
| 1 pouch/regular sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 45 g | 252 kcal | 3.7 g | 3.6 g | 9 mg |
| 1 sharing/movie theater sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 180 g | 1,008 kcal | 14.9 g | 14.2 g | 34 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 17 exact records in the Candy containing chocolate USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2710338’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter560 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter8.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter7.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter19 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 17 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710338’s 45 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium80 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat7.2 g
≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium9 mg
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Dark chocolate candy with nuts,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710336 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 8 g and 180 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 45 kcal to 1,008 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.2 g more protein than “Dark chocolate candy.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Candies, chocolate, dark, NFS (45-59% cacao solids 90%; 60-69% cacao solids 5%; 70-85% cacao solids 5%) supplies 80% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Dark chocolate candy with nuts” fits. Inspect FDC 2710336 when the exact wording “Dark chocolate candy” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordDark chocolate candy with nuts | 45 g252 kcal | 560 kcal | 8.3 g | 36.3 g | 7.9 g | 19 mg |
| Dark chocolate candy | 45 g248 kcal | 550 kcal | 5.1 g | 32.2 g | 7.2 g | 23 mg |
| Chocolate candy with nuts | 45 g245 kcal | 545 kcal | 11 g | 33.7 g | 4.4 g | 64 mg |
| Chocolate candy, candy shell with nuts | 45 g228 kcal | 506 kcal | 11 g | 25.4 g | 3.4 g | 122 mg |
| Chocolate candy | 45 g241 kcal | 535 kcal | 7.7 g | 29.7 g | 3.4 g | 79 mg |
| Chocolate candy, caramel filled with nuts | 45 g218 kcal | 484 kcal | 7.4 g | 23.1 g | 2.5 g | 133 mg |
| Chocolate candy, nougat filled with nuts | 55 g266 kcal | 483 kcal | 6.5 g | 22.7 g | 2.2 g | 234 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710338: its source amount is 45 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710338, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
45 kcal
8 g
56 kcal
10 g
84 kcal
15 g
252 kcal
45 g
504 kcal
90 g
1,008 kcal
180 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710338, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
7.2 g≈ 36% Daily ValueTotal fat
16.3 g≈ 21% Daily ValueMagnesium
79.7 mg≈ 19% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710338’s 45 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2710338 at 45 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 45 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 252 kcal 560 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3.7 g 8.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 23.5 g 52.2 g | 9% 19% |
| Total fat | 16.3 g 36.3 g | 21% 47% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.6 g 7.9 g | 13% 28% |
| Sugars | 17.1 g 37.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 8.6 mg 19 mg | 0% 1% |
| Saturated fat | 7.2 g 16 g | 36% 80% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 6.5 g 14.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.6 g 3.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 2.7 mg 6 mg | 1% 2% |
| Potassium | 268.7 mg 597 mg | 6% 13% |
| Calcium | 44.6 mg 99 mg | 3% 8% |
| Iron | 3.3 mg 7.3 mg | 18% 40% |
| Magnesium | 79.7 mg 177 mg | 19% 42% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0.9 µg 2 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 17.1 mg 38 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.6 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710338, approximate percentages divide the displayed 45 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710338 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Dark chocolate candy with nuts” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Candies, chocolate, dark, NFS (45-59% cacao solids 90%; 60-69% cacao solids 5%; 70-85% cacao solids 5%), Nuts, almonds, dry roasted, without salt added. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Candies, chocolate, dark, NFS (45-59% cacao solids 90%; 60-69% cacao solids 5%; 70-85% cacao solids 5%)USDA ingredient 19905 | 80 GM | 80 g | 80% |
| 2 | Nuts, almonds, dry roasted, without salt addedUSDA ingredient 12063 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 20% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710338, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Candy containing chocolate” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 560 kcal | 550 kcal | +10 kcal |
| Protein | 8.3 g | 5.1 g | +3.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 52.2 g | 60 g | −7.8 g |
| Total fat | 36.3 g | 32.2 g | +4.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 7.9 g | 7.2 g | +0.7 g |
| Sodium | 19 mg | 23 mg | −4 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.2 g more protein, 7.8 g less carbohydrate, and 4.1 g more total fat than “Dark chocolate candy.”
Only this record lists Nuts, almonds, dry roasted, without salt added. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Candies, chocolate, dark, NFS (45-59% cacao solids 90%; 60-69% cacao solids 5%; 70-85% cacao solids 5%).
Listed only in this record: Nuts, almonds, dry roasted, without salt added.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (45 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (45 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710338 with FDC 2710336 at equal mass; use their 45 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710338 versus FDC 2710336 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full candy containing chocolate source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Dark chocolate candy with nuts,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710338 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 560 kcal per 100 g becomes 252 kcal at 45 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 pouch has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710338
FNDDS food code: 91705315
The scaling for FDC 2710338 can be exact while the match to “Dark chocolate candy with nuts” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 45 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.