Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe calories: 347 per 1 medium (113 g)

This exact USDA record reports 347 calories for 1 medium (113 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium · 113 g

Calories
347 kcal
Protein
7.9 g
Carbohydrate
51.9 g
Total fat
11.9 g
Fiber
1.8 g
Sodium
586 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium · 113 g

347calories

Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe

Protein
7.9 g
Carbs
51.9 g
Fat
11.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707814

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 347 calories for 1 medium at 113 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 307 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 7.9 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 586 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk, nfs, representing 38.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 8 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 22–473 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707814: “Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707814, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 7.1 g 22 kcal 0.5 g 0.1 g 37 mg
1 mediumUSDA-listed household measure 113 g 347 kcal 7.9 g 1.8 g 586 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 154 g 473 kcal 10.8 g 2.5 g 799 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Biscuits, muffins, quick breads

The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the Biscuits, muffins, quick breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707814’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

307 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
305 kcal
Middle 50%
271–372 kcal

Based on 34 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.2 g
Middle 50%
5–6.9 g

Based on 34 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.8 g
Middle 50%
1.4–2.4 g

Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

519 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
393 mg
Middle 50%
337–449 mg

Based on 34 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707814’s 113 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium245 mg

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron3 mg

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium586 mg

≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat2.3 g

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707811 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 7.1 g and 154 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 22 kcal to 473 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707811

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 20 kcal more calories than “Cornbread, made from home recipe.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Milk, NFS

    The source formulation has 8 input rows; Milk, NFS supplies 38.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “stick; round; made from home recipe” fits. Inspect FDC 2707811 when “made from home recipe” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe

Exact source wording
“Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707814 · FNDDS 52206060
Named qualifiers
stick · round · made from home recipe

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cornbread, made from home recipe

Exact source wording
“Cornbread, made from home recipe”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707811 · FNDDS 52202060
Named qualifiers
made from home recipe

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “stick”, “round”, and “made from home recipe”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe 113 g347 kcal 307 kcal 7 g 10.5 g 1.6 g 519 mg
Cornbread muffin, stick, round 113 g345 kcal 305 kcal 5.9 g 8.4 g 3.4 g 385 mg
Cornbread, made from home recipe 65 g187 kcal 287 kcal 6.6 g 9.8 g 1.5 g 485 mg
Muffin, pumpkin 130 g397 kcal 305 kcal 5 g 12.9 g 1.4 g 285 mg
Muffin, carrot 130 g408 kcal 314 kcal 5 g 13.2 g 1.4 g 309 mg
Cornbread, prepared from mix 60 g198 kcal 330 kcal 6.6 g 9.6 g 2.3 g 599 mg
Muffin, oat bran 130 g351 kcal 270 kcal 7 g 7.4 g 4.6 g 393 mg

How to compare FDC 2707814: its source amount is 113 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707814, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small

203 kcal

66 g

1 medium

347 kcal

113 g

1 large

473 kcal

154 g

1 miniature

52 kcal

17 g

1 cubic inch

22 kcal

7 g

1 stick

120 kcal

39 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707814, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

586.5 mg≈ 26% Daily Value

Calcium

245.2 mg≈ 19% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

51.9 g≈ 19% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707814’s 113 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707814 at 113 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 586 mg sodium, about 26% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 113 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 347 kcal Not established
Protein 7.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 51.9 g 19%
Total fat 11.9 g 15%
Dietary fiber 1.8 g 6%
Sugars 8.3 g Not established
Sodium 586.5 mg 25%
Saturated fat 2.3 g 11%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 4 g Not established
Cholesterol 47.5 mg 16%
Potassium 171.8 mg 4%
Calcium 245.2 mg 19%
Iron 3.3 mg 18%
Magnesium 24.9 mg 6%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.8 µg 4%
Vitamin A 50.9 µg 6%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 38 g Not established

For FDC 2707814, approximate percentages divide the displayed 113 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707814 to 8 source inputs totaling 640.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

8 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Milk, NFS, Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow, Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

640.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available 1 C 125 g 19.5%
2 Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellowUSDA ingredient 20022 · encyclopedia page available 1 C 138 g 21.5%
3 Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfateUSDA ingredient 18369 · encyclopedia page available 1 TB 13.8 g 2.2%
4 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 2 TB 25 g 3.9%
5 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 TS 3 g 0.5%
6 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 7.8%
7 Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available 1 C 244 g 38.1%
8 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 3 TB 42 g 6.6%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707814, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Biscuits, muffins, quick breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe

USDA category
Biscuits, muffins, quick breads
FDC ID
2707814
FNDDS code
52206060
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories307 kcal287 kcal+20 kcal
Protein7 g6.6 g+0.5 g
Carbohydrate45.9 g42.9 g+3 g
Total fat10.5 g9.8 g+0.7 g
Dietary fiber1.6 g1.5 g+0.1 g
Sodium519 mg485 mg+34 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 20 more calories than “Cornbread, made from home recipe.”

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations match

The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.

Shared listed inputs: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Sugars, granulated; and 4 more.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 113 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (113 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (65 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707814 with FDC 2707811 at equal mass; use their 113 g and 65 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707814 versus FDC 2707811 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full biscuits, muffins, quick breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2707814 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707814 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 307 kcal per 100 g becomes 347 kcal at 113 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707814

FNDDS food code: 52206060

The scaling for FDC 2707814 can be exact while the match to “Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 113 g weight, 8-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.