Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Cornbread muffin, stick, round calories: 345 per 1 medium (113 g)

This exact USDA record reports 345 calories for 1 medium (113 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium · 113 g

Calories
345 kcal
Protein
6.7 g
Carbohydrate
57.6 g
Total fat
9.5 g
Fiber
3.8 g
Sodium
435 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium · 113 g

345calories

Cornbread muffin, stick, round

Protein
6.7 g
Carbs
57.6 g
Fat
9.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707813

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 345 calories for 1 medium at 113 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 305 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 6.7 g protein, 3.8 g fiber, and 435 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is muffins, corn, commercially prepared, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 22–470 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707813: “Cornbread muffin, stick, round.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707813, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 7.1 g 22 kcal 0.4 g 0.2 g 27 mg
1 mediumUSDA-listed household measure 113 g 345 kcal 6.7 g 3.8 g 435 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 154 g 470 kcal 9.1 g 5.2 g 593 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Biscuits, muffins, quick breads

The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the Biscuits, muffins, quick breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707813’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

305 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
305 kcal
Middle 50%
271–372 kcal

Based on 34 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

5.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.2 g
Middle 50%
5–6.9 g

Based on 34 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

3.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.8 g
Middle 50%
1.4–2.4 g

Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

385 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
393 mg
Middle 50%
337–449 mg

Based on 34 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707813’s 113 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron3 mg

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber3.8 g

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium435 mg

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.5 g

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cornbread muffin, stick, round,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707814 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 7.1 g and 154 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 22 kcal to 470 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707814

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.8 g more dietary fiber than “Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Muffins, corn, commercially prepared

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “stick; round” fits. Inspect FDC 2707814 when “stick; round; made from home recipe” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cornbread muffin, stick, round

Exact source wording
“Cornbread muffin, stick, round”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707813 · FNDDS 52206010
Named qualifiers
stick · round
Source inputs unique in this pair
Muffins, corn, commercially prepared

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe

Exact source wording
“Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707814 · FNDDS 52206060
Named qualifiers
stick · round · made from home recipe
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached · Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow · Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “stick” and “round”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCornbread muffin, stick, round 113 g345 kcal 305 kcal 5.9 g 8.4 g 3.4 g 385 mg
Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe 113 g347 kcal 307 kcal 7 g 10.5 g 1.6 g 519 mg
Muffin, pumpkin 130 g397 kcal 305 kcal 5 g 12.9 g 1.4 g 285 mg
Muffin, carrot 130 g408 kcal 314 kcal 5 g 13.2 g 1.4 g 309 mg
Cornbread, prepared from mix 60 g198 kcal 330 kcal 6.6 g 9.6 g 2.3 g 599 mg
Muffin, cheese 130 g477 kcal 367 kcal 9.7 g 23 g 1 g 491 mg
Muffin, oatmeal 130 g481 kcal 370 kcal 6.4 g 18.9 g 1.5 g 404 mg

How to compare FDC 2707813: its source amount is 113 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707813, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small

201 kcal

66 g

1 medium

345 kcal

113 g

1 large

470 kcal

154 g

1 miniature

52 kcal

17 g

1 cubic inch

22 kcal

7 g

1 stick

119 kcal

39 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707813, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

57.6 g≈ 21% Daily Value

Sodium

435.1 mg≈ 19% Daily Value

Iron

3.2 mg≈ 18% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707813’s 113 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707813 at 113 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 3.8 g dietary fiber, about 14% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 435 mg sodium, about 19% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 113 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 345 kcal Not established
Protein 6.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 57.6 g 21%
Total fat 9.5 g 12%
Dietary fiber 3.8 g 14%
Sugars 20.1 g Not established
Sodium 435.1 mg 19%
Saturated fat 1.5 g 8%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 29.4 mg 10%
Potassium 78 mg 2%
Calcium 83.6 mg 6%
Iron 3.2 mg 18%
Magnesium 36.2 mg 9%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 58.8 µg 7%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 36.8 g Not established

For FDC 2707813, approximate percentages divide the displayed 113 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707813 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cornbread muffin, stick, round” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Muffins, corn, commercially prepared is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Muffins, corn, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18279 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707813, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Biscuits, muffins, quick breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories305 kcal307 kcal−2 kcal
Protein5.9 g7 g−1.1 g
Carbohydrate51 g45.9 g+5.1 g
Total fat8.4 g10.5 g−2.1 g
Dietary fiber3.4 g1.6 g+1.8 g
Sodium385 mg519 mg−134 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.1 g less protein, 2.1 g less total fat, and 1.8 g more dietary fiber than “Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe.”

Only this record lists Muffins, corn, commercially prepared. Only the comparison record lists Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Sugars, granulated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Muffins, corn, commercially prepared.

Listed only in the comparison: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Sugars, granulated; and 4 more.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 113 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (113 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 113 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (113 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707813 with FDC 2707814 at equal mass; use their 113 g and 113 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707813 versus FDC 2707814 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full biscuits, muffins, quick breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2707813 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Cornbread muffin, stick, round,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707813 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 305 kcal per 100 g becomes 345 kcal at 113 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707813

FNDDS food code: 52206010

The scaling for FDC 2707813 can be exact while the match to “Cornbread muffin, stick, round” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 113 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.