Energy
middle half161 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 178 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 134–228 kcal
Based on 89 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 145 calories for 1 small/regular fillet (90 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Fish, bass, baked or broiled
Quick facts
1 small/regular fillet · 90 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 small/regular fillet · 90 g
145calories
Fish, bass, baked or broiled
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 145 calories for 1 small/regular fillet at 90 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 161 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 20.6 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 270 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fish, sea bass, mixed species, raw, representing 95.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small/regular fillet at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 27–217 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706295: “Fish, bass, baked or broiled.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706295, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 large fillet” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 17 g | 27 kcal | 3.9 g | 0 g | 51 mg |
| 1 small/regular filletUSDA-listed household measure | 90 g | 145 kcal | 20.6 g | 0 g | 270 mg |
| 1 large filletUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 217 kcal | 30.9 g | 0 g | 405 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 89 exact records in the Fish USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706295’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half161 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half22.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half300 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 89 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706295’s 90 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin D; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin D6.3 µg
≈ 32% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium46 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium270 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.6 g
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Fish, bass, baked or broiled,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706297 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 17 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 27 kcal to 217 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.8 g less carbohydrate than “Fish, bass, baked or broiled, coated.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Fish, sea bass, mixed species, raw supplies 95.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “bass; baked or broiled” fits. Inspect FDC 2706297 when “bass; baked or broiled; coated” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “bass” and “baked or broiled”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFish, bass, baked or broiled | 90 g145 kcal | 161 kcal | 22.9 g | 7 g | 0 g | 300 mg |
| Fish, bass, baked or broiled, coated | 90 g164 kcal | 182 kcal | 20.6 g | 7 g | 0.3 g | 334 mg |
| Fish, tilapia, baked or broiled | 90 g144 kcal | 160 kcal | 25 g | 6.7 g | 0 g | 280 mg |
| Fish, whiting, baked or broiled | 90 g138 kcal | 153 kcal | 22.8 g | 6.2 g | 0 g | 305 mg |
| Fish, perch, baked or broiled | 90 g125 kcal | 139 kcal | 19 g | 6.5 g | 0 g | 309 mg |
| Fish, catfish, baked or broiled | 90 g170 kcal | 189 kcal | 18.9 g | 11.9 g | 0 g | 337 mg |
| Fish, flounder, baked or broiled | 90 g115 kcal | 128 kcal | 15.4 g | 6.9 g | 0 g | 316 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706295: its source amount is 90 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706295, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
145 kcal
90 g
217 kcal
135 g
217 kcal
135 g
32 kcal
20 g
27 kcal
17 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706295, Vitamin D is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin D
6.3 µg≈ 32% Daily ValueCholesterol
49.5 mg≈ 17% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706295’s 90 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706295 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 20.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706295 at 90 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 90 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 145 kcal 161 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 20.6 g 22.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 6.3 g 7 g | 8% 9% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 270 mg 300 mg | 12% 13% |
| Saturated fat | 1.6 g 1.8 g | 8% 9% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.9 g 2.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2 g 2.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 49.5 mg 55 mg | 17% 18% |
| Potassium | 287.1 mg 319 mg | 6% 7% |
| Calcium | 11.7 mg 13 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 0.3 mg 0.4 mg | 2% 2% |
| Magnesium | 45.9 mg 51 mg | 11% 12% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 6.3 µg 7 µg | 32% 35% |
| Vitamin A | 62.1 µg 69 µg | 7% 8% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 61.1 g 67.9 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706295, approximate percentages divide the displayed 90 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706295 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Fish, bass, baked or broiled” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fish, sea bass, mixed species, raw, Oil or table fat, NFS, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fish, sea bass, mixed species, rawUSDA ingredient 15091 · encyclopedia page available | 96 GM | 96 g | 95.6% |
| 2 | Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available | 4 GM | 4 g | 4% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.4 GM | 0.4 g | 0.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706295, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fish” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 161 kcal | 182 kcal | −21 kcal |
| Protein | 22.9 g | 20.6 g | +2.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 7.8 g | −7.8 g |
| Total fat | 7 g | 7 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0.3 g | −0.3 g |
| Sodium | 300 mg | 334 mg | −34 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 21 less calories, 2.3 g more protein, and 7.8 g less carbohydrate than “Fish, bass, baked or broiled, coated.”
Only the comparison record lists Breading or batter as ingredient in food. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Fish, sea bass, mixed species, raw; Oil or table fat, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in the comparison: Breading or batter as ingredient in food.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 90 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (90 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 90 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (90 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706295 with FDC 2706297 at equal mass; use their 90 g and 90 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706295 versus FDC 2706297 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full fish source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2706295 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Fish, bass, baked or broiled” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706295 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, species or cut, cooking method, breading, butter, or sauce.
For “Fish, bass, baked or broiled,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706295 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 161 kcal per 100 g becomes 145 kcal at 90 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small/regular fillet has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706295
FNDDS food code: 26141120
The scaling for FDC 2706295 can be exact while the match to “Fish, bass, baked or broiled” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 90 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.