Energy
middle half160 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 154 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 125–177 kcal
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 400 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, home recipe
Quick facts
1 cup · 250 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g
400calories
Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, home recipe
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 400 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 160 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 15.6 g protein, 5 g fiber, and 630 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (includes foods for usda's food distribution program), representing 51.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708910: “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, home recipe.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708910, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 187.5 g | 300 kcal | 11.7 g | 3.8 g | 473 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 250 g | 400 kcal | 15.6 g | 5 g | 630 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 312.5 g | 500 kcal | 19.5 g | 6.3 g | 788 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708910’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half160 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half252 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708910’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium78 mg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber5 g
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat10.1 g
≈ 51% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium630 mg
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, home recipe,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708913 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 187.5–312.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 300 kcal and 500 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 50 mg more sodium than “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, meat, and added vegetables, home recipe.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program) supplies 51.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “whole grain; with cream sauce and meat; home recipe” fits. Inspect FDC 2708913 when “whole grain; with cream sauce; meat; and added vegetables” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whole grain”, “with cream sauce and meat”, and “home recipe”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, home recipe | 250 g400 kcal | 160 kcal | 6.2 g | 8.3 g | 2 g | 252 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, home recipe | 250 g375 kcal | 150 kcal | 4.1 g | 8.1 g | 2 g | 268 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, meat, and added vegetables, home recipe | 250 g373 kcal | 149 kcal | 6.2 g | 6.9 g | 2.2 g | 202 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and poultry, home recipe | 250 g380 kcal | 152 kcal | 6.4 g | 7.4 g | 2 g | 251 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and seafood, home recipe | 250 g368 kcal | 147 kcal | 6 g | 6.9 g | 2 g | 262 mg |
| Pasta with cream sauce and meat, home recipe | 250 g410 kcal | 164 kcal | 6.1 g | 7.9 g | 0.9 g | 251 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe | 250 g340 kcal | 136 kcal | 4.1 g | 6.4 g | 2.2 g | 206 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708910: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708910, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
400 kcal
250 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708910, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
10.1 g≈ 51% Daily ValueSodium
630 mg≈ 27% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708910’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708910 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 15.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708910 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 400 kcal 160 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 15.6 g 6.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 40.8 g 16.3 g | 15% 6% |
| Total fat | 20.7 g 8.3 g | 27% 11% |
| Dietary fiber | 5 g 2 g | 18% 7% |
| Sugars | 1.9 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 630 mg 252 mg | 27% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 10.1 g 4 g | 51% 20% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5 g 2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.5 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 62.5 mg 25 mg | 21% 8% |
| Potassium | 230 mg 92 mg | 5% 2% |
| Calcium | 87.5 mg 35 mg | 7% 3% |
| Iron | 2.8 mg 1.1 mg | 16% 6% |
| Magnesium | 77.5 mg 31 mg | 18% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0.3 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.5 µg 0.2 µg | 3% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 135 µg 54 µg | 15% 6% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 170.5 g 68.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708910, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708910 to 2 source inputs totaling 270 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, home recipe” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program), Alfredo sauce with meat. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
270 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 20125 · encyclopedia page available | 140 GM | 140 g | 51.9% |
| 2 | Alfredo sauce with meatUSDA ingredient 14650170 · encyclopedia page available | 130 GM | 130 g | 48.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708910, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 160 kcal | 149 kcal | +11 kcal |
| Protein | 6.2 g | 6.2 g | +0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 16.3 g | 16.6 g | −0.3 g |
| Total fat | 8.3 g | 6.9 g | +1.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g | 2.2 g | −0.2 g |
| Sodium | 252 mg | 202 mg | +50 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 11 more calories, 1.4 g more total fat, and 50 mg more sodium than “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, meat, and added vegetables, home recipe.”
Only this record lists Alfredo sauce with meat. Only the comparison record lists Alfredo sauce with meat and added vegetables. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program).
Listed only in this record: Alfredo sauce with meat.
Listed only in the comparison: Alfredo sauce with meat and added vegetables.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708910 with FDC 2708913 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708910 versus FDC 2708913 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708910 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, home recipe” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708910 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, home recipe,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708910 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 160 kcal per 100 g becomes 400 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708910
FNDDS food code: 58146702
The scaling for FDC 2708910 can be exact while the match to “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, home recipe” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.