Energy
upper quarter559 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 487 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 487–532 kcal
Based on 25 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 157 calories for 1 small bag (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 small bag · 28 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 small single serving bag · 28 g
157calories
Potato chips, lightly salted
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 157 calories for 1 small bag at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 559 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 1.9 g protein, 1.2 g fiber, and 74 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, potato chips, lightly salted, representing 99.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small bag at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 11–475 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709439: “Potato chips, lightly salted.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709439, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 chipUSDA-listed household measure | 2 g | 11 kcal | 0.1 g | 0.1 g | 5 mg |
| 1 small single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 28 g | 157 kcal | 1.9 g | 1.2 g | 74 mg |
| 1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 475 kcal | 5.7 g | 3.6 g | 224 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 25 exact records in the Potato chips USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2709439’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter559 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter6.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter264 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 25 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709439’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C8 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium364 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.5 g
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium74 mg
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Potato chips, lightly salted,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709440 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 11 kcal to 475 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Potato chips, restructured, lightly salted.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Snacks, potato chips, lightly salted supplies 99.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “lightly salted” fits. Inspect FDC 2709440 when “restructured; lightly salted” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “lightly salted”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPotato chips, lightly salted | 28 g157 kcal | 559 kcal | 6.7 g | 35.3 g | 4.2 g | 264 mg |
| Potato chips, restructured, lightly salted | 28 g157 kcal | 559 kcal | 6.7 g | 35.3 g | 4.2 g | 264 mg |
| Potato chips, restructured, reduced fat, lightly salted | 28 g141 kcal | 502 kcal | 4.6 g | 26.1 g | 3.2 g | 450 mg |
| Potato chips, unsalted | 28 g150 kcal | 537 kcal | 6.3 g | 30.3 g | 5.4 g | 7 mg |
| Potato chips, plain | 28 g149 kcal | 532 kcal | 6.4 g | 34 g | 3.1 g | 527 mg |
| Potato chips, restructured, plain | 28 g152 kcal | 543 kcal | 4.6 g | 35.2 g | 2.9 g | 643 mg |
| Potato chips, restructured, flavored | 28 g152 kcal | 542 kcal | 4.6 g | 35.1 g | 2.9 g | 757 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709439: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709439, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
11 kcal
2 g
157 kcal
28 g
319 kcal
57 g
475 kcal
85 g
101 kcal
18 g
140 kcal
25 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709439, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
9.9 g≈ 13% Daily ValueVitamin C
7.6 mg≈ 9% Daily ValuePotassium
364 mg≈ 8% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709439’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 157 kcal 559 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 1.9 g 6.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 15 g 53.4 g | 5% 19% |
| Total fat | 9.9 g 35.3 g | 13% 45% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g 4.2 g | 4% 15% |
| Sugars | 0.1 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 73.9 mg 264 mg | 3% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 1.5 g 5.5 g | 8% 27% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.2 g 14.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.5 g 12.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 364 mg 1,300 mg | 8% 28% |
| Calcium | 6.7 mg 24 mg | 1% 2% |
| Iron | 0.4 mg 1.4 mg | 2% 8% |
| Magnesium | 17.4 mg 62 mg | 4% 15% |
| Vitamin C | 7.6 mg 27.2 mg | 8% 30% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.4 g 1.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709439, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709439 to 2 source inputs totaling 100.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato chips, lightly salted” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, potato chips, lightly salted, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, potato chips, lightly saltedUSDA ingredient 25064 | 100 GM | 100 g | 99.8% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.2 GM | 0.2 g | 0.2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709439, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Potato chips” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 559 kcal | 559 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 6.7 g | 6.7 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 53.4 g | 53.4 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 35.3 g | 35.3 g | Same listed value |
| Dietary fiber | 4.2 g | 4.2 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 264 mg | 264 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Formulation evidence
The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.
Shared listed inputs: Snacks, potato chips, lightly salted; Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 1-inch stack (28 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709439 with FDC 2709440 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709439 versus FDC 2709440 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full potato chips source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2709439 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Potato chips, lightly salted” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709439 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Potato chips, lightly salted,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709439 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 559 kcal per 100 g becomes 157 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small bag has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709439
FNDDS food code: 71202500
The scaling for FDC 2709439 can be exact while the match to “Potato chips, lightly salted” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.