Energy
upper quarter351 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 277 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 262–299 kcal
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 277 calories for 1 medium slice (79 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant
Quick facts
1 medium slice · 79 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium slice · 79 g
277calories
Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 277 calories for 1 medium slice at 79 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 351 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.9 g protein, 1.9 g fiber, and 507 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is garlic bread, frozen, representing 97.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 137–1,379 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707629: “Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707629, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 small slice” through “1 baguette (about 22" long)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 small sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 39 g | 137 kcal | 3.4 g | 0.9 g | 250 mg |
| 1 medium sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 79 g | 277 kcal | 6.9 g | 1.9 g | 507 mg |
| 1 baguette (about 22" long)USDA-listed household measure | 393 g | 1,379 kcal | 34.4 g | 9.4 g | 2,523 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707629’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter351 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter8.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter642 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707629’s 79 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.9 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium507 mg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat4.3 g
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707627 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 39 g and 393 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 137 kcal to 1,379 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.4 g more protein than “Garlic bread, from fast food / restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Garlic bread, frozen supplies 97.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “with parmesan cheese; from fast food / restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2707627 when “from fast food / restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “with parmesan cheese” and “from fast food / restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordGarlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant | 79 g277 kcal | 351 kcal | 8.8 g | 16.8 g | 2.4 g | 642 mg |
| Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from fast food / restaurant | 88 g298 kcal | 339 kcal | 11.4 g | 17.3 g | 2 g | 636 mg |
| Garlic bread, from fast food / restaurant | 74 g258 kcal | 349 kcal | 8.3 g | 16.6 g | 2.5 g | 620 mg |
| Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from frozen | 79 g277 kcal | 351 kcal | 8.8 g | 16.8 g | 2.5 g | 568 mg |
| Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen | 88 g302 kcal | 343 kcal | 10.4 g | 17.1 g | 2.2 g | 564 mg |
| Garlic bread, from frozen | 74 g259 kcal | 350 kcal | 8.4 g | 16.6 g | 2.5 g | 544 mg |
| Bread, cheese | 28 g114 kcal | 408 kcal | 10.4 g | 20.8 g | 2.1 g | 750 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707629: its source amount is 79 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707629, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
137 kcal
39 g
277 kcal
79 g
414 kcal
118 g
144 kcal
41 g
1,379 kcal
393 g
649 kcal
185 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707629, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
507.2 mg≈ 22% Daily ValueSaturated fat
4.3 g≈ 22% Daily ValueTotal fat
13.3 g≈ 17% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707629’s 79 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707629 at 79 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 79 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 277 kcal 351 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.9 g 8.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 32.5 g 41.1 g | 12% 15% |
| Total fat | 13.3 g 16.8 g | 17% 22% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.9 g 2.4 g | 7% 9% |
| Sugars | 2.9 g 3.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 507.2 mg 642 mg | 22% 28% |
| Saturated fat | 4.3 g 5.5 g | 22% 27% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.7 g 4.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.2 g 5.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 1.6 mg 2 mg | 1% 1% |
| Potassium | 82.2 mg 104 mg | 2% 2% |
| Calcium | 34.8 mg 44 mg | 3% 3% |
| Iron | 2.4 mg 3 mg | 13% 17% |
| Magnesium | 18.2 mg 23 mg | 4% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.2 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 13.4 µg 17 µg | 1% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 24.9 g 31.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707629, approximate percentages divide the displayed 79 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707629 to 3 source inputs totaling 102.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Garlic bread, frozen, Cheese, parmesan, grated, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
102.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Garlic bread, frozenUSDA ingredient 18963 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 97.8% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.2 GM | 0.2 g | 0.2% |
| 3 | Cheese, parmesan, gratedUSDA ingredient 1032 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707629, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 351 kcal | 349 kcal | +2 kcal |
| Protein | 8.8 g | 8.3 g | +0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 41.1 g | 41.6 g | −0.5 g |
| Total fat | 16.8 g | 16.6 g | +0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.4 g | 2.5 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 642 mg | 620 mg | +22 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only this record lists Cheese, parmesan, grated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Garlic bread, frozen; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Cheese, parmesan, grated.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 79 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium slice (79 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 74 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium slice (74 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707629 with FDC 2707627 at equal mass; use their 79 g and 74 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707629 versus FDC 2707627 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707629 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density.
For “Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707629 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 351 kcal per 100 g becomes 277 kcal at 79 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707629
FNDDS food code: 51121045
The scaling for FDC 2707629 can be exact while the match to “Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 79 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.