Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat calories: 245 per 1 cup, cooked (240 g)

This exact USDA record reports 245 calories for 1 cup, cooked (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup, cooked · 240 g

Calories
245 kcal
Protein
5.9 g
Carbohydrate
48.5 g
Total fat
3 g
Fiber
4.6 g
Sodium
326 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 240 g

245calories

Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat

Protein
5.9 g
Carbs
48.5 g
Fat
3 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708393

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 245 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 102 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 5.9 g protein, 4.6 g fiber, and 326 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 73.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 29–245 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708393: “Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708393, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 cup, cooked” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 28.4 g 29 kcal 0.7 g 0.5 g 39 mg
1 packet, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure 163 g 166 kcal 4 g 3.1 g 222 mg
1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 240 g 245 kcal 5.9 g 4.6 g 326 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Oatmeal

The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Oatmeal USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708393’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

102 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
101 kcal
Middle 50%
84–114 kcal

Based on 20 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

2.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.4 g
Middle 50%
2.3–3.3 g

Based on 20 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.8 g
Middle 50%
1.7–1.9 g

Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

136 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
96 mg
Middle 50%
79–128 mg

Based on 20 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708393’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A439.2 µg

≈ 49% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron7 mg

≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium326 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.5 g

≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708394 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 oz, cooked to 1 cup, cooked

    USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 240 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 29 kcal to 245 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708394

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.2 g less total fat than “Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, fat added.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, drinking

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 73.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “instant; maple flavored; no added fat” fits. Inspect FDC 2708394 when “instant; maple flavored; fat added” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat

Exact source wording
“Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708393 · FNDDS 56203130
Named qualifiers
instant · maple flavored · no added fat

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, fat added

Exact source wording
“Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, fat added”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708394 · FNDDS 56203135
Named qualifiers
instant · maple flavored · fat added
Source inputs unique in this pair
Table fat, NFS

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “instant”, “maple flavored”, and “no added fat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordOatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat 240 g245 kcal 102 kcal 2.4 g 1.3 g 1.9 g 136 mg
Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, fat added 240 g286 kcal 119 kcal 2.4 g 3.5 g 1.8 g 150 mg
Oatmeal, instant, fruit flavored, no added fat 240 g240 kcal 100 kcal 2.3 g 1.2 g 1.9 g 131 mg
Oatmeal, instant, fruit flavored, fat added 240 g281 kcal 117 kcal 2.3 g 3.4 g 1.9 g 145 mg
Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with milk, no added fat 240 g266 kcal 111 kcal 5 g 3 g 1.9 g 73 mg
Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added 240 g211 kcal 88 kcal 2.2 g 3.7 g 1.8 g 63 mg
Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with milk, fat added 240 g310 kcal 129 kcal 4.8 g 5.4 g 1.8 g 90 mg

How to compare FDC 2708393: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708393, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked

245 kcal

240 g

1 oz, cooked

29 kcal

28 g

1 oz, dry, yields

173 kcal

170 g

1 packet, dry, yields

166 kcal

163 g

1 single serving container

214 kcal

210 g

1 Keurig cup

173 kcal

170 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708393, Vitamin A is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Vitamin A

439.2 µg≈ 49% Daily Value

Iron

6.6 mg≈ 36% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

48.5 g≈ 18% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708393’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708393 at 240 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 4.6 g dietary fiber, about 16% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 326 mg sodium, about 14% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 245 kcal Not established
Protein 5.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 48.5 g 18%
Total fat 3 g 4%
Dietary fiber 4.6 g 16%
Sugars 19.2 g Not established
Sodium 326.4 mg 14%
Saturated fat 0.5 g 2%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.9 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 228 mg 5%
Calcium 168 mg 13%
Iron 6.6 mg 36%
Magnesium 57.6 mg 14%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 439.2 µg 49%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 180.5 g Not established

For FDC 2708393, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708393 to 2 source inputs totaling 163 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Cereals, oats, instant, fortified, maple and brown sugar, dry. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

163 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cereals, oats, instant, fortified, maple and brown sugar, dryUSDA ingredient 8680 · encyclopedia page available 43 GM 43 g 26.4%
2 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 120 GM 120 g 73.6%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708393, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Oatmeal” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories102 kcal119 kcal−17 kcal
Protein2.4 g2.4 g+0.1 g
Carbohydrate20.2 g19.6 g+0.6 g
Total fat1.3 g3.5 g−2.2 g
Dietary fiber1.9 g1.8 g+0.1 g
Sodium136 mg150 mg−14 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 17 less calories and 2.2 g less total fat than “Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, fat added.”

Only the comparison record lists Table fat, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Cereals, oats, instant, fortified, maple and brown sugar, dry; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.

Listed only in the comparison: Table fat, NFS.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708393 with FDC 2708394 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708393 versus FDC 2708394 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full oatmeal source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708393 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.

For “Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    toppings and add-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708393 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 102 kcal per 100 g becomes 245 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708393

FNDDS food code: 56203130

The scaling for FDC 2708393 can be exact while the match to “Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.