Energy
upper quarter399 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 322 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 285–368 kcal
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 180 calories for 1 cake slice (45 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cake slice · 45 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular cupcake · 45 g
180calories
Snack cake, chocolate
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 180 calories for 1 cake slice at 45 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 399 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 1.6 g protein, 1.4 g fiber, and 149 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cake, snack cakes, creme-filled, chocolate with frosting, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 60–180 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707873: “Snack cake, chocolate.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707873, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/bite size” through “1 regular cupcake” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniature/bite sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 15 g | 60 kcal | 0.5 g | 0.5 g | 50 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 33.8 g | 135 kcal | 1.2 g | 1.1 g | 112 mg |
| 1 regular cupcakeUSDA-listed household measure | 45 g | 180 kcal | 1.6 g | 1.4 g | 149 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707873’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter399 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half3.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter3.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter332 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707873’s 45 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.4 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.2 g
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium149 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Snack cake, chocolate,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707871 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 15 g and 45 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 60 kcal to 180 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 213 mg more sodium than “Cake, chocolate, flourless.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “chocolate” fits. Inspect FDC 2707871 when “chocolate; flourless” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSnack cake, chocolate | 45 g180 kcal | 399 kcal | 3.6 g | 15.9 g | 3.2 g | 332 mg |
| Cake, chocolate, flourless | 115 g472 kcal | 410 kcal | 4.9 g | 29.4 g | 2.4 g | 119 mg |
| Snack cake, white | 45 g168 kcal | 374 kcal | 3.5 g | 11.5 g | 1 g | 470 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, German chocolate | 200 g720 kcal | 360 kcal | 3.7 g | 17.6 g | 2.4 g | 297 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing | 65 g197 kcal | 303 kcal | 5.1 g | 13.2 g | 2.3 g | 387 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, chocolate with chocolate icing, bakery | 175 g604 kcal | 345 kcal | 3.3 g | 15.2 g | 1.6 g | 295 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, chocolate with chocolate icing, from mix | 150 g512 kcal | 341 kcal | 3.5 g | 15 g | 1.7 g | 305 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707873: its source amount is 45 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707873, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
60 kcal
15 g
180 kcal
45 g
180 kcal
45 g
180 kcal
45 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707873, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
2.2 g≈ 11% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
27.1 g≈ 10% Daily ValueTotal fat
7.2 g≈ 9% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707873’s 45 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 45 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 180 kcal 399 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 1.6 g 3.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 27.1 g 60.3 g | 10% 22% |
| Total fat | 7.2 g 15.9 g | 9% 20% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g 3.2 g | 5% 11% |
| Sugars | 17 g 37.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 149.4 mg 332 mg | 6% 14% |
| Saturated fat | 2.2 g 4.9 g | 11% 24% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.8 g 8.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.8 g 1.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 79.2 mg 176 mg | 2% 4% |
| Calcium | 52.2 mg 116 mg | 4% 9% |
| Iron | 1.6 mg 3.6 mg | 9% 20% |
| Magnesium | 16.2 mg 36 mg | 4% 9% |
| Vitamin C | 0.9 mg 1.9 mg | 1% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0.5 µg 1 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 2.7 mg 6 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 8.4 g 18.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707873, approximate percentages divide the displayed 45 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707873 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Snack cake, chocolate” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Cake, snack cakes, creme-filled, chocolate with frosting is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cake, snack cakes, creme-filled, chocolate with frostingUSDA ingredient 18127 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707873, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 399 kcal | 410 kcal | −11 kcal |
| Protein | 3.6 g | 4.9 g | −1.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 60.3 g | 37.9 g | +22.4 g |
| Total fat | 15.9 g | 29.4 g | −13.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 3.2 g | 2.4 g | +0.8 g |
| Sodium | 332 mg | 119 mg | +213 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.2 g less protein, 22.4 g more carbohydrate, and 13.5 g less total fat than “Cake, chocolate, flourless.”
Only this record lists Cake, snack cakes, creme-filled, chocolate with frosting. Only the comparison record lists Candies, semisweet chocolate; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Butter, stick, unsalted; Sugars, granulated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Cake, snack cakes, creme-filled, chocolate with frosting.
Listed only in the comparison: Candies, semisweet chocolate; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Butter, stick, unsalted; Sugars, granulated; and 2 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (45 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (115 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707873 with FDC 2707871 at equal mass; use their 45 g and 115 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707873 versus FDC 2707871 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Snack cake, chocolate” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707873 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Snack cake, chocolate,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707873 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 399 kcal per 100 g becomes 180 kcal at 45 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707873
FNDDS food code: 53108200
The scaling for FDC 2707873 can be exact while the match to “Snack cake, chocolate” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 45 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.