Energy
middle half263 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 273 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 245–315 kcal
Based on 43 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 197 calories for 1 medium waffle (75 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium waffle · 75 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium waffle · 75 g
197calories
Waffle, gluten free
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 197 calories for 1 medium waffle at 75 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 263 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 379 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is waffles, gluten-free, frozen, ready-to-heat, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium waffle at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 7–355 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708330: “Waffle, gluten free.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708330, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 surface inch” through “1 thick / Belgian waffle” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 surface inchUSDA-listed household measure | 2.5 g | 7 kcal | 0.1 g | 0 g | 13 mg |
| 1 medium waffleUSDA-listed household measure | 75 g | 197 kcal | 2 g | 1.1 g | 379 mg |
| 1 thick / Belgian waffleUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 355 kcal | 3.7 g | 1.9 g | 682 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 43 exact records in the Pancakes, waffles, French toast USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708330’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half263 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter2.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter1.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half505 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708330’s 75 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium23 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium379 mg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.6 g
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Waffle, gluten free,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708311 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2.5 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 7 kcal to 355 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.3 g more total fat than “Pancakes, gluten free.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “gluten free” fits. Inspect FDC 2708311 when “gluten free” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “gluten free”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordWaffle, gluten free | 75 g197 kcal | 263 kcal | 2.7 g | 8.8 g | 1.4 g | 505 mg |
| Pancakes, gluten free | 100 g215 kcal | 215 kcal | 3.3 g | 4.6 g | 1.5 g | 331 mg |
| French toast, gluten free | 65 g172 kcal | 264 kcal | 7.8 g | 12.2 g | 2.2 g | 300 mg |
| Waffle, school | 80 g206 kcal | 257 kcal | 7.1 g | 3.6 g | 4.3 g | 557 mg |
| Waffle, fruit | 75 g230 kcal | 307 kcal | 6.9 g | 14.9 g | 2.8 g | 467 mg |
| Waffle, fruit, frozen | 80 g237 kcal | 296 kcal | 7.1 g | 9.1 g | 2.6 g | 437 mg |
| Waffle, plain | 75 g280 kcal | 373 kcal | 8.7 g | 18.8 g | 2.5 g | 597 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708330: its source amount is 75 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708330, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
26 kcal
10 g
105 kcal
40 g
197 kcal
75 g
329 kcal
125 g
355 kcal
135 g
7 kcal
3 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708330, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
378.8 mg≈ 17% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
32.3 g≈ 12% Daily ValueTotal fat
6.6 g≈ 9% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708330’s 75 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708330 at 75 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 75 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 197 kcal 263 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2 g 2.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 32.3 g 43 g | 12% 16% |
| Total fat | 6.6 g 8.8 g | 9% 11% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g 1.4 g | 4% 5% |
| Sugars | 1.3 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 378.8 mg 505 mg | 16% 22% |
| Saturated fat | 0.6 g 0.8 g | 3% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.3 g 4.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.8 g 2.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 93 mg 124 mg | 2% 3% |
| Calcium | 30 mg 40 mg | 2% 3% |
| Iron | 0.5 mg 0.6 mg | 3% 4% |
| Magnesium | 23.3 mg 31 mg | 6% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 32.6 g 43.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708330, approximate percentages divide the displayed 75 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708330 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Waffle, gluten free” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Waffles, gluten-free, frozen, ready-to-heat is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Waffles, gluten-free, frozen, ready-to-heatUSDA ingredient 28346 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708330, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pancakes, waffles, French toast” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 263 kcal | 215 kcal | +48 kcal |
| Protein | 2.7 g | 3.3 g | −0.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 43 g | 40.3 g | +2.7 g |
| Total fat | 8.8 g | 4.6 g | +4.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g | 1.5 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 505 mg | 331 mg | +174 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 48 more calories, 4.3 g more total fat, and 174 mg more sodium than “Pancakes, gluten free.”
Only this record lists Waffles, gluten-free, frozen, ready-to-heat. Only the comparison record lists Pancakes, gluten-free, frozen, ready-to-heat. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Waffles, gluten-free, frozen, ready-to-heat.
Listed only in the comparison: Pancakes, gluten-free, frozen, ready-to-heat.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium waffle (75 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 100 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 large pancake (90 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708330 with FDC 2708311 at equal mass; use their 75 g and 100 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708330 versus FDC 2708311 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pancakes, waffles, french toast source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708330 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Waffle, gluten free” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708330 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Waffle, gluten free,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708330 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 263 kcal per 100 g becomes 197 kcal at 75 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium waffle has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708330
FNDDS food code: 55208000
The scaling for FDC 2708330 can be exact while the match to “Waffle, gluten free” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 75 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.