Energy
upper quarter350 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 277 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 262–299 kcal
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 259 calories for 1 medium slice (74 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium slice · 74 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium slice · 74 g
259calories
Garlic bread, from frozen
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 259 calories for 1 medium slice at 74 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 350 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.2 g protein, 1.9 g fiber, and 403 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is garlic bread, frozen, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 130–1,316 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707628: “Garlic bread, from frozen.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707628, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 small slice” through “1 baguette (about 22" long)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 small sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 37 g | 130 kcal | 3.1 g | 0.9 g | 201 mg |
| 1 medium sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 74 g | 259 kcal | 6.2 g | 1.9 g | 403 mg |
| 1 baguette (about 22" long)USDA-listed household measure | 376 g | 1,316 kcal | 31.4 g | 9.4 g | 2,045 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707628’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter350 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter8.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half544 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707628’s 74 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.9 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.9 g
≈ 20% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium403 mg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Garlic bread, from frozen,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707630 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 37 g and 376 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 130 kcal to 1,316 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.4 g less protein than “Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from frozen.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “from frozen” fits. Inspect FDC 2707630 when “with parmesan cheese; from frozen” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “from frozen”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordGarlic bread, from frozen | 74 g259 kcal | 350 kcal | 8.4 g | 16.6 g | 2.5 g | 544 mg |
| Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from frozen | 79 g277 kcal | 351 kcal | 8.8 g | 16.8 g | 2.5 g | 568 mg |
| Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen | 88 g302 kcal | 343 kcal | 10.4 g | 17.1 g | 2.2 g | 564 mg |
| Garlic bread, from fast food / restaurant | 74 g258 kcal | 349 kcal | 8.3 g | 16.6 g | 2.5 g | 620 mg |
| Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant | 79 g277 kcal | 351 kcal | 8.8 g | 16.8 g | 2.4 g | 642 mg |
| Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from fast food / restaurant | 88 g298 kcal | 339 kcal | 11.4 g | 17.3 g | 2 g | 636 mg |
| Bread, paratha | 70 g228 kcal | 326 kcal | 6.4 g | 13.2 g | 9.6 g | 452 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707628: its source amount is 74 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707628, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
130 kcal
37 g
259 kcal
74 g
389 kcal
111 g
140 kcal
40 g
1,316 kcal
376 g
616 kcal
176 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707628, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
3.9 g≈ 20% Daily ValueSodium
402.6 mg≈ 18% Daily ValueTotal fat
12.3 g≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707628’s 74 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707628 at 74 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 74 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 259 kcal 350 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.2 g 8.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 30.9 g 41.7 g | 11% 15% |
| Total fat | 12.3 g 16.6 g | 16% 21% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.9 g 2.5 g | 7% 9% |
| Sugars | 2.7 g 3.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 402.6 mg 544 mg | 18% 24% |
| Saturated fat | 3.9 g 5.3 g | 20% 26% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.5 g 4.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4 g 5.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 76.2 mg 103 mg | 2% 2% |
| Calcium | 20 mg 27 mg | 2% 2% |
| Iron | 2.3 mg 3.1 mg | 13% 17% |
| Magnesium | 17 mg 23 mg | 4% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.2 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 9.6 µg 13 µg | 1% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 23.5 g 31.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707628, approximate percentages divide the displayed 74 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707628 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Garlic bread, from frozen” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Garlic bread, frozen is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Garlic bread, frozenUSDA ingredient 18963 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707628, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 350 kcal | 351 kcal | −1 kcal |
| Protein | 8.4 g | 8.8 g | −0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 41.7 g | 41.1 g | +0.6 g |
| Total fat | 16.6 g | 16.8 g | −0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.5 g | 2.5 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 544 mg | 568 mg | −24 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only the comparison record lists Cheese, parmesan, grated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Garlic bread, frozen.
Listed only in the comparison: Cheese, parmesan, grated.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 74 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium slice (74 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 79 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium slice (79 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707628 with FDC 2707630 at equal mass; use their 74 g and 79 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707628 versus FDC 2707630 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Garlic bread, from frozen” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707628 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Garlic bread, from frozen,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707628 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 350 kcal per 100 g becomes 259 kcal at 74 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707628
FNDDS food code: 51121035
The scaling for FDC 2707628 can be exact while the match to “Garlic bread, from frozen” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 74 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.