Vegetablesmoderate variability

French fries, with chili and cheese, fast food/restaurant calories: 502 per 1 small fast food order (227 g)

This exact USDA record reports 502 calories for 1 small fast food order (227 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant

Quick facts

1 small fast food order · 227 g

Calories
502 kcal
Protein
10.6 g
Carbohydrate
56.5 g
Total fat
25.9 g
Fiber
6.1 g
Sodium
824 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 small fast food order · 227 g

502calories

Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant

Protein
10.6 g
Carbs
56.5 g
Fat
25.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709468

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 502 calories for 1 small fast food order at 227 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 221 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 10.6 g protein, 6.1 g fiber, and 824 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fast foods, potato, french fried in vegetable oil, representing 48.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small fast food order at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 22–822 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709468: “Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709468, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fry, any cut” through “1 large fast food order” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 fry, any cutUSDA-listed household measure 10 g 22 kcal 0.5 g 0.3 g 36 mg
1 small fast food orderUSDA-listed household measure 227 g 502 kcal 10.6 g 6.1 g 824 mg
1 large fast food orderUSDA-listed household measure 372 g 822 kcal 17.3 g 10 g 1,350 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside French fries and other fried white potatoes

The comparison set contains 36 exact records in the French fries and other fried white potatoes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709468’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

221 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
220 kcal
Middle 50%
187–243 kcal

Based on 36 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

4.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.6 g
Middle 50%
2–4.7 g

Based on 36 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

2.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.2 g
Middle 50%
1.6–2.7 g

Based on 36 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

363 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
363 mg
Middle 50%
261–421 mg

Based on 36 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709468’s 227 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber6.1 g

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium813 mg

≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium824 mg

≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat5.1 g

≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709465 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 fry, any cut to 1 large fast food order

    USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 372 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 22 kcal to 822 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2709465

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.3 g more protein than “Potato, french fries, with cheese, fast food / restaurant.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Fast foods, potato, french fried in vegetable oil

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Fast foods, potato, french fried in vegetable oil supplies 48.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “french fries; with chili and cheese; fast food / restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2709465 when “french fries; with cheese; fast food / restaurant” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant

Exact source wording
“Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709468 · FNDDS 71401050
Named qualifiers
french fries · with chili and cheese · fast food / restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Chili with meat, canned

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Potato, french fries, with cheese, fast food / restaurant

Exact source wording
“Potato, french fries, with cheese, fast food / restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709465 · FNDDS 71401039
Named qualifiers
french fries · with cheese · fast food / restaurant

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “french fries”, “with chili and cheese”, and “fast food / restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPotato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant 227 g502 kcal 221 kcal 4.7 g 11.4 g 2.7 g 363 mg
Potato, french fries, with chili, fast food / restaurant 130 g313 kcal 241 kcal 5.2 g 10.8 g 3.6 g 261 mg
Potato, french fries, with cheese, fast food / restaurant 130 g338 kcal 260 kcal 3.3 g 14.2 g 2.6 g 365 mg
Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese 227 g502 kcal 221 kcal 4.7 g 11.4 g 2.7 g 363 mg
Potato, home fries, from restaurant / fast food 100 g213 kcal 213 kcal 1.9 g 15.2 g 1.6 g 396 mg
Potato, french fries, fast food 110 g343 kcal 312 kcal 3.4 g 14.7 g 3.8 g 210 mg
Potato, french fries, with chili 130 g313 kcal 241 kcal 5.2 g 10.8 g 3.6 g 261 mg

How to compare FDC 2709468: its source amount is 227 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709468, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 fry, any cut

22 kcal

10 g

1 kids meal order

320 kcal

145 g

1 value/dollar menu order

387 kcal

175 g

1 small fast food order

502 kcal

227 g

1 medium fast food order

663 kcal

300 g

1 large fast food order

822 kcal

372 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709468, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

824 mg≈ 36% Daily Value

Total fat

25.9 g≈ 33% Daily Value

Saturated fat

5.1 g≈ 26% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709468’s 227 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2709468 at 227 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 6.1 g dietary fiber, about 22% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 824 mg sodium, about 36% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 227 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 502 kcal Not established
Protein 10.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 56.5 g 21%
Total fat 25.9 g 33%
Dietary fiber 6.1 g 22%
Sugars 1.3 g Not established
Sodium 824 mg 36%
Saturated fat 5.1 g 26%
Monounsaturated Fat 10.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 8.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 15.9 mg 5%
Potassium 812.7 mg 17%
Calcium 72.6 mg 6%
Iron 2.3 mg 13%
Magnesium 56.8 mg 14%
Vitamin C 8.6 mg 10%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 18.2 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 129.8 g Not established

For FDC 2709468, approximate percentages divide the displayed 227 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709468 to 3 source inputs totaling 248 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fast foods, potato, french fried in vegetable oil, Cheese sauce, Chili with meat, canned. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

248 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Fast foods, potato, french fried in vegetable oilUSDA ingredient 21138 · encyclopedia page available 120 GM 120 g 48.4%
2 Cheese sauceUSDA ingredient 14650100 · encyclopedia page available 64 GM 64 g 25.8%
3 Chili with meat, cannedUSDA ingredient 27111407 · encyclopedia page available 64 GM 64 g 25.8%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709468, the close-record rule searches the USDA “French fries and other fried white potatoes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant

USDA category
French fries and other fried white potatoes
FDC ID
2709468
FNDDS code
71401050
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories221 kcal260 kcal−39 kcal
Protein4.7 g3.3 g+1.3 g
Carbohydrate24.9 g29.8 g−4.9 g
Total fat11.4 g14.2 g−2.8 g
Dietary fiber2.7 g2.6 g+0.1 g
Sodium363 mg365 mg−2 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 39 less calories, 1.3 g more protein, and 4.9 g less carbohydrate than “Potato, french fries, with cheese, fast food / restaurant.”

Only this record lists Chili with meat, canned. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Fast foods, potato, french fried in vegetable oil; Cheese sauce.

Listed only in this record: Chili with meat, canned.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 227 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small fast food order (227 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 130 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 value/dollar menu order (130 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709468 with FDC 2709465 at equal mass; use their 227 g and 130 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709468 versus FDC 2709465 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full french fries and other fried white potatoes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2709468 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method.

For “Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    raw versus cooked weight

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709468 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 221 kcal per 100 g becomes 502 kcal at 227 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small fast food order has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709468

FNDDS food code: 71401050

The scaling for FDC 2709468 can be exact while the match to “Potato, french fries, with chili and cheese, fast food / restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 227 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.