Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted calories: 141 per 1 1-inch stack (28 g)

This exact USDA record reports 141 calories for 1 1-inch stack (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 1-inch stack · 28 g

Calories
141 kcal
Protein
1.3 g
Carbohydrate
18.1 g
Total fat
7.3 g
Fiber
0.9 g
Sodium
126 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 1-inch stack · 28 g

141calories

Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted

Protein
1.3 g
Carbs
18.1 g
Fat
7.3 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709437

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 141 calories for 1 1-inch stack at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 502 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.3 g protein, 0.9 g fiber, and 126 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, reduced fat, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 1-inch stack at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 10–929 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709437: “Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709437, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 regular can” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 chipUSDA-listed household measure 2 g 10 kcal 0.1 g 0.1 g 9 mg
1 1-inch stackUSDA-listed household measure 28 g 141 kcal 1.3 g 0.9 g 126 mg
1 regular canUSDA-listed household measure 185 g 929 kcal 8.4 g 5.9 g 833 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Potato chips

The comparison set contains 25 exact records in the Potato chips USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709437’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

502 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
487 kcal
Middle 50%
487–532 kcal

Based on 25 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

4.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.5 g
Middle 50%
5–6.5 g

Based on 25 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

3.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.8 g
Middle 50%
3.4–4.2 g

Based on 25 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

450 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
545 mg
Middle 50%
527–633 mg

Based on 25 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709437’s 28 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat1.9 g

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium126 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709440 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 chip to 1 regular can

    USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 185 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 10 kcal to 929 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2709440

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 186 mg more sodium than “Potato chips, restructured, lightly salted.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Snacks, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, reduced fat

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “restructured; reduced fat; lightly salted” fits. Inspect FDC 2709440 when “restructured; lightly salted” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted

Exact source wording
“Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709437 · FNDDS 71201200
Named qualifiers
restructured · reduced fat · lightly salted
Source inputs unique in this pair
Snacks, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, reduced fat

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Potato chips, restructured, lightly salted

Exact source wording
“Potato chips, restructured, lightly salted”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709440 · FNDDS 71202510
Named qualifiers
restructured · lightly salted
Source inputs unique in this pair
Snacks, potato chips, lightly salted · Salt, table

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “restructured”, “reduced fat”, and “lightly salted”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPotato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted 28 g141 kcal 502 kcal 4.6 g 26.1 g 3.2 g 450 mg
Potato chips, restructured, lightly salted 28 g157 kcal 559 kcal 6.7 g 35.3 g 4.2 g 264 mg
Potato chips, reduced fat 28 g135 kcal 482 kcal 7 g 20.6 g 6 g 391 mg
Potato chips, lightly salted 28 g157 kcal 559 kcal 6.7 g 35.3 g 4.2 g 264 mg
Potato chips, restructured, multigrain 28 g141 kcal 505 kcal 5.3 g 24.7 g 2.7 g 544 mg
Potato chips, restructured, flavored 28 g152 kcal 542 kcal 4.6 g 35.1 g 2.9 g 757 mg
Potato chips, restructured, plain 28 g152 kcal 543 kcal 4.6 g 35.2 g 2.9 g 643 mg

How to compare FDC 2709437: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709437, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 chip

10 kcal

2 g

1 1-inch stack

141 kcal

28 g

1 snack size tub/can

100 kcal

20 g

1 small can

301 kcal

60 g

1 regular can

929 kcal

185 g

1 100 calorie package

90 kcal

18 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709437, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

1.9 g≈ 10% Daily Value

Total fat

7.3 g≈ 9% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

18.1 g≈ 7% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709437’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 141 kcal Not established
Protein 1.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 18.1 g 7%
Total fat 7.3 g 9%
Dietary fiber 0.9 g 3%
Sugars 0.2 g Not established
Sodium 126 mg 5%
Saturated fat 1.9 g 9%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 212.8 mg 5%
Calcium 8.1 mg 1%
Iron 0.3 mg 2%
Magnesium 12.6 mg 3%
Vitamin C 3.4 mg 4%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.6 g Not established

For FDC 2709437, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709437 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Snacks, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, reduced fat is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Snacks, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, reduced fatUSDA ingredient 19045 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709437, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Potato chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories502 kcal559 kcal−57 kcal
Protein4.6 g6.7 g−2.2 g
Carbohydrate64.8 g53.4 g+11.4 g
Total fat26.1 g35.3 g−9.2 g
Dietary fiber3.2 g4.2 g−1 g
Sodium450 mg264 mg+186 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 57 less calories, 2.2 g less protein, and 11.4 g more carbohydrate than “Potato chips, restructured, lightly salted.”

Only this record lists Snacks, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, reduced fat. Only the comparison record lists Snacks, potato chips, lightly salted; Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Snacks, potato chips, made from dried potatoes, reduced fat.

Listed only in the comparison: Snacks, potato chips, lightly salted; Salt, table.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 1-inch stack (28 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 1-inch stack (28 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709437 with FDC 2709440 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709437 versus FDC 2709440 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full potato chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2709437 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709437 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 502 kcal per 100 g becomes 141 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 1-inch stack has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709437

FNDDS food code: 71201200

The scaling for FDC 2709437 can be exact while the match to “Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.