Energy
lower quarter100 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 125 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 101–139 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 237 calories for 1 cup (237 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, no added fat
Quick facts
1 cup · 237 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 237 g
237calories
Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, no added fat
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 237 calories for 1 cup at 237 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 100 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.1 g protein, 2.8 g fiber, and 1,014 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is rice, brown, long-grain, cooked (includes foods for usda's food distribution program), representing 70.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709108: “Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, no added fat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709108, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 177.8 g | 178 kcal | 3.9 g | 2.1 g | 761 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 237 g | 237 kcal | 5.1 g | 2.8 g | 1,014 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 296.3 g | 296 kcal | 6.4 g | 3.6 g | 1,268 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Fried rice and lo/chow mein USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2709108’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter100 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter2.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter428 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709108’s 237 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium69 mg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber2.8 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,014 mg
≈ 44% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.5 g
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, no added fat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709109 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 177.8–296.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 178 kcal and 296 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.7 g less total fat than “Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, fat added.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Rice, brown, long-grain, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program) supplies 70.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “brown; with soy-based sauce; no added fat” fits. Inspect FDC 2709109 when “brown; with soy-based sauce; fat added” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “brown”, “with soy-based sauce”, and “no added fat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordRice, brown, with soy-based sauce, no added fat | 237 g237 kcal | 100 kcal | 2.2 g | 0.8 g | 1.2 g | 428 mg |
| Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, fat added | 237 g270 kcal | 114 kcal | 2.1 g | 2.4 g | 1.1 g | 420 mg |
| Rice, brown, with vegetables, soy-based sauce, fat added | 290 g305 kcal | 105 kcal | 2.3 g | 2 g | 1.7 g | 352 mg |
| Rice, brown, with vegetables, soy-based sauce, no added fat | 286 g269 kcal | 94 kcal | 2.3 g | 0.7 g | 1.7 g | 357 mg |
| Rice, white, with soy-based sauce, no added fat | 237 g239 kcal | 101 kcal | 2.1 g | 0.3 g | 0.3 g | 491 mg |
| Rice, white, with soy-based sauce, fat added | 237 g277 kcal | 117 kcal | 2 g | 2.2 g | 0.3 g | 482 mg |
| Rice, white, with vegetables, soy-based sauce, no added fat | 255 g240 kcal | 94 kcal | 2.2 g | 0.3 g | 1.1 g | 399 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709108: its source amount is 237 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709108, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
237 kcal
237 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709108, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
1,014.4 mg≈ 44% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
49.5 g≈ 18% Daily ValueMagnesium
68.7 mg≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709108’s 237 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2709108 at 237 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 237 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 237 kcal 100 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.1 g 2.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 49.5 g 20.9 g | 18% 8% |
| Total fat | 1.8 g 0.8 g | 2% 1% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.8 g 1.2 g | 10% 4% |
| Sugars | 3 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,014.4 mg 428 mg | 44% 19% |
| Saturated fat | 0.5 g 0.2 g | 3% 1% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.7 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.6 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 165.9 mg 70 mg | 4% 1% |
| Calcium | 9.5 mg 4 mg | 1% 0% |
| Iron | 1 mg 0.4 mg | 6% 2% |
| Magnesium | 68.7 mg 29 mg | 16% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 177.3 g 74.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709108, approximate percentages divide the displayed 237 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709108 to 3 source inputs totaling 275.9 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, no added fat” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Rice, brown, long-grain, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program), Gravy, made with soy sauce, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
275.9 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rice, brown, long-grain, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 20037 · encyclopedia page available | 1 | 195 g | 70.7% |
| 2 | Gravy, made with soy sauceUSDA ingredient 28520000 · encyclopedia page available | 0.33 | 79.9 g | 29% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.17 | 1 g | 0.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709108, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fried rice and lo/chow mein” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 100 kcal | 114 kcal | −14 kcal |
| Protein | 2.2 g | 2.1 g | +0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 20.9 g | 20.6 g | +0.3 g |
| Total fat | 0.8 g | 2.4 g | −1.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g | 1.1 g | +0.1 g |
| Sodium | 428 mg | 420 mg | +8 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 14 less calories and 1.7 g less total fat than “Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, fat added.”
Only the comparison record lists Vegetable oil, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Rice, brown, long-grain, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program); Gravy, made with soy sauce; Salt, table.
Listed only in the comparison: Vegetable oil, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 237 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (237 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 237 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (237 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709108 with FDC 2709109 at equal mass; use their 237 g and 237 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709108 versus FDC 2709109 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full fried rice and lo/chow mein source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, no added fat” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709108 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, no added fat,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709108 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 100 kcal per 100 g becomes 237 kcal at 237 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709108
FNDDS food code: 58164870
The scaling for FDC 2709108 can be exact while the match to “Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, no added fat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 237 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.