Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing calories: 197 per 1 cake slice (65 g)

This exact USDA record reports 197 calories for 1 cake slice (65 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cake slice · 65 g

Calories
197 kcal
Protein
3.3 g
Carbohydrate
28.1 g
Total fat
8.6 g
Fiber
1.5 g
Sodium
252 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 regular or small piece/slice · 65 g

197calories

Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing

Protein
3.3 g
Carbs
28.1 g
Fat
8.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707868

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 197 calories for 1 cake slice at 65 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 303 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 3.3 g protein, 1.5 g fiber, and 252 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cake, yellow, enriched, dry mix, representing 44% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 15–303 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707868: “Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707868, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 large piece/slice” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 5 g 15 kcal 0.3 g 0.1 g 19 mg
1 regular or small piece/sliceUSDA-listed household measure 65 g 197 kcal 3.3 g 1.5 g 252 mg
1 large piece/sliceUSDA-listed household measure 100 g 303 kcal 5.1 g 2.3 g 387 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cakes and pies

The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707868’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

303 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
322 kcal
Middle 50%
285–368 kcal

Based on 65 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

5.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
2.6–4.8 g

Based on 65 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

2.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.7–1.9 g

Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

387 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
280 mg
Middle 50%
214–313 mg

Based on 65 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707868’s 65 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron1 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium78 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium252 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.9 g

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707895 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 large piece/slice

    USDA assigns those measures 5 g and 100 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 15 kcal to 303 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707895

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.7 g more dietary fiber than “Cake or cupcake, white, no icing.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Cake, yellow, enriched, dry mix

    The source formulation has 5 input rows; Cake, yellow, enriched, dry mix supplies 44% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “chocolate; no icing” fits. Inspect FDC 2707895 when “white; no icing” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing

Exact source wording
“Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707868 · FNDDS 53105275
Named qualifiers
chocolate · no icing
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cake or cupcake, white, no icing

Exact source wording
“Cake or cupcake, white, no icing”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707895 · FNDDS 53121275
Named qualifiers
white · no icing

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate” and “no icing”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing 65 g197 kcal 303 kcal 5.1 g 13.2 g 2.3 g 387 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate with chocolate icing, from mix 150 g512 kcal 341 kcal 3.5 g 15 g 1.7 g 305 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate with chocolate icing, bakery 175 g604 kcal 345 kcal 3.3 g 15.2 g 1.6 g 295 mg
Cake or cupcake, white with chocolate icing, from mix 150 g518 kcal 345 kcal 3.1 g 14.7 g 0.7 g 324 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix 150 g524 kcal 349 kcal 3.1 g 14.4 g 1.4 g 306 mg
Cake or cupcake, white with chocolate icing, bakery 175 g611 kcal 349 kcal 2.9 g 15 g 0.8 g 313 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, bakery 175 g621 kcal 355 kcal 2.8 g 14.6 g 1.2 g 296 mg

How to compare FDC 2707868: its source amount is 65 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707868, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 miniature/bite size

45 kcal

15 g

1 regular cupcake

152 kcal

50 g

1 regular or small piece/slice

197 kcal

65 g

1 large piece/slice

303 kcal

100 g

1 cup

227 kcal

75 g

1 cubic inch

15 kcal

5 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707868, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

51.4 mg≈ 17% Daily Value

Total fat

8.6 g≈ 11% Daily Value

Sodium

251.6 mg≈ 11% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707868’s 65 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707868 at 65 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 252 mg sodium, about 11% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 65 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 197 kcal Not established
Protein 3.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 28.1 g 10%
Total fat 8.6 g 11%
Dietary fiber 1.5 g 5%
Sugars 14 g Not established
Sodium 251.6 mg 11%
Saturated fat 1.9 g 10%
Monounsaturated Fat 3.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 51.4 mg 17%
Potassium 76.1 mg 2%
Calcium 78 mg 6%
Iron 1.3 mg 7%
Magnesium 19.5 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.3 µg 2%
Vitamin A 22.1 µg 2%
Caffeine 6.5 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 23.5 g Not established

For FDC 2707868, approximate percentages divide the displayed 65 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707868 to 5 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

5 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cake, yellow, enriched, dry mix, Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cake, yellow, enriched, dry mixUSDA ingredient 18144 44 GM 44 g 44%
2 Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetenedUSDA ingredient 19165 · encyclopedia page available 4 GM 4 g 4%
3 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 27 GM 27 g 27%
4 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 17 GM 17 g 17%
5 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 8 GM 8 g 8%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707868, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories303 kcal310 kcal−7 kcal
Protein5.1 g4.4 g+0.7 g
Carbohydrate43.3 g44.4 g−1.1 g
Total fat13.2 g12.8 g+0.4 g
Dietary fiber2.3 g0.6 g+1.7 g
Sodium387 mg419 mg−32 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.7 g more dietary fiber than “Cake or cupcake, white, no icing.”

Only this record lists Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Cake, yellow, enriched, dry mix; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Vegetable oil, NFS.

Listed only in this record: Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (65 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (65 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707868 with FDC 2707895 at equal mass; use their 65 g and 65 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707868 versus FDC 2707895 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707868 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 303 kcal per 100 g becomes 197 kcal at 65 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707868

FNDDS food code: 53105275

The scaling for FDC 2707868 can be exact while the match to “Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 65 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.