Energy
middle half86 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 86 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 72–104 kcal
Based on 16 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 206 calories for 1 cup (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 240 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 240 g
206calories
Vegetable curry
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 206 calories for 1 cup at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 86 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3.8 g protein, 4.3 g fiber, and 931 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is vegetables as ingredient in curry, representing 58.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710067: “Vegetable curry.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710067, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 180 g | 155 kcal | 2.9 g | 3.2 g | 698 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 240 g | 206 kcal | 3.8 g | 4.3 g | 931 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 300 g | 258 kcal | 4.8 g | 5.4 g | 1,164 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 16 exact records in the Vegetable dishes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710067’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half86 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 16 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter1.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 16 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 16 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter388 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 16 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710067’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C30 mg
≈ 33% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A158.4 µg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium931 mg
≈ 40% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3 g
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Vegetable curry,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710068 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 180–300 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 155 kcal and 258 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.7 g less carbohydrate than “Vegetable curry with rice.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Vegetables as ingredient in curry supplies 58.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Vegetable curry” fits. Inspect FDC 2710068 when the exact wording “Vegetable curry with rice” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordVegetable curry | 240 g206 kcal | 86 kcal | 1.6 g | 5.3 g | 1.8 g | 388 mg |
| Vegetable curry with rice | 200 g206 kcal | 103 kcal | 2 g | 3.3 g | 1.3 g | 331 mg |
| Stew, vegetable | 255 g120 kcal | 47 kcal | 1.4 g | 0.2 g | 2.1 g | 296 mg |
| Sambar, vegetable stew | 124 g107 kcal | 86 kcal | 4.3 g | 2.7 g | 4 g | 207 mg |
| Squash, summer, casserole, with rice and tomato sauce | 117 g97 kcal | 83 kcal | 2.3 g | 1.7 g | 1.1 g | 120 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710067: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710067, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
206 kcal
240 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710067, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
931.2 mg≈ 41% Daily ValueVitamin C
29.5 mg≈ 33% Daily ValueVitamin A
158.4 µg≈ 18% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710067’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2710067 at 240 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 206 kcal 86 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3.8 g 1.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 21.1 g 8.8 g | 8% 3% |
| Total fat | 12.6 g 5.3 g | 16% 7% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.3 g 1.8 g | 15% 6% |
| Sugars | 7.6 g 3.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 931.2 mg 388 mg | 40% 17% |
| Saturated fat | 3 g 1.3 g | 15% 6% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.5 g 1.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.2 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 686.4 mg 286 mg | 15% 6% |
| Calcium | 50.4 mg 21 mg | 4% 2% |
| Iron | 1.6 mg 0.7 mg | 9% 4% |
| Magnesium | 38.4 mg 16 mg | 9% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 29.5 mg 12.3 mg | 33% 14% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 158.4 µg 66 µg | 18% 7% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 198.2 g 82.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710067, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710067 to 4 source inputs totaling 102.6 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Vegetable curry” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Vegetables as ingredient in curry, Curry sauce, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
102.6 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Curry sauceUSDA ingredient 81312100 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 39% |
| 2 | Vegetables as ingredient in curryUSDA ingredient 99997810 | 60 GM | 60 g | 58.5% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 1.9% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.6 GM | 0.6 g | 0.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710067, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Vegetable dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 86 kcal | 103 kcal | −17 kcal |
| Protein | 1.6 g | 2 g | −0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 8.8 g | 16.5 g | −7.7 g |
| Total fat | 5.3 g | 3.3 g | +2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g | 1.3 g | +0.5 g |
| Sodium | 388 mg | 331 mg | +57 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 17 less calories, 7.7 g less carbohydrate, and 2 g more total fat than “Vegetable curry with rice.”
Only this record lists Curry sauce; Vegetables as ingredient in curry; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table. Only the comparison record lists Vegetable curry; Rice, cooked, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Curry sauce; Vegetables as ingredient in curry; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in the comparison: Vegetable curry; Rice, cooked, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (240 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 200 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (200 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710067 with FDC 2710068 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 200 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710067 versus FDC 2710068 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full vegetable dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.
For “Vegetable curry,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710067 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 86 kcal per 100 g becomes 206 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710067
FNDDS food code: 75440600
The scaling for FDC 2710067 can be exact while the match to “Vegetable curry” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.