Fish & seafoodmoderate variability

Fish, mackerel, grilled calories: 309 per 1 small/regular fillet (140 g)

This exact USDA record reports 309 calories for 1 small/regular fillet (140 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 small/regular fillet · 140 g

Calories
309 kcal
Protein
35.6 g
Carbohydrate
0 g
Total fat
17.2 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
444 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 small/regular fillet · 140 g

309calories

Fish, mackerel, grilled

Protein
35.6 g
Carbs
0 g
Fat
17.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706265

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 309 calories for 1 small/regular fillet at 140 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 221 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 35.6 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 444 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fish, mackerel, pacific and jack, mixed species, raw, representing 97.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small/regular fillet at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 38–464 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706265: “Fish, mackerel, grilled.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706265, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 large fillet” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 17 g 38 kcal 4.3 g 0 g 54 mg
1 small/regular filletUSDA-listed household measure 140 g 309 kcal 35.6 g 0 g 444 mg
1 large filletUSDA-listed household measure 210 g 464 kcal 53.3 g 0 g 666 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Fish

The comparison set contains 89 exact records in the Fish USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706265’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

221 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
178 kcal
Middle 50%
134–228 kcal

Based on 89 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

25.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
20.6 g
Middle 50%
17.3–23.3 g

Based on 89 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.3 g

Based on 89 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

317 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
322 mg
Middle 50%
290–377 mg

Based on 89 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706265’s 140 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin D; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin D16.2 µg

≈ 81% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium721 mg

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat4.8 g

≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium444 mg

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Fish, mackerel, grilled,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706264 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 large fillet

    USDA assigns those measures 17 g and 210 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 38 kcal to 464 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706264

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2 g less total fat than “Fish, mackerel, baked or broiled.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Fish, mackerel, Pacific and jack, mixed species, raw

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Fish, mackerel, Pacific and jack, mixed species, raw supplies 97.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “mackerel; grilled” fits. Inspect FDC 2706264 when “mackerel; baked or broiled” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Fish, mackerel, grilled

Exact source wording
“Fish, mackerel, grilled”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706265 · FNDDS 26121121
Named qualifiers
mackerel · grilled

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Fish, mackerel, baked or broiled

Exact source wording
“Fish, mackerel, baked or broiled”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706264 · FNDDS 26121120
Named qualifiers
mackerel · baked or broiled

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “mackerel” and “grilled”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordFish, mackerel, grilled 140 g309 kcal 221 kcal 25.4 g 12.3 g 0 g 317 mg
Fish, pompano, grilled 90 g205 kcal 228 kcal 23.4 g 14.3 g 0 g 290 mg
Fish, trout, grilled 90 g179 kcal 199 kcal 25.3 g 10.1 g 0 g 273 mg
Fish, salmon, grilled 140 g363 kcal 259 kcal 25.9 g 16.5 g 0 g 288 mg
Fish, catfish, grilled 90 g154 kcal 171 kcal 19.3 g 9.8 g 0 g 332 mg
Fish, mackerel, fried 140 g398 kcal 284 kcal 17.2 g 18.2 g 0.5 g 409 mg
Fish, mackerel, canned 85 g133 kcal 156 kcal 23.2 g 6.3 g 0 g 379 mg

How to compare FDC 2706265: its source amount is 140 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706265, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small/regular fillet

309 kcal

140 g

1 large fillet

464 kcal

210 g

1 steak

464 kcal

210 g

1 cup

298 kcal

135 g

1 oz yields

44 kcal

20 g

1 cubic inch

38 kcal

17 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706265, Vitamin D is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Vitamin D

16.2 µg≈ 81% Daily Value

Cholesterol

85.4 mg≈ 29% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706265’s 140 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706265 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 35.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706265 at 140 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 444 mg sodium, about 19% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 140 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 309 kcal Not established
Protein 35.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0 g 0%
Total fat 17.2 g 22%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 443.8 mg 19%
Saturated fat 4.8 g 24%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 4.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 85.4 mg 28%
Potassium 721 mg 15%
Calcium 42 mg 3%
Iron 2.1 mg 11%
Magnesium 50.4 mg 12%
Vitamin C 2.8 mg 3%
Vitamin D 16.2 µg 81%
Vitamin A 43.4 µg 5%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 83.2 g Not established

For FDC 2706265, approximate percentages divide the displayed 140 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706265 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Fish, mackerel, grilled” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fish, mackerel, Pacific and jack, mixed species, raw, Oil or table fat, NFS, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Fish, mackerel, Pacific and jack, mixed species, rawUSDA ingredient 15050 · encyclopedia page available 98 GM 98 g 97.6%
2 Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available 2 GM 2 g 2%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.4 GM 0.4 g 0.4%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706265, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fish” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories221 kcal237 kcal−16 kcal
Protein25.4 g24.9 g+0.5 g
Carbohydrate0 g0 g−0 g
Total fat12.3 g14.3 g−2 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium317 mg322 mg−5 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 16 less calories and 2 g less total fat than “Fish, mackerel, baked or broiled.”

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Fish, mackerel, Pacific and jack, mixed species, raw; Oil or table fat, NFS; Salt, table.

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (140 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular fillet (140 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706265 with FDC 2706264 at equal mass; use their 140 g and 140 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706265 versus FDC 2706264 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full fish source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, species or cut, cooking method, breading, butter, or sauce.

For “Fish, mackerel, grilled,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    species or cut

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, butter, or sauce

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706265 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 221 kcal per 100 g becomes 309 kcal at 140 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small/regular fillet has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706265

FNDDS food code: 26121121

The scaling for FDC 2706265 can be exact while the match to “Fish, mackerel, grilled” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 140 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.