Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Chocolate candy, coconut filled calories: 225 per 1 pouch (45 g)

This exact USDA record reports 225 calories for 1 pouch (45 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 pouch · 45 g

Calories
225 kcal
Protein
2.4 g
Carbohydrate
25.6 g
Total fat
12.5 g
Fiber
1.8 g
Sodium
62 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 pouch/regular size · 45 g

225calories

Chocolate candy, coconut filled

Protein
2.4 g
Carbs
25.6 g
Fat
12.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710343

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 225 calories for 1 pouch at 45 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 500 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.4 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 62 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is candies, mounds candy bar, representing 95% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 pouch at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 40–900 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710343: “Chocolate candy, coconut filled.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710343, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 piece” through “1 sharing/movie theater size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 pieceUSDA-listed household measure 8 g 40 kcal 0.4 g 0.3 g 11 mg
1 pouch/regular sizeUSDA-listed household measure 45 g 225 kcal 2.4 g 1.8 g 62 mg
1 sharing/movie theater sizeUSDA-listed household measure 180 g 900 kcal 9.8 g 7.4 g 248 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Candy containing chocolate

The comparison set contains 17 exact records in the Candy containing chocolate USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710343’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

500 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
500 kcal
Middle 50%
483–535 kcal

Based on 17 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

5.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.5 g
Middle 50%
5.1–7.8 g

Based on 17 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

4.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
2.2–4.1 g

Based on 17 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

138 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
86 mg
Middle 50%
50–138 mg

Based on 17 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710343’s 45 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium29 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber1.8 g

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat8.9 g

≈ 44% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium62 mg

≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chocolate candy, coconut filled,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710332 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 piece to 1 sharing/movie theater size

    USDA assigns those measures 8 g and 180 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 40 kcal to 900 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2710332

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.1 g more dietary fiber than “Chocolate candy, cookie filled.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Candies, MOUNDS Candy Bar

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Candies, MOUNDS Candy Bar supplies 95% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “coconut filled” fits. Inspect FDC 2710332 when “cookie filled” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chocolate candy, coconut filled

Exact source wording
“Chocolate candy, coconut filled”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710343 · FNDDS 91705470
Named qualifiers
coconut filled
Source inputs unique in this pair
Candies, MOUNDS Candy Bar · Nuts, almonds, whole, raw

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chocolate candy, cookie filled

Exact source wording
“Chocolate candy, cookie filled”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710332 · FNDDS 91705080
Named qualifiers
cookie filled
Source inputs unique in this pair
Candies, KIT KAT Wafer Bar · Candies, MARS SNACKFOOD US, TWIX Caramel Cookie Bars

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “coconut filled”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChocolate candy, coconut filled 45 g225 kcal 500 kcal 5.4 g 27.8 g 4.1 g 138 mg
Chocolate candy, cookie filled 45 g230 kcal 510 kcal 5.7 g 25.4 g 1 g 126 mg
Chocolate candy, caramel filled 45 g213 kcal 474 kcal 6.4 g 21 g 2 g 145 mg
Chocolate candy, nougat filled 55 g245 kcal 446 kcal 3.3 g 15 g 1.2 g 180 mg
Chocolate candy, cream filled 45 g165 kcal 366 kcal 2.2 g 9.3 g 2.1 g 26 mg
Chocolate candy, peanut butter filled 45 g219 kcal 487 kcal 7.8 g 24.7 g 2.8 g 294 mg
Chocolate candy, caramel filled with nuts 45 g218 kcal 484 kcal 7.4 g 23.1 g 2.5 g 133 mg

How to compare FDC 2710343: its source amount is 45 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710343, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 piece

40 kcal

8 g

1 miniature/bite size

50 kcal

10 g

1 fun/snack size

75 kcal

15 g

1 pouch/regular size

225 kcal

45 g

1 large/king size

450 kcal

90 g

1 sharing/movie theater size

900 kcal

180 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710343, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

8.9 g≈ 44% Daily Value

Total fat

12.5 g≈ 16% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

25.6 g≈ 9% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710343’s 45 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 45 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 225 kcal Not established
Protein 2.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 25.6 g 9%
Total fat 12.5 g 16%
Dietary fiber 1.8 g 7%
Sugars 19.8 g Not established
Sodium 62.1 mg 3%
Saturated fat 8.9 g 44%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.9 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 0.9 mg 0%
Potassium 153.9 mg 3%
Calcium 14.9 mg 1%
Iron 1 mg 5%
Magnesium 29.3 mg 7%
Vitamin C 0.2 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 7.2 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 4 g Not established

For FDC 2710343, approximate percentages divide the displayed 45 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710343 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chocolate candy, coconut filled” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Candies, MOUNDS Candy Bar, Nuts, almonds, whole, raw. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Candies, MOUNDS Candy BarUSDA ingredient 19142 95 GM 95 g 95%
2 Nuts, almonds, whole, rawUSDA ingredient 12061 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710343, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Candy containing chocolate” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories500 kcal510 kcal−10 kcal
Protein5.4 g5.7 g−0.3 g
Carbohydrate56.9 g64.7 g−7.8 g
Total fat27.8 g25.4 g+2.4 g
Dietary fiber4.1 g1 g+3.1 g
Sodium138 mg126 mg+12 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 7.8 g less carbohydrate and 3.1 g more dietary fiber than “Chocolate candy, cookie filled.”

Only this record lists Candies, MOUNDS Candy Bar; Nuts, almonds, whole, raw. Only the comparison record lists Candies, KIT KAT Wafer Bar; Candies, MARS SNACKFOOD US, TWIX Caramel Cookie Bars. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Candies, MOUNDS Candy Bar; Nuts, almonds, whole, raw.

Listed only in the comparison: Candies, KIT KAT Wafer Bar; Candies, MARS SNACKFOOD US, TWIX Caramel Cookie Bars.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (45 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (45 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710343 with FDC 2710332 at equal mass; use their 45 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2710343 versus FDC 2710332 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full candy containing chocolate source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Chocolate candy, coconut filled,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710343 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 500 kcal per 100 g becomes 225 kcal at 45 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 pouch has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710343

FNDDS food code: 91705470

The scaling for FDC 2710343 can be exact while the match to “Chocolate candy, coconut filled” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 45 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.