Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Gordita/sope shell, plain, no filling calories: 122 per 1 shell (47 g)

This exact USDA record reports 122 calories for 1 shell (47 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 shell · 47 g

Calories
122 kcal
Protein
1.8 g
Carbohydrate
17.5 g
Total fat
5.3 g
Fiber
1.4 g
Sodium
177 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 shell (3 - 4" dia) · 47 g

122calories

Gordita/sope shell, plain, no filling

Protein
1.8 g
Carbs
17.5 g
Fat
5.3 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707818

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 122 calories for 1 shell at 47 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 260 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.8 g protein, 1.4 g fiber, and 177 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 49.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 shell at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 122–260 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707818: “Gordita/sope shell, plain, no filling.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707818, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup (pieces)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 35.3 g 92 kcal 1.4 g 1 g 133 mg
1 shell (3 - 4" dia)USDA-listed household measure 47 g 122 kcal 1.8 g 1.4 g 177 mg
1 cup (pieces)USDA-listed household measure 100 g 260 kcal 3.9 g 2.9 g 376 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Breads & baked goods

The comparison set contains 174 exact records in Feast’s broader Breads & baked goods category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707818’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

260 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
278 kcal
Middle 50%
259–306 kcal

Based on 174 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

3.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.5 g
Middle 50%
7.9–10.7 g

Based on 174 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

2.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3 g
Middle 50%
2–4.6 g

Based on 174 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

376 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
477 mg
Middle 50%
409–565 mg

Based on 174 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707818’s 47 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium177 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1 g

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Gordita/sope shell, plain, no filling,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707827 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 shell (3 - 4" dia) to 1 cup (pieces)

    USDA assigns those measures 47 g and 100 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 122 kcal to 260 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707827

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 17.9 g less total fat than “Taco shell, flour.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, drinking

    The source formulation has 6 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 49.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “plain; no filling” fits. Inspect FDC 2707827 when “flour” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Gordita/sope shell, plain, no filling

Exact source wording
“Gordita/sope shell, plain, no filling”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707818 · FNDDS 52208760
Named qualifiers
plain · no filling
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, corn, yellow, fine meal, enriched · Corn flour, masa, enriched, white · Beverages, water, tap, drinking

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Taco shell, flour

Exact source wording
“Taco shell, flour”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707827 · FNDDS 52215350
Named qualifiers
flour
Source inputs unique in this pair
Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, flour, refrigerated

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “plain” and “no filling”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordGordita/sope shell, plain, no filling 47 g122 kcal 260 kcal 3.9 g 11.2 g 2.9 g 376 mg
Taco shell, corn 54 g257 kcal 476 kcal 6.4 g 21.8 g 6.7 g 324 mg
Taco shell, flour 45 g230 kcal 511 kcal 8.8 g 29.1 g 3.8 g 755 mg

How to compare FDC 2707818: its source amount is 47 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707818, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup (pieces)

260 kcal

100 g

1 shell (3 - 4" dia)

122 kcal

47 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707818, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Iron

1.7 mg≈ 10% Daily Value

Sodium

176.7 mg≈ 8% Daily Value

Total fat

5.3 g≈ 7% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707818’s 47 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 47 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 122 kcal Not established
Protein 1.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 17.5 g 6%
Total fat 5.3 g 7%
Dietary fiber 1.4 g 5%
Sugars 0.3 g Not established
Sodium 176.7 mg 8%
Saturated fat 1 g 5%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 54.1 mg 1%
Calcium 25.9 mg 2%
Iron 1.7 mg 10%
Magnesium 18.3 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0.5 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 21.7 g Not established

For FDC 2707818, approximate percentages divide the displayed 47 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707818 to 6 source inputs totaling 605 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Gordita/sope shell, plain, no filling” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

6 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Corn flour, masa, enriched, white, Flour, corn, yellow, fine meal, enriched. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

605 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Flour, corn, yellow, fine meal, enrichedUSDA ingredient 100251 50 GM 50 g 8.3%
2 Corn flour, masa, enriched, whiteUSDA ingredient 20017 · encyclopedia page available 200 GM 200 g 33.1%
3 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 300 GM 300 g 49.6%
4 Shortening, vegetable, household, compositeUSDA ingredient 4615 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 5%
5 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 3.3%
6 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 0.8%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707818, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Tortillas” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories260 kcal511 kcal−251 kcal
Protein3.9 g8.8 g−5 g
Carbohydrate37.2 g53.2 g−16 g
Total fat11.2 g29.1 g−17.9 g
Dietary fiber2.9 g3.8 g−0.9 g
Sodium376 mg755 mg−379 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 251 less calories, 5 g less protein, and 16 g less carbohydrate than “Taco shell, flour.”

Only this record lists Flour, corn, yellow, fine meal, enriched; Corn flour, masa, enriched, white; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Vegetable oil, NFS. Only the comparison record lists Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, flour, refrigerated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Shortening, vegetable, household, composite.

Listed only in this record: Flour, corn, yellow, fine meal, enriched; Corn flour, masa, enriched, white; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Vegetable oil, NFS; and 1 more.

Listed only in the comparison: Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, flour, refrigerated.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 47 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 shell (47 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (45 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707818 with FDC 2707827 at equal mass; use their 47 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707818 versus FDC 2707827 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Gordita/sope shell, plain, no filling,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707818 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 260 kcal per 100 g becomes 122 kcal at 47 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 shell has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707818

FNDDS food code: 52208760

The scaling for FDC 2707818 can be exact while the match to “Gordita/sope shell, plain, no filling” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 47 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.