Energy
middle half287 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 305 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 271–372 kcal
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 187 calories for 1 piece (65 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 piece · 65 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 piece · 65 g
187calories
Cornbread, made from home recipe
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 187 calories for 1 piece at 65 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 287 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4.3 g protein, 1 g fiber, and 315 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk, nfs, representing 38.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 8 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 piece at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 32–1,854 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707811: “Cornbread, made from home recipe.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707811, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 surface inch” through “1 square cornbread (8" pan)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 surface inchUSDA-listed household measure | 11 g | 32 kcal | 0.7 g | 0.2 g | 53 mg |
| 1 pieceUSDA-listed household measure | 65 g | 187 kcal | 4.3 g | 1 g | 315 mg |
| 1 square cornbread (8" pan)USDA-listed household measure | 646 g | 1,854 kcal | 42.3 g | 9.7 g | 3,133 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the Biscuits, muffins, quick breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707811’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half287 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter485 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707811’s 65 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium132 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron2 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium315 mg
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.2 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cornbread, made from home recipe,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707814 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 11 g and 646 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 32 kcal to 1,854 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 20 kcal less calories than “Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 8 input rows; Milk, NFS supplies 38.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “made from home recipe” fits. Inspect FDC 2707814 when “stick; round; made from home recipe” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “made from home recipe”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCornbread, made from home recipe | 65 g187 kcal | 287 kcal | 6.6 g | 9.8 g | 1.5 g | 485 mg |
| Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe | 113 g347 kcal | 307 kcal | 7 g | 10.5 g | 1.6 g | 519 mg |
| Cornbread, prepared from mix | 60 g198 kcal | 330 kcal | 6.6 g | 9.6 g | 2.3 g | 599 mg |
| Cornbread muffin, stick, round | 113 g345 kcal | 305 kcal | 5.9 g | 8.4 g | 3.4 g | 385 mg |
| Johnnycake | 49 g136 kcal | 277 kcal | 8 g | 7.5 g | 1.8 g | 871 mg |
| Casabe, cassava bread | 100 g299 kcal | 299 kcal | 2.5 g | 0.5 g | 3.4 g | 1,180 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707811: its source amount is 65 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707811, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
32 kcal
11 g
255 kcal
89 g
1,799 kcal
627 g
1,782 kcal
621 g
1,854 kcal
646 g
1,820 kcal
634 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707811, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
315.3 mg≈ 14% Daily ValueCalcium
132 mg≈ 10% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
27.9 g≈ 10% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707811’s 65 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707811 at 65 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 65 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 187 kcal 287 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4.3 g 6.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 27.9 g 42.9 g | 10% 16% |
| Total fat | 6.4 g 9.8 g | 8% 13% |
| Dietary fiber | 1 g 1.5 g | 3% 5% |
| Sugars | 4.5 g 6.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 315.3 mg 485 mg | 14% 21% |
| Saturated fat | 1.2 g 1.9 g | 6% 9% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.4 g 3.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.1 g 3.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 25.4 mg 39 mg | 8% 13% |
| Potassium | 92.3 mg 142 mg | 2% 3% |
| Calcium | 132 mg 203 mg | 10% 16% |
| Iron | 1.7 mg 2.7 mg | 10% 15% |
| Magnesium | 13 mg 20 mg | 3% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.5 µg 0.7 µg | 2% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 27.3 µg 42 µg | 3% 5% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 24.7 g 38 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707811, approximate percentages divide the displayed 65 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707811 to 8 source inputs totaling 640.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cornbread, made from home recipe” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Milk, NFS, Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow, Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
640.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available | 1 C | 125 g | 19.5% |
| 2 | Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellowUSDA ingredient 20022 · encyclopedia page available | 1 C | 138 g | 21.5% |
| 3 | Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfateUSDA ingredient 18369 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TB | 13.8 g | 2.2% |
| 4 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 2 TB | 25 g | 3.9% |
| 5 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 TS | 3 g | 0.5% |
| 6 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 7.8% |
| 7 | Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available | 1 C | 244 g | 38.1% |
| 8 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 3 TB | 42 g | 6.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707811, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Biscuits, muffins, quick breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 287 kcal | 307 kcal | −20 kcal |
| Protein | 6.6 g | 7 g | −0.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 42.9 g | 45.9 g | −3 g |
| Total fat | 9.8 g | 10.5 g | −0.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g | 1.6 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 485 mg | 519 mg | −34 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 20 less calories than “Cornbread muffin, stick, round, made from home recipe.”
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.
Shared listed inputs: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Sugars, granulated; and 4 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (65 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 113 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (113 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707811 with FDC 2707814 at equal mass; use their 65 g and 113 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707811 versus FDC 2707814 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full biscuits, muffins, quick breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cornbread, made from home recipe” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707811 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Cornbread, made from home recipe,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707811 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 287 kcal per 100 g becomes 187 kcal at 65 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 piece has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707811
FNDDS food code: 52202060
The scaling for FDC 2707811 can be exact while the match to “Cornbread, made from home recipe” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 65 g weight, 8-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.