Energy
lower quarter421 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 450 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 428–486 kcal
Based on 83 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 328 calories for 1 moon pie (78 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 moon pie · 78 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 moon pie · 78 g
328calories
Cookie, marshmallow pie, chocolate covered
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 328 calories for 1 moon pie at 78 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 421 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3.1 g protein, 1.6 g fiber, and 147 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cookies, marshmallow, chocolate-coated (includes marshmallow pies), representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 moon pie at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 143–328 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707917: “Cookie, marshmallow pie, chocolate covered.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707917, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 scooter pie” through “1 moon pie” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 scooter pieUSDA-listed household measure | 34 g | 143 kcal | 1.4 g | 0.7 g | 64 mg |
| 1 Little DebbieUSDA-listed household measure | 39 g | 164 kcal | 1.6 g | 0.8 g | 73 mg |
| 1 moon pieUSDA-listed household measure | 78 g | 328 kcal | 3.1 g | 1.6 g | 147 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 83 exact records in the Cookies and brownies USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707917’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter421 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 83 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 83 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 83 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter188 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 83 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707917’s 78 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium28 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.7 g
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium147 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cookie, marshmallow pie, chocolate covered,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707916 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 34 g and 78 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 143 kcal to 328 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Cookie, marshmallow, chocolate-covered.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “marshmallow pie; chocolate covered” fits. Inspect FDC 2707916 when “marshmallow; chocolate-covered” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “marshmallow pie” and “chocolate covered”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCookie, marshmallow pie, chocolate covered | 78 g328 kcal | 421 kcal | 4 g | 16.9 g | 2 g | 188 mg |
| Cookie, marshmallow, chocolate-covered | 60 g253 kcal | 421 kcal | 4 g | 16.9 g | 2 g | 188 mg |
| Cookie, graham cracker with chocolate and marshmallow | 42 g195 kcal | 465 kcal | 6.4 g | 18.6 g | 2.8 g | 221 mg |
| Cookie, marshmallow, with rice cereal and chocolate chips | 76 g331 kcal | 435 kcal | 4.6 g | 18.2 g | 0 g | 341 mg |
| Cookie, marshmallow, with coconut | 60 g253 kcal | 421 kcal | 4 g | 16.9 g | 2 g | 188 mg |
| Cookie, sugar wafer, chocolate-covered | 45 g237 kcal | 526 kcal | 3.5 g | 27.6 g | 3.4 g | 138 mg |
| Cookie, chocolate or fudge | 60 g260 kcal | 433 kcal | 6.6 g | 14.2 g | 3.4 g | 580 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707917: its source amount is 78 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707917, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
143 kcal
34 g
240 kcal
57 g
164 kcal
39 g
328 kcal
78 g
328 kcal
78 g
A source measure below uses USDA shorthand; the full glossary appears with the source formulation.
At a glance
For FDC 2707917, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
52.8 g≈ 19% Daily ValueSaturated fat
3.7 g≈ 18% Daily ValueTotal fat
13.2 g≈ 17% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707917’s 78 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 78 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 328 kcal 421 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3.1 g 4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 52.8 g 67.7 g | 19% 25% |
| Total fat | 13.2 g 16.9 g | 17% 22% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.6 g 2 g | 6% 7% |
| Sugars | 34.9 g 44.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 146.6 mg 188 mg | 6% 8% |
| Saturated fat | 3.7 g 4.7 g | 18% 24% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 7.3 g 9.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.5 g 1.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 142 mg 182 mg | 3% 4% |
| Calcium | 35.9 mg 46 mg | 3% 4% |
| Iron | 2 mg 2.5 mg | 11% 14% |
| Magnesium | 28.1 mg 36 mg | 7% 9% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0.8 µg 1 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 3.9 mg 5 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 7.9 g 10.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707917, approximate percentages divide the displayed 78 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707917 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cookie, marshmallow pie, chocolate covered” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Cookies, marshmallow, chocolate-coated (includes marshmallow pies) is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cookies, marshmallow, chocolate-coated (includes marshmallow pies)USDA ingredient 18176 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707917, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cookies and brownies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 421 kcal | 421 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 4 g | 4 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 67.7 g | 67.7 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 16.9 g | 16.9 g | Same listed value |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g | 2 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 188 mg | 188 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Formulation evidence
The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.
Shared listed inputs: Cookies, marshmallow, chocolate-coated (includes marshmallow pies).
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 78 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 moon pie (78 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cookie (30 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707917 with FDC 2707916 at equal mass; use their 78 g and 60 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707917 versus FDC 2707916 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cookies and brownies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cookie, marshmallow pie, chocolate covered” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707917 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Cookie, marshmallow pie, chocolate covered,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707917 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 421 kcal per 100 g becomes 328 kcal at 78 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 moon pie has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707917
FNDDS food code: 53208200
The scaling for FDC 2707917 can be exact while the match to “Cookie, marshmallow pie, chocolate covered” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 78 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.