Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen calories: 302 per 1 medium slice (88 g)

This exact USDA record reports 302 calories for 1 medium slice (88 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium slice · 88 g

Calories
302 kcal
Protein
9.2 g
Carbohydrate
32.5 g
Total fat
15 g
Fiber
1.9 g
Sodium
496 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium slice · 88 g

302calories

Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen

Protein
9.2 g
Carbs
32.5 g
Fat
15 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707632

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 302 calories for 1 medium slice at 88 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 343 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 9.2 g protein, 1.9 g fiber, and 496 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is garlic bread, frozen, representing 87% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 151–1,533 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707632: “Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707632, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 small slice” through “1 baguette (about 22" long)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 small sliceUSDA-listed household measure 44 g 151 kcal 4.6 g 1 g 248 mg
1 medium sliceUSDA-listed household measure 88 g 302 kcal 9.2 g 1.9 g 496 mg
1 baguette (about 22" long)USDA-listed household measure 447 g 1,533 kcal 46.5 g 9.8 g 2,521 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Yeast breads

The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707632’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

343 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
277 kcal
Middle 50%
262–299 kcal

Based on 104 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

10.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.8 g
Middle 50%
8.8–11.4 g

Based on 104 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

2.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
2.3–6.3 g

Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

564 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
495 mg
Middle 50%
447–585 mg

Based on 104 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707632’s 88 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium100 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat5.4 g

≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium496 mg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707631 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 small slice to 1 baguette (about 22" long)

    USDA assigns those measures 44 g and 447 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 151 kcal to 1,533 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707631

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 72 mg less sodium than “Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from fast food / restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Garlic bread, frozen

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Garlic bread, frozen supplies 87% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “with melted cheese; from frozen” fits. Inspect FDC 2707631 when “with melted cheese; from fast food / restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen

Exact source wording
“Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707632 · FNDDS 51121075
Named qualifiers
with melted cheese · from frozen

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from fast food / restaurant

Exact source wording
“Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from fast food / restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707631 · FNDDS 51121065
Named qualifiers
with melted cheese · from fast food / restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Salt, table

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “with melted cheese” and “from frozen”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordGarlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen 88 g302 kcal 343 kcal 10.4 g 17.1 g 2.2 g 564 mg
Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from frozen 79 g277 kcal 351 kcal 8.8 g 16.8 g 2.5 g 568 mg
Garlic bread, from frozen 74 g259 kcal 350 kcal 8.4 g 16.6 g 2.5 g 544 mg
Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from fast food / restaurant 88 g298 kcal 339 kcal 11.4 g 17.3 g 2 g 636 mg
Bread, cheese 28 g114 kcal 408 kcal 10.4 g 20.8 g 2.1 g 750 mg
Garlic bread, with parmesan cheese, from fast food / restaurant 79 g277 kcal 351 kcal 8.8 g 16.8 g 2.4 g 642 mg
Garlic bread, from fast food / restaurant 74 g258 kcal 349 kcal 8.3 g 16.6 g 2.5 g 620 mg

How to compare FDC 2707632: its source amount is 88 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707632, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small slice

151 kcal

44 g

1 medium slice

302 kcal

88 g

1 large slice

453 kcal

132 g

1 piece/slice Texas Toast

165 kcal

48 g

1 baguette (about 22" long)

1,533 kcal

447 g

1 mini baguette (about 9" long)

717 kcal

209 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707632, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

5.4 g≈ 27% Daily Value

Sodium

496.3 mg≈ 22% Daily Value

Total fat

15 g≈ 19% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707632’s 88 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707632 at 88 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 496 mg sodium, about 22% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 88 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 302 kcal Not established
Protein 9.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 32.5 g 12%
Total fat 15 g 19%
Dietary fiber 1.9 g 7%
Sugars 3 g Not established
Sodium 496.3 mg 22%
Saturated fat 5.4 g 27%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 4.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 7 mg 2%
Potassium 92.4 mg 2%
Calcium 100.3 mg 8%
Iron 2.4 mg 13%
Magnesium 21.1 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0.2 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 33.4 µg 4%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 29.8 g Not established

For FDC 2707632, approximate percentages divide the displayed 88 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707632 to 2 source inputs totaling 115 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Garlic bread, frozen, Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skim. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

115 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Garlic bread, frozenUSDA ingredient 18963 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 87%
2 Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skimUSDA ingredient 1029 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 13%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707632, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories343 kcal339 kcal+4 kcal
Protein10.4 g11.4 g−1 g
Carbohydrate36.9 g34.2 g+2.7 g
Total fat17.1 g17.3 g−0.2 g
Dietary fiber2.2 g2 g+0.2 g
Sodium564 mg636 mg−72 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 72 mg less sodium than “Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from fast food / restaurant.”

Only the comparison record lists Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Garlic bread, frozen; Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skim.

Listed only in the comparison: Salt, table.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 88 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium slice (88 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 88 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium slice (88 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707632 with FDC 2707631 at equal mass; use their 88 g and 88 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707632 versus FDC 2707631 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707632 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 343 kcal per 100 g becomes 302 kcal at 88 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707632

FNDDS food code: 51121075

The scaling for FDC 2707632 can be exact while the match to “Garlic bread, with melted cheese, from frozen” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 88 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.