Energy
upper quarter279 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 234 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 224–246 kcal
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 502 calories for 1 regular sandwich (180 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular sandwich · 180 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular sandwich · 180 g
502calories
Salmon cake sandwich
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 502 calories for 1 regular sandwich at 180 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 279 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 25 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 754 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fish, salmon cake or patty, representing 66.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 251–1,004 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707023: “Salmon cake sandwich.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707023, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/slider” through “1 large sandwich” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniature/sliderUSDA-listed household measure | 90 g | 251 kcal | 12.5 g | 0.9 g | 377 mg |
| 1 regular sandwichUSDA-listed household measure | 180 g | 502 kcal | 25 g | 1.8 g | 754 mg |
| 1 large sandwichUSDA-listed household measure | 360 g | 1,004 kcal | 50 g | 3.6 g | 1,508 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 19 exact records in the Seafood sandwiches USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707023’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter279 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half13.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half419 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 19 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707023’s 180 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin D; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin D9.4 µg
≈ 47% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium754 mg
≈ 33% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat5.3 g
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Salmon cake sandwich,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707022 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 90 g and 360 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 251 kcal to 1,004 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.7 g more total fat than “Crab cake sandwich.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Fish, salmon cake or patty supplies 66.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Salmon cake sandwich” fits. Inspect FDC 2707022 when the exact wording “Crab cake sandwich” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSalmon cake sandwich | 180 g502 kcal | 279 kcal | 13.9 g | 15.9 g | 1 g | 419 mg |
| Crab cake sandwich | 180 g416 kcal | 231 kcal | 12.7 g | 11.2 g | 1 g | 436 mg |
| Sardine sandwich | 135 g316 kcal | 234 kcal | 17.9 g | 8 g | 1 g | 371 mg |
| Fish wrap sandwich | 151 g396 kcal | 262 kcal | 14.7 g | 12.4 g | 1.4 g | 562 mg |
| Fried seafood sandwich | 180 g421 kcal | 234 kcal | 11.3 g | 9.8 g | 1.1 g | 439 mg |
| Seafood salad sandwich | 180 g389 kcal | 216 kcal | 9.9 g | 11.8 g | 1 g | 540 mg |
| Tuna salad sandwich wrap | 200 g488 kcal | 244 kcal | 10.6 g | 14.8 g | 1.3 g | 564 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707023: its source amount is 180 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707023, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
502 kcal
180 g
1,004 kcal
360 g
1,004 kcal
360 g
251 kcal
90 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707023, Vitamin D is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin D
9.4 µg≈ 47% Daily ValueTotal fat
28.6 g≈ 37% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707023’s 180 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707023 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 25 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707023 at 180 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 180 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 502 kcal 279 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 25 g 13.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 34.9 g 19.4 g | 13% 7% |
| Total fat | 28.6 g 15.9 g | 37% 20% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 1 g | 6% 4% |
| Sugars | 4 g 2.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 754.2 mg 419 mg | 33% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 5.3 g 3 g | 27% 15% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 8.4 g 4.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 12.1 g 6.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 100.8 mg 56 mg | 34% 19% |
| Potassium | 408.6 mg 227 mg | 9% 5% |
| Calcium | 153 mg 85 mg | 12% 7% |
| Iron | 2.9 mg 1.6 mg | 16% 9% |
| Magnesium | 43.2 mg 24 mg | 10% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 2.3 mg 1.3 mg | 3% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 9.4 µg 5.2 µg | 47% 26% |
| Vitamin A | 61.2 µg 34 µg | 7% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 88.2 g 49 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707023, approximate percentages divide the displayed 180 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707023 to 2 source inputs totaling 180 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Salmon cake sandwich” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fish, salmon cake or patty, Bread, white, commercially prepared. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
180 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 33.3% |
| 2 | Fish, salmon cake or pattyUSDA ingredient 27250070 | 120 GM | 120 g | 66.7% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707023, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Seafood sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 279 kcal | 231 kcal | +48 kcal |
| Protein | 13.9 g | 12.7 g | +1.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 19.4 g | 19.4 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 15.9 g | 11.2 g | +4.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1 g | 1 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 419 mg | 436 mg | −17 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 48 more calories and 4.7 g more total fat than “Crab cake sandwich.”
Only this record lists Fish, salmon cake or patty. Only the comparison record lists Crab, cake. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Bread, white, commercially prepared.
Listed only in this record: Fish, salmon cake or patty.
Listed only in the comparison: Crab, cake.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular sandwich (180 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular sandwich (180 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707023 with FDC 2707022 at equal mass; use their 180 g and 180 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707023 versus FDC 2707022 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full seafood sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Salmon cake sandwich,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707023 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 279 kcal per 100 g becomes 502 kcal at 180 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707023
FNDDS food code: 27550120
The scaling for FDC 2707023 can be exact while the match to “Salmon cake sandwich” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 180 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.