Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna calories: 329 per 1 cup (230 g)

This exact USDA record reports 329 calories for 1 cup (230 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 230 g

Calories
329 kcal
Protein
18.1 g
Carbohydrate
40 g
Total fat
10.4 g
Fiber
2.3 g
Sodium
580 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 230 g

329calories

Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna

Protein
18.1 g
Carbs
40 g
Fat
10.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708929

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 329 calories for 1 cup at 230 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 143 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 18.1 g protein, 2.3 g fiber, and 580 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, representing 53.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708929: “Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708929, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 172.5 g 247 kcal 13.5 g 1.7 g 435 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 230 g 329 kcal 18.1 g 2.3 g 580 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 287.5 g 411 kcal 22.6 g 2.9 g 725 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Macaroni and cheese

The comparison set contains 16 exact records in the Macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708929’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

143 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
161 kcal
Middle 50%
144–191 kcal

Based on 16 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

7.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6 g
Middle 50%
4.6–8.4 g

Based on 16 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.8 g
Middle 50%
0.7–1.1 g

Based on 16 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

252 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
256 mg
Middle 50%
176–300 mg

Based on 16 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708929’s 230 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin A87.4 µg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat5.3 g

≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium580 mg

≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708928 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 230 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 172.5–287.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 247 kcal and 411 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708928

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.1 g more protein than “Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt supplies 53.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “creamed; with cheese and tuna” fits. Inspect FDC 2708928 when “creamed; with cheese” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna

Exact source wording
“Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708929 · FNDDS 58147340
Named qualifiers
creamed · with cheese and tuna
Source inputs unique in this pair
Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese

Exact source wording
“Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708928 · FNDDS 58147330
Named qualifiers
creamed · with cheese

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “creamed” and “with cheese and tuna”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordMacaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna 230 g329 kcal 143 kcal 7.9 g 4.5 g 1 g 252 mg
Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese 230 g363 kcal 158 kcal 4.7 g 5.5 g 1.3 g 260 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese and tuna 230 g377 kcal 164 kcal 7.6 g 6.8 g 0.8 g 176 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese 230 g513 kcal 223 kcal 8.7 g 10.5 g 1.2 g 358 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese and tomato 230 g340 kcal 148 kcal 3.9 g 6.5 g 1.1 g 131 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese, from restaurant 230 g347 kcal 151 kcal 5.4 g 6.1 g 1.1 g 361 mg
Macaroni or noodles with cheese and egg 230 g426 kcal 185 kcal 5.9 g 9.5 g 0.8 g 176 mg

How to compare FDC 2708929: its source amount is 230 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708929, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

329 kcal

230 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708929, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

5.3 g≈ 27% Daily Value

Sodium

579.6 mg≈ 25% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708929’s 230 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708929 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 18.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708929 at 230 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 580 mg sodium, about 25% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 230 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 329 kcal Not established
Protein 18.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 40 g 15%
Total fat 10.4 g 13%
Dietary fiber 2.3 g 8%
Sugars 1.2 g Not established
Sodium 579.6 mg 25%
Saturated fat 5.3 g 27%
Monounsaturated Fat 2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.9 g Not established
Cholesterol 43.7 mg 15%
Potassium 165.6 mg 4%
Calcium 57.5 mg 4%
Iron 2.5 mg 14%
Magnesium 36.8 mg 9%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.9 µg 5%
Vitamin A 87.4 µg 10%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 159.4 g Not established

For FDC 2708929, approximate percentages divide the displayed 230 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708929 to 4 source inputs totaling 783.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, Alfredo sauce, Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

783.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added saltUSDA ingredient 20121 · encyclopedia page available 420 GM 420 g 53.6%
2 Alfredo sauceUSDA ingredient 14650160 · encyclopedia page available 0.75 C 195 g 24.9%
3 Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solidsUSDA ingredient 15121 · encyclopedia page available 167 GM 167 g 21.3%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1.26 GM 1.3 g 0.2%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708929, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories143 kcal158 kcal−15 kcal
Protein7.9 g4.7 g+3.1 g
Carbohydrate17.4 g22 g−4.6 g
Total fat4.5 g5.5 g−1 g
Dietary fiber1 g1.3 g−0.3 g
Sodium252 mg260 mg−8 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 15 less calories, 3.1 g more protein, and 4.6 g less carbohydrate than “Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese.”

Only this record lists Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt; Alfredo sauce; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 230 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (230 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 230 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (230 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708929 with FDC 2708928 at equal mass; use their 230 g and 230 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708929 versus FDC 2708928 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.

For “Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708929 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 143 kcal per 100 g becomes 329 kcal at 230 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708929

FNDDS food code: 58147340

The scaling for FDC 2708929 can be exact while the match to “Macaroni or noodles, creamed, with cheese and tuna” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 230 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.