Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Cake, chocolate, flourless calories: 472 per 1 cake slice (115 g)

This exact USDA record reports 472 calories for 1 cake slice (115 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cake slice · 115 g

Calories
472 kcal
Protein
5.6 g
Carbohydrate
43.6 g
Total fat
33.8 g
Fiber
2.8 g
Sodium
137 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 piece/slice, any size · 115 g

471calories

Cake, chocolate, flourless

Protein
5.6 g
Carbs
43.6 g
Fat
33.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707871

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 472 calories for 1 cake slice at 115 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 410 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 5.6 g protein, 2.8 g fiber, and 137 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is candies, semisweet chocolate, representing 38.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 472–492 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707871: “Cake, chocolate, flourless.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707871, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 86.3 g 354 kcal 4.2 g 2.1 g 103 mg
1 piece/slice, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 115 g 472 kcal 5.6 g 2.8 g 137 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 120 g 492 kcal 5.8 g 2.9 g 143 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cakes and pies

The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707871’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

410 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
322 kcal
Middle 50%
285–368 kcal

Based on 65 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

4.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
2.6–4.8 g

Based on 65 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

2.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.7–1.9 g

Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

119 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
280 mg
Middle 50%
214–313 mg

Based on 65 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707871’s 115 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A205.9 µg

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium58 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat18.6 g

≈ 93% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium137 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cake, chocolate, flourless,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707868 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 115 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 86.3–143.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 354 kcal and 589 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707868

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 268 mg less sodium than “Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Candies, semisweet chocolate

    The source formulation has 6 input rows; Candies, semisweet chocolate supplies 38.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “chocolate; flourless” fits. Inspect FDC 2707868 when “chocolate; no icing” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cake, chocolate, flourless

Exact source wording
“Cake, chocolate, flourless”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707871 · FNDDS 53105396
Named qualifiers
chocolate · flourless
Source inputs unique in this pair
Candies, semisweet chocolate · Butter, stick, unsalted · Sugars, granulated

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing

Exact source wording
“Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707868 · FNDDS 53105275
Named qualifiers
chocolate · no icing
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cake, yellow, enriched, dry mix · Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened · Vegetable oil, NFS

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate” and “flourless”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCake, chocolate, flourless 115 g472 kcal 410 kcal 4.9 g 29.4 g 2.4 g 119 mg
Snack cake, chocolate 45 g180 kcal 399 kcal 3.6 g 15.9 g 3.2 g 332 mg
Cake or cupcake, German chocolate 200 g720 kcal 360 kcal 3.7 g 17.6 g 2.4 g 297 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing 65 g197 kcal 303 kcal 5.1 g 13.2 g 2.3 g 387 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate with chocolate icing, bakery 175 g604 kcal 345 kcal 3.3 g 15.2 g 1.6 g 295 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate with chocolate icing, from mix 150 g512 kcal 341 kcal 3.5 g 15 g 1.7 g 305 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, bakery 175 g621 kcal 355 kcal 2.8 g 14.6 g 1.2 g 296 mg

How to compare FDC 2707871: its source amount is 115 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707871, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 piece/slice, any size

472 kcal

115 g

1 cup

492 kcal

120 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707871, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

18.6 g≈ 93% Daily Value

Cholesterol

162.2 mg≈ 54% Daily Value

Total fat

33.8 g≈ 43% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707871’s 115 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 115 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 472 kcal Not established
Protein 5.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 43.6 g 16%
Total fat 33.8 g 43%
Dietary fiber 2.8 g 10%
Sugars 39.1 g Not established
Sodium 136.9 mg 6%
Saturated fat 18.6 g 93%
Monounsaturated Fat 9.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 162.2 mg 54%
Potassium 213.9 mg 5%
Calcium 33.4 mg 3%
Iron 2 mg 11%
Magnesium 57.5 mg 14%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.8 µg 4%
Vitamin A 205.9 µg 23%
Caffeine 28.8 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 30.7 g Not established

For FDC 2707871, approximate percentages divide the displayed 115 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707871 to 6 source inputs totaling 100.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cake, chocolate, flourless” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

6 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Candies, semisweet chocolate, Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole, Butter, stick, unsalted. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Candies, semisweet chocolateUSDA ingredient 19080 · encyclopedia page available 39 GM 39 g 38.9%
2 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 23 GM 23 g 23%
3 Butter, stick, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 1145 · encyclopedia page available 17 GM 17 g 17%
4 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 11 GM 11 g 11%
5 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 10%
6 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.2 GM 0.2 g 0.2%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707871, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories410 kcal303 kcal+107 kcal
Protein4.9 g5.1 g−0.2 g
Carbohydrate37.9 g43.3 g−5.4 g
Total fat29.4 g13.2 g+16.2 g
Dietary fiber2.4 g2.3 g+0.1 g
Sodium119 mg387 mg−268 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 107 more calories, 5.4 g less carbohydrate, and 16.2 g more total fat than “Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing.”

Only this record lists Candies, semisweet chocolate; Butter, stick, unsalted; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table. Only the comparison record lists Cake, yellow, enriched, dry mix; Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened; Vegetable oil, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.

Listed only in this record: Candies, semisweet chocolate; Butter, stick, unsalted; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table.

Listed only in the comparison: Cake, yellow, enriched, dry mix; Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened; Vegetable oil, NFS.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (115 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (65 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707871 with FDC 2707868 at equal mass; use their 115 g and 65 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707871 versus FDC 2707868 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Cake, chocolate, flourless,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707871 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 410 kcal per 100 g becomes 472 kcal at 115 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707871

FNDDS food code: 53105396

The scaling for FDC 2707871 can be exact while the match to “Cake, chocolate, flourless” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 115 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.