Energy
middle half381 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 370 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 340–388 kcal
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 107 calories for 1 small bag (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 small bag · 28 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 small single serving bag · 28 g
107calories
Pretzels, hard, plain, unsalted
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 107 calories for 1 small bag at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 381 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.5 g protein, 0.8 g fiber, and 70 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, made with enriched flour, unsalted, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small bag at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 4–324 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708251: “Pretzels, hard, plain, unsalted.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708251, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 pretzel stick” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 pretzel stickUSDA-listed household measure | 1 g | 4 kcal | 0.1 g | 0 g | 3 mg |
| 1 small single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 28 g | 107 kcal | 2.5 g | 0.8 g | 70 mg |
| 1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 324 kcal | 7.7 g | 2.4 g | 213 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 37 exact records in the Pretzels/snack mix USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708251’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half381 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter250 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708251’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium70 mg
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.2 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pretzels, hard, plain, unsalted,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708252 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 1 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 4 kcal to 324 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 930 mg less sodium than “Pretzels, hard, flavored.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “hard; plain; unsalted” fits. Inspect FDC 2708252 when “hard; flavored” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “hard”, “plain”, and “unsalted”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPretzels, hard, plain, unsalted | 28 g107 kcal | 381 kcal | 9.1 g | 3.5 g | 2.8 g | 250 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, plain, salted | 28 g108 kcal | 384 kcal | 10 g | 2.9 g | 3.4 g | 1,120 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, plain, lightly salted | 28 g107 kcal | 382 kcal | 9.6 g | 3.2 g | 3.1 g | 685 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, plain, gluten free | 28 g109 kcal | 389 kcal | 3.5 g | 6.7 g | 3.3 g | 1,570 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, multigrain | 28 g107 kcal | 381 kcal | 10.2 g | 3 g | 4.2 g | 1,100 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, flavored | 28 g109 kcal | 388 kcal | 9.9 g | 3.9 g | 3.4 g | 1,180 mg |
| Pretzel chips, hard, plain | 28 g105 kcal | 375 kcal | 9.8 g | 2.9 g | 3.3 g | 2,040 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708251: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708251, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
6 kcal
2 g
11 kcal
3 g
65 kcal
17 g
4 kcal
1 g
38 kcal
10 g
11 kcal
3 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708251, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
22.2 g≈ 8% Daily ValueIron
1.2 mg≈ 7% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708251’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708251 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 2.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 107 kcal 381 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.5 g 9.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 22.2 g 79.2 g | 8% 29% |
| Total fat | 1 g 3.5 g | 1% 4% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g 2.8 g | 3% 10% |
| Sugars | 0.6 g 2.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 70 mg 250 mg | 3% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g 0.8 g | 1% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.4 g 1.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.3 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 40.9 mg 146 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 10.1 mg 36 mg | 1% 3% |
| Iron | 1.2 mg 4.3 mg | 7% 24% |
| Magnesium | 9.8 mg 35 mg | 2% 8% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.9 g 3.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708251, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708251 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pretzels, hard, plain, unsalted” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, made with enriched flour, unsalted is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, made with enriched flour, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 19814 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708251, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pretzels/snack mix” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 381 kcal | 388 kcal | −7 kcal |
| Protein | 9.1 g | 9.9 g | −0.8 g |
| Carbohydrate | 79.2 g | 79.4 g | −0.2 g |
| Total fat | 3.5 g | 3.9 g | −0.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.8 g | 3.4 g | −0.6 g |
| Sodium | 250 mg | 1,180 mg | −930 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 930 mg less sodium than “Pretzels, hard, flavored.”
Only this record lists Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, made with enriched flour, unsalted. Only the comparison record lists Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, made with enriched flour, unsalted.
Listed only in the comparison: Snacks, pretzels, hard, plain, salted; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small bag (28 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708251 with FDC 2708252 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 28 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708251 versus FDC 2708252 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pretzels/snack mix source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Pretzels, hard, plain, unsalted” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708251 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Pretzels, hard, plain, unsalted,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708251 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 381 kcal per 100 g becomes 107 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small bag has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708251
FNDDS food code: 54408030
The scaling for FDC 2708251 can be exact while the match to “Pretzels, hard, plain, unsalted” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.