Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Pretzel chips, hard, plain calories: 105 per 1 small bag (28 g)

This exact USDA record reports 105 calories for 1 small bag (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 small bag · 28 g

Calories
105 kcal
Protein
2.7 g
Carbohydrate
22 g
Total fat
0.8 g
Fiber
0.9 g
Sodium
571 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 small single serving bag · 28 g

105calories

Pretzel chips, hard, plain

Protein
2.7 g
Carbs
22 g
Fat
0.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708256

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 105 calories for 1 small bag at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 375 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.7 g protein, 0.9 g fiber, and 571 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted, representing 97.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small bag at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 10–319 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708256: “Pretzel chips, hard, plain.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708256, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 pretzel chip/crisp/thin” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 pretzel chip/crisp/thinUSDA-listed household measure 2.7 g 10 kcal 0.3 g 0.1 g 55 mg
1 small single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure 28 g 105 kcal 2.7 g 0.9 g 571 mg
1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure 85 g 319 kcal 8.3 g 2.8 g 1,734 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pretzels/snack mix

The comparison set contains 37 exact records in the Pretzels/snack mix USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708256’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

375 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
370 kcal
Middle 50%
340–388 kcal

Based on 37 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

9.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
8.2 g
Middle 50%
6.2–9.9 g

Based on 37 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

3.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.8 g
Middle 50%
1.6–3.5 g

Based on 37 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

2,040 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
685 mg
Middle 50%
310–1,040 mg

Based on 37 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708256’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron1 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium571 mg

≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.1 g

≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pretzel chips, hard, plain,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708257 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 pretzel chip/crisp/thin to 1 large single serving bag

    USDA assigns those measures 2.7 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 10 kcal to 319 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708257

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 420 mg less sodium than “Pretzel chips, hard, flavored.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted supplies 97.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “hard; plain” fits. Inspect FDC 2708257 when “hard; flavored” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pretzel chips, hard, plain

Exact source wording
“Pretzel chips, hard, plain”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708256 · FNDDS 54408105
Named qualifiers
hard · plain

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Pretzel chips, hard, flavored

Exact source wording
“Pretzel chips, hard, flavored”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708257 · FNDDS 54408110
Named qualifiers
hard · flavored

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “hard” and “plain”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPretzel chips, hard, plain 28 g105 kcal 375 kcal 9.8 g 2.9 g 3.3 g 2,040 mg
Pretzel chips, hard, flavored 28 g104 kcal 370 kcal 9.7 g 2.8 g 3.3 g 2,460 mg
Pretzel chips, hard, gluten free 28 g106 kcal 380 kcal 3.4 g 6.5 g 3.2 g 2,470 mg
Pretzels, hard, plain, unsalted 28 g107 kcal 381 kcal 9.1 g 3.5 g 2.8 g 250 mg
Pretzels, hard, plain, salted 28 g108 kcal 384 kcal 10 g 2.9 g 3.4 g 1,120 mg
Pretzels, hard, plain, lightly salted 28 g107 kcal 382 kcal 9.6 g 3.2 g 3.1 g 685 mg
Pretzels, hard, plain, gluten free 28 g109 kcal 389 kcal 3.5 g 6.7 g 3.3 g 1,570 mg

How to compare FDC 2708256: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708256, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 pretzel chip/crisp/thin

10 kcal

3 g

1 small single serving bag

105 kcal

28 g

1 medium single serving bag

214 kcal

57 g

1 large single serving bag

319 kcal

85 g

1 100 calorie package

94 kcal

25 g

1 cup

150 kcal

40 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708256, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

571.2 mg≈ 25% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

22 g≈ 8% Daily Value

Iron

1.3 mg≈ 7% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708256’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708256 at 28 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 571 mg sodium, about 25% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 105 kcal Not established
Protein 2.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 22 g 8%
Total fat 0.8 g 1%
Dietary fiber 0.9 g 3%
Sugars 0.6 g Not established
Sodium 571.2 mg 25%
Saturated fat 0.1 g 1%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 61 mg 1%
Calcium 7.8 mg 1%
Iron 1.3 mg 7%
Magnesium 7.8 mg 2%
Vitamin C 0.6 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.9 g Not established

For FDC 2708256, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708256 to 2 source inputs totaling 102.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pretzel chips, hard, plain” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

102.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, saltedUSDA ingredient 19047 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 97.6%
2 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 2.5 GM 2.5 g 2.4%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708256, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pretzels/snack mix” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories375 kcal370 kcal+5 kcal
Protein9.8 g9.7 g+0.1 g
Carbohydrate78.4 g77.5 g+0.9 g
Total fat2.9 g2.8 g+0 g
Dietary fiber3.3 g3.3 gSame listed value
Sodium2,040 mg2,460 mg−420 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 420 mg less sodium than “Pretzel chips, hard, flavored.”

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted; Salt, table.

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708256 with FDC 2708257 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708256 versus FDC 2708257 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pretzels/snack mix source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708256 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Pretzel chips, hard, plain,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708256 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 375 kcal per 100 g becomes 105 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small bag has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708256

FNDDS food code: 54408105

The scaling for FDC 2708256 can be exact while the match to “Pretzel chips, hard, plain” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.