Energy
middle half345 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 370 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 340–388 kcal
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 245 calories for 1 medium/regular (71 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium/regular · 71 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium/regular · 71 g
245calories
Pretzels, soft, from frozen, unsalted
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 245 calories for 1 medium/regular at 71 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 345 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.8 g protein, 1.2 g fiber, and 179 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pretzels, soft, unsalted, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium/regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 48–507 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708279: “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, unsalted.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708279, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 bite size/nugget” through “1 cup, nuggets” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bite size/nuggetUSDA-listed household measure | 14 g | 48 kcal | 1.1 g | 0.2 g | 35 mg |
| 1 medium/regularUSDA-listed household measure | 71 g | 245 kcal | 5.8 g | 1.2 g | 179 mg |
| 1 cup, nuggetsUSDA-listed household measure | 147 g | 507 kcal | 12.1 g | 2.5 g | 370 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 37 exact records in the Pretzels/snack mix USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708279’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half345 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half8.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter252 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708279’s 71 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron3 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium179 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.5 g
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, unsalted,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708278 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 14 g and 147 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 48 kcal to 507 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 531 mg less sodium than “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, salted.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “soft; from frozen; unsalted” fits. Inspect FDC 2708278 when “soft; from frozen; salted” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “soft”, “from frozen”, and “unsalted”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPretzels, soft, from frozen, unsalted | 71 g245 kcal | 345 kcal | 8.2 g | 3.1 g | 1.7 g | 252 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, from frozen, salted | 71 g241 kcal | 340 kcal | 8.1 g | 3.1 g | 1.7 g | 783 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, from frozen, topped with meat | 71 g248 kcal | 349 kcal | 11.5 g | 9.9 g | 1.3 g | 438 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, from frozen, topped with cheese | 71 g241 kcal | 339 kcal | 10.2 g | 5.4 g | 1.5 g | 310 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, from frozen, coated or flavored | 71 g259 kcal | 365 kcal | 7.9 g | 7.8 g | 1.6 g | 896 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, unsalted, no butter | 120 g414 kcal | 345 kcal | 8.2 g | 3.1 g | 1.7 g | 252 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, unsalted, buttered | 120 g420 kcal | 350 kcal | 8.1 g | 4.1 g | 1.7 g | 250 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708279: its source amount is 71 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708279, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
245 kcal
71 g
245 kcal
71 g
48 kcal
14 g
72 kcal
21 g
507 kcal
147 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708279, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
50.4 g≈ 18% Daily ValueIron
2.8 mg≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708279’s 71 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708279 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 5.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 71 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 245 kcal 345 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.8 g 8.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 50.4 g 71 g | 18% 26% |
| Total fat | 2.2 g 3.1 g | 3% 4% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g 1.7 g | 4% 6% |
| Sugars | 0.2 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 178.9 mg 252 mg | 8% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 0.5 g 0.7 g | 2% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.8 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.7 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 62.5 mg 88 mg | 1% 2% |
| Calcium | 16.3 mg 23 mg | 1% 2% |
| Iron | 2.8 mg 3.9 mg | 15% 22% |
| Magnesium | 14.9 mg 21 mg | 4% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 10.7 g 15 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708279, approximate percentages divide the displayed 71 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708279 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, unsalted” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Pretzels, soft, unsalted is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pretzels, soft, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 25024 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708279, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pretzels/snack mix” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 345 kcal | 340 kcal | +5 kcal |
| Protein | 8.2 g | 8.1 g | +0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 71 g | 70.1 g | +0.9 g |
| Total fat | 3.1 g | 3.1 g | +0 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.7 g | 1.7 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 252 mg | 783 mg | −531 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 531 mg less sodium than “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, salted.”
Only the comparison record lists Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pretzels, soft, unsalted.
Listed only in the comparison: Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 71 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium/regular (71 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 71 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium/regular (71 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708279 with FDC 2708278 at equal mass; use their 71 g and 71 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708279 versus FDC 2708278 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pretzels/snack mix source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708279 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, unsalted” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708279 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, unsalted,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708279 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 345 kcal per 100 g becomes 245 kcal at 71 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium/regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708279
FNDDS food code: 54408456
The scaling for FDC 2708279 can be exact while the match to “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, unsalted” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 71 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.