Energy
middle half88 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 101 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 84–114 kcal
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 211 calories for 1 cup, cooked (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added
Quick facts
1 cup, cooked · 240 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 240 g
211calories
Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 211 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 88 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.3 g protein, 4.3 g fiber, and 151 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 78.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 25–211 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708388: “Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708388, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 cup, cooked” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 28.4 g | 25 kcal | 0.6 g | 0.5 g | 18 mg |
| 1 packet, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure | 148 g | 130 kcal | 3.3 g | 2.7 g | 93 mg |
| 1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 240 g | 211 kcal | 5.3 g | 4.3 g | 151 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Oatmeal USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708388’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half88 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter2.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter63 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 20 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708388’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron11 mg
≈ 60% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A400.8 µg
≈ 45% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.1 g
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium151 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708387 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 240 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 25 kcal to 211 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.4 g more total fat than “Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, no added fat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 78.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “instant; plain; made with water; fat added” fits. Inspect FDC 2708387 when “instant; plain; made with water; no added fat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “instant”, “plain”, “made with water”, and “fat added”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordOatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added | 240 g211 kcal | 88 kcal | 2.2 g | 3.7 g | 1.8 g | 63 mg |
| Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, no added fat | 240 g163 kcal | 68 kcal | 2.3 g | 1.3 g | 1.9 g | 45 mg |
| Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with milk, no added fat | 240 g266 kcal | 111 kcal | 5 g | 3 g | 1.9 g | 73 mg |
| Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with milk, fat added | 240 g310 kcal | 129 kcal | 4.8 g | 5.4 g | 1.8 g | 90 mg |
| Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with non-dairy milk, no added fat | 240 g226 kcal | 94 kcal | 3.2 g | 2.6 g | 2 g | 83 mg |
| Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with non-dairy milk, fat added | 240 g271 kcal | 113 kcal | 3.1 g | 5 g | 1.9 g | 99 mg |
| Oatmeal, regular or quick, made with water, fat added | 240 g182 kcal | 76 kcal | 2.2 g | 2.6 g | 1.7 g | 81 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708388: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708388, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
211 kcal
240 g
25 kcal
28 g
150 kcal
170 g
130 kcal
148 g
185 kcal
210 g
150 kcal
170 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708388, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Iron
10.9 mg≈ 60% Daily ValueVitamin A
400.8 µg≈ 45% Daily ValueSaturated fat
3.1 g≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708388’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708388 at 240 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 211 kcal 88 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.3 g 2.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 30.5 g 12.7 g | 11% 5% |
| Total fat | 8.9 g 3.7 g | 11% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.3 g 1.8 g | 15% 6% |
| Sugars | 0.7 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 151.2 mg 63 mg | 7% 3% |
| Saturated fat | 3.1 g 1.3 g | 16% 7% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.6 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 12 mg 5 mg | 4% 2% |
| Potassium | 163.2 mg 68 mg | 3% 1% |
| Calcium | 160.8 mg 67 mg | 12% 5% |
| Iron | 10.9 mg 4.5 mg | 60% 25% |
| Magnesium | 57.6 mg 24 mg | 14% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 400.8 µg 167 µg | 45% 19% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 193.7 g 80.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708388, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708388 to 3 source inputs totaling 153 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Cereals, oats, instant, fortified, plain, dry, Table fat, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
153 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cereals, oats, instant, fortified, plain, dryUSDA ingredient 8122 · encyclopedia page available | 28 GM | 28 g | 18.3% |
| 2 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 120 GM | 120 g | 78.4% |
| 3 | Table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81100000 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 3.3% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708388, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Oatmeal” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 88 kcal | 68 kcal | +20 kcal |
| Protein | 2.2 g | 2.3 g | −0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 12.7 g | 13.2 g | −0.5 g |
| Total fat | 3.7 g | 1.3 g | +2.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g | 1.9 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 63 mg | 45 mg | +18 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 20 more calories and 2.4 g more total fat than “Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, no added fat.”
Only this record lists Table fat, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Cereals, oats, instant, fortified, plain, dry; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.
Listed only in this record: Table fat, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708388 with FDC 2708387 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708388 versus FDC 2708387 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full oatmeal source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708388 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708388 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708388 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 88 kcal per 100 g becomes 211 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708388
FNDDS food code: 56203087
The scaling for FDC 2708388 can be exact while the match to “Oatmeal, instant, plain, made with water, fat added” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.