Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Peanut butter & jelly sandwich, jelly, wheat bread calories: 403 per 1 sandwich (112 g)

This exact USDA record reports 403 calories for 1 sandwich (112 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat bread

Quick facts

1 sandwich · 112 g

Calories
403 kcal
Protein
14 g
Carbohydrate
48.4 g
Total fat
18.8 g
Fiber
5 g
Sodium
407 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 sandwich · 112 g

403calories

Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat bread

Protein
14 g
Carbs
48.4 g
Fat
18.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707556

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 403 calories for 1 sandwich at 112 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 360 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 14 g protein, 5 g fiber, and 407 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches, representing 53.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 202–403 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707556: “Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat bread.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707556, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 sandwich (1 slice bread)” through “1 sandwich” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 sandwich (1 slice bread)USDA-listed household measure 56 g 202 kcal 7 g 2.5 g 203 mg
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 84 g 302 kcal 10.5 g 3.8 g 305 mg
1 sandwichUSDA-listed household measure 112 g 403 kcal 14 g 5 g 407 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches

The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707556’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

360 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
360 kcal
Middle 50%
340–373 kcal

Based on 19 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

12.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
12.4 g
Middle 50%
11.2–13.7 g

Based on 19 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

4.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4.2 g
Middle 50%
3.1–5.1 g

Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

363 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
368 mg
Middle 50%
311–398 mg

Based on 19 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707556’s 112 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium88 mg

≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber5 g

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat3.7 g

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium407 mg

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on…,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707551 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 sandwich (1 slice bread) to 1 sandwich

    USDA assigns those measures 56 g and 112 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 202 kcal to 403 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707551

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.7 g less total fat than “Peanut butter sandwich, with regular peanut butter, on wheat bread.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches supplies 53.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “with regular peanut butter; regular jelly; on wheat bread” fits. Inspect FDC 2707551 when “with regular peanut butter; on wheat bread” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat bread

Exact source wording
“Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat bread”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707556 · FNDDS 42302020
Named qualifiers
with regular peanut butter · regular jelly · on wheat bread
Source inputs unique in this pair
Jellies

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “with regular peanut butter”, “regular jelly”, and “on wheat bread”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPeanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat bread 112 g403 kcal 360 kcal 12.5 g 16.8 g 4.5 g 363 mg
Peanut butter sandwich, with regular peanut butter, on wheat bread 92 g350 kcal 380 kcal 15.2 g 20.5 g 5.3 g 435 mg
Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on white bread 112 g404 kcal 361 kcal 11.4 g 16.6 g 2.8 g 368 mg
Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, reduced sugar jelly, on wheat bread 112 g380 kcal 339 kcal 12.4 g 16.8 g 4.6 g 357 mg
Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with reduced fat peanut butter, on wheat bread 112 g377 kcal 337 kcal 13.5 g 11.8 g 4.6 g 395 mg
Almond butter and jelly sandwich, on wheat bread 112 g417 kcal 372 kcal 12 g 17.2 g 5.8 g 307 mg
Peanut butter sandwich, with regular peanut butter, on white bread 92 g351 kcal 382 kcal 13.9 g 20.2 g 3.2 g 442 mg

How to compare FDC 2707556: its source amount is 112 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707556, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 sandwich

403 kcal

112 g

1 sandwich (1 slice bread)

202 kcal

56 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707556, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Total fat

18.8 g≈ 24% Daily Value

Magnesium

88.5 mg≈ 21% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707556’s 112 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707556 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 14 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707556 at 112 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 5 g dietary fiber, about 18% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 407 mg sodium, about 18% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 112 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 403 kcal Not established
Protein 14 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 48.4 g 18%
Total fat 18.8 g 24%
Dietary fiber 5 g 18%
Sugars 16.7 g Not established
Sodium 406.6 mg 18%
Saturated fat 3.7 g 19%
Monounsaturated Fat 8.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 5 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 302.4 mg 6%
Calcium 114.2 mg 9%
Iron 2.5 mg 14%
Magnesium 88.5 mg 21%
Vitamin C 0.2 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 28.6 g Not established

For FDC 2707556, approximate percentages divide the displayed 112 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707556 to 3 source inputs totaling 112 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat…” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches, Peanut butter, smooth style, with salt (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program), Jellies. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

112 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99995130 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 53.6%
2 Peanut butter, smooth style, with salt (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 16098 · encyclopedia page available 32 GM 32 g 28.6%
3 JelliesUSDA ingredient 19300 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 17.9%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707556, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat bread

USDA category
Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches
FDC ID
2707556
FNDDS code
42302020
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories360 kcal380 kcal−20 kcal
Protein12.5 g15.2 g−2.7 g
Carbohydrate43.2 g37.4 g+5.8 g
Total fat16.8 g20.5 g−3.7 g
Dietary fiber4.5 g5.3 g−0.8 g
Sodium363 mg435 mg−72 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 20 less calories, 2.7 g less protein, and 5.8 g more carbohydrate than “Peanut butter sandwich, with regular peanut butter, on wheat bread.”

Only this record lists Jellies. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches; Peanut butter, smooth style, with salt (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program).

Listed only in this record: Jellies.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 112 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (112 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 92 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (92 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707556 with FDC 2707551 at equal mass; use their 112 g and 92 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707556 versus FDC 2707551 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full peanut butter and jelly sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2707556 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat…,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707556 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 360 kcal per 100 g becomes 403 kcal at 112 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Exact USDA description: Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat bread

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707556

FNDDS food code: 42302020

The scaling for FDC 2707556 can be exact while the match to “Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, with regular peanut butter, regular jelly, on wheat bread” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 112 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.