Energy
middle half40 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 32 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 16–57 kcal
Based on 106 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 25 calories for 1 espresso cup (62 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 espresso cup · 62 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 espresso cup (2 fl oz) · 62 g
25calories
Coffee, macchiato, sweetened
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 25 calories for 1 espresso cup at 62 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 40 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 0.7 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 13 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-prepared, representing 64.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 espresso cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 12–25 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710383: “Coffee, macchiato, sweetened.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710383, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 espresso cup (2 fl oz)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure | 31 g | 12 kcal | 0.4 g | 0 g | 7 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 46.5 g | 19 kcal | 0.5 g | 0 g | 10 mg |
| 1 espresso cup (2 fl oz)USDA-listed household measure | 62 g | 25 kcal | 0.7 g | 0 g | 13 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 106 exact records in the Coffee USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710383’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half40 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 106 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half1.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 106 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 106 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half21 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 106 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710383’s 62 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium34 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.3 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium13 mg
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Coffee, macchiato, sweetened,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710382 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 31 g and 62 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 12 kcal to 25 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.2 g more carbohydrate than “Coffee, macchiato.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-prepared supplies 64.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “macchiato; sweetened” fits. Inspect FDC 2710382 when “macchiato” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “macchiato” and “sweetened”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCoffee, macchiato, sweetened | 62 g25 kcal | 40 kcal | 1.1 g | 0.8 g | 0 g | 21 mg |
| Coffee, macchiato | 60 g14 kcal | 23 kcal | 1.2 g | 0.8 g | 0 g | 22 mg |
| Coffee, pre-sweetened with sugar | 372 g60 kcal | 16 kcal | 0.1 g | 0 g | 0 g | 4 mg |
| Iced Coffee, pre-lightened and pre-sweetened | 372 g115 kcal | 31 kcal | 0.3 g | 1.1 g | 0 g | 6 mg |
| Coffee, pre-lightened and pre-sweetened with sugar | 372 g100 kcal | 27 kcal | 0.2 g | 0.7 g | 0 g | 7 mg |
| Coffee, decaffeinated, pre-sweetened with sugar | 372 g60 kcal | 16 kcal | 0.1 g | 0 g | 0 g | 4 mg |
| Coffee, decaffeinated, pre-lightened and pre-sweetened with sugar | 372 g100 kcal | 27 kcal | 0.1 g | 0.7 g | 0 g | 7 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710383: its source amount is 62 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710383, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
12 kcal
31 g
25 kcal
62 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710383, Magnesium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Magnesium
34.1 mg≈ 8% Daily ValueCalcium
25.4 mg≈ 2% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
4.3 g≈ 2% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710383’s 62 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 62 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 25 kcal 40 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 0.7 g 1.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 4.3 g 6.9 g | 2% 3% |
| Total fat | 0.5 g 0.8 g | 1% 1% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 3.6 g 5.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 13 mg 21 mg | 1% 1% |
| Saturated fat | 0.3 g 0.5 g | 1% 2% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 1.9 mg 3 mg | 1% 1% |
| Potassium | 76.3 mg 123 mg | 2% 3% |
| Calcium | 25.4 mg 41 mg | 2% 3% |
| Iron | 0.1 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 1% |
| Magnesium | 34.1 mg 55 mg | 8% 13% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.3 µg | 1% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 11.2 µg 18 µg | 1% 2% |
| Caffeine | 84.3 mg 136 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 56.3 g 90.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710383, approximate percentages divide the displayed 62 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710383 to 3 source inputs totaling 96.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Coffee, macchiato, sweetened” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-prepared, Milk, NFS, Sugars, granulated. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
96.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available | 1 FO | 30.5 g | 31.6% |
| 2 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TS | 4.2 g | 4.3% |
| 3 | Beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-preparedUSDA ingredient 14210 · encyclopedia page available | 2 FO | 62 g | 64.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710383, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Coffee” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 40 kcal | 23 kcal | +17 kcal |
| Protein | 1.1 g | 1.2 g | −0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 6.9 g | 2.7 g | +4.2 g |
| Total fat | 0.8 g | 0.8 g | −0 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 21 mg | 22 mg | −1 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 17 more calories and 4.2 g more carbohydrate than “Coffee, macchiato.”
Only this record lists Sugars, granulated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Milk, NFS; Beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-prepared.
Listed only in this record: Sugars, granulated.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 62 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 espresso cup (62 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 espresso cup (60 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710383 with FDC 2710382 at equal mass; use their 62 g and 60 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710383 versus FDC 2710382 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full coffee source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2710383 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Coffee, macchiato, sweetened” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2710383 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount and type of sweetener, drink size, recipe or formulation, milk or cream.
For “Coffee, macchiato, sweetened,” resolve amount and type of sweetener first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
Resolve drink size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Identify the liquid base and fat level when you can. Dairy, plant-based beverages, cream, and water are different record choices—not interchangeable volume adjustments.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710383 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 40 kcal per 100 g becomes 25 kcal at 62 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 espresso cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710383
FNDDS food code: 92101820
The scaling for FDC 2710383 can be exact while the match to “Coffee, macchiato, sweetened” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 62 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.