Energy
middle half236 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 236 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 208–271 kcal
Based on 21 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 106 calories for 1 neckbone (45 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 neckbone · 45 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 neckbone · 45 g
106calories
Pork, bones
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 106 calories for 1 neckbone at 45 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 236 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 11.8 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 164 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pork, fresh, composite of trimmed retail cuts (leg, loin, shoulder, and spareribs), separable lean and fat, cooked, representing 99.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 neckbone at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 106–130 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705897: “Pork, bones.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705897, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 33.8 g | 80 kcal | 8.8 g | 0 g | 123 mg |
| 1 neckboneUSDA-listed household measure | 45 g | 106 kcal | 11.8 g | 0 g | 164 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 55 g | 130 kcal | 14.4 g | 0 g | 200 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 21 exact records in the Pork USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705897’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half236 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half26.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half364 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705897’s 45 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Saturated fat2.2 g
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium164 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pork, bones,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705896 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 45 g and 55 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 106 kcal to 130 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Pork, ears.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Pork, fresh, composite of trimmed retail cuts (leg, loin, shoulder, and spareribs), separable lean and fat, cooked supplies 99.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “bones” fits. Inspect FDC 2705896 when “ears” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “bones”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPork, bones | 45 g106 kcal | 236 kcal | 26.2 g | 13.8 g | 0 g | 364 mg |
| Pork, ears | 85 g201 kcal | 236 kcal | 26.2 g | 13.8 g | 0 g | 364 mg |
| Pork, ribs | 105 g267 kcal | 254 kcal | 16.2 g | 15.1 g | 0.3 g | 678 mg |
| Pork, carnitas | 135 g366 kcal | 271 kcal | 24.6 g | 18.3 g | 0 g | 440 mg |
| Pork, roast | 60 g109 kcal | 181 kcal | 26.6 g | 7.5 g | 0 g | 353 mg |
| Pork, ground | 85 g254 kcal | 299 kcal | 26.9 g | 21.2 g | 0 g | 395 mg |
| Pork, pig's feet | 85 g201 kcal | 236 kcal | 21.8 g | 15.9 g | 0 g | 380 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705897: its source amount is 45 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705897, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
106 kcal
45 g
130 kcal
55 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705897, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
39.2 mg≈ 13% Daily ValueSaturated fat
2.2 g≈ 11% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705897’s 45 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705897 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 11.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 45 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 106 kcal 236 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 11.8 g 26.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 6.2 g 13.8 g | 8% 18% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 163.8 mg 364 mg | 7% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 2.2 g 4.9 g | 11% 24% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.7 g 5.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.7 g 1.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 39.2 mg 87 mg | 13% 29% |
| Potassium | 152.1 mg 338 mg | 3% 7% |
| Calcium | 9 mg 20 mg | 1% 2% |
| Iron | 0.5 mg 1.1 mg | 3% 6% |
| Magnesium | 10.8 mg 24 mg | 3% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.4 µg 0.9 µg | 2% 5% |
| Vitamin A | 0.9 µg 2 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 26.1 g 58.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705897, approximate percentages divide the displayed 45 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705897 to 2 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pork, bones” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pork, fresh, composite of trimmed retail cuts (leg, loin, shoulder, and spareribs), separable lean and fat, cooked, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pork, fresh, composite of trimmed retail cuts (leg, loin, shoulder, and spareribs), separable lean and fat, cookedUSDA ingredient 10188 | 100 GM | 100 g | 99.2% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705897, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pork” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 236 kcal | 236 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 26.2 g | 26.2 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 13.8 g | 13.8 g | Same listed value |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 364 mg | 364 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Formulation evidence
The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.
Shared listed inputs: Pork, fresh, composite of trimmed retail cuts (leg, loin, shoulder, and spareribs), separable lean and fat, cooked; Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 neckbone (45 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 item (85 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705897 with FDC 2705896 at equal mass; use their 45 g and 85 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705897 versus FDC 2705896 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pork source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Pork, bones” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705897 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Pork, bones,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705897 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 236 kcal per 100 g becomes 106 kcal at 45 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 neckbone has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705897
FNDDS food code: 22706010
The scaling for FDC 2705897 can be exact while the match to “Pork, bones” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 45 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.