Energy
upper quarter373 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 273 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 245–315 kcal
Based on 43 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 280 calories for 1 medium waffle (75 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium waffle · 75 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium waffle · 75 g
280calories
Waffle, plain
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 280 calories for 1 medium waffle at 75 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 373 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.5 g protein, 1.9 g fiber, and 448 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk, nfs, representing 41.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium waffle at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 9–504 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708325: “Waffle, plain.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708325, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 surface inch” through “1 thick / Belgian waffle” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 surface inchUSDA-listed household measure | 2.5 g | 9 kcal | 0.2 g | 0.1 g | 15 mg |
| 1 medium waffleUSDA-listed household measure | 75 g | 280 kcal | 6.5 g | 1.9 g | 448 mg |
| 1 thick / Belgian waffleUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 504 kcal | 11.7 g | 3.4 g | 806 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 43 exact records in the Pancakes, waffles, French toast USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708325’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter373 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter8.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter597 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708325’s 75 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium182 mg
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A67.5 µg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium448 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.1 g
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Waffle, plain,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708326 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 2.5 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 9 kcal to 504 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 130 mg more sodium than “Waffle, fruit.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 6 input rows; Milk, NFS supplies 41.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “plain” fits. Inspect FDC 2708326 when “fruit” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “plain”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordWaffle, plain | 75 g280 kcal | 373 kcal | 8.7 g | 18.8 g | 2.5 g | 597 mg |
| Waffle, plain, frozen | 80 g247 kcal | 309 kcal | 7.4 g | 9.5 g | 2.6 g | 460 mg |
| Waffle, plain, reduced fat | 80 g234 kcal | 292 kcal | 9.7 g | 7.4 g | 1.5 g | 505 mg |
| Waffle, cinnamon | 75 g280 kcal | 373 kcal | 8.7 g | 18.8 g | 2.7 g | 596 mg |
| Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant | 75 g321 kcal | 428 kcal | 8.2 g | 26.4 g | 2.4 g | 620 mg |
| Waffle, chocolate | 75 g328 kcal | 437 kcal | 9.1 g | 22.7 g | 2.9 g | 517 mg |
| Waffle, fruit | 75 g230 kcal | 307 kcal | 6.9 g | 14.9 g | 2.8 g | 467 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708325: its source amount is 75 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708325, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
37 kcal
10 g
149 kcal
40 g
280 kcal
75 g
466 kcal
125 g
504 kcal
135 g
9 kcal
3 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708325, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
58.5 mg≈ 20% Daily ValueSodium
447.8 mg≈ 20% Daily ValueTotal fat
14.1 g≈ 18% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708325’s 75 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708325 at 75 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 75 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 280 kcal 373 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.5 g 8.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 31.1 g 41.5 g | 11% 15% |
| Total fat | 14.1 g 18.8 g | 18% 24% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.9 g 2.5 g | 7% 9% |
| Sugars | 6.2 g 8.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 447.8 mg 597 mg | 19% 26% |
| Saturated fat | 3.1 g 4.2 g | 16% 21% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.3 g 7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.4 g 5.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 58.5 mg 78 mg | 20% 26% |
| Potassium | 153.8 mg 205 mg | 3% 4% |
| Calcium | 181.5 mg 242 mg | 14% 19% |
| Iron | 1.3 mg 1.7 mg | 7% 10% |
| Magnesium | 17.3 mg 23 mg | 4% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.8 µg 1.1 µg | 4% 6% |
| Vitamin A | 67.5 µg 90 µg | 8% 10% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 20.8 g 27.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708325, approximate percentages divide the displayed 75 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708325 to 6 source inputs totaling 431 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Waffle, plain” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Milk, NFS, Pancakes, plain, dry mix, incomplete (includes buttermilk), Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
431 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pancakes, plain, dry mix, incomplete (includes buttermilk)USDA ingredient 18291 · encyclopedia page available | 140 GM | 140 g | 32.5% |
| 2 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 13 GM | 13 g | 3% |
| 3 | Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available | 180 GM | 180 g | 41.8% |
| 4 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 11.6% |
| 5 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 28 GM | 28 g | 6.5% |
| 6 | Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 4.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708325, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pancakes, waffles, French toast” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 373 kcal | 307 kcal | +66 kcal |
| Protein | 8.7 g | 6.9 g | +1.8 g |
| Carbohydrate | 41.5 g | 36.2 g | +5.3 g |
| Total fat | 18.8 g | 14.9 g | +3.9 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.5 g | 2.8 g | −0.3 g |
| Sodium | 597 mg | 467 mg | +130 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 66 more calories, 1.8 g more protein, and 5.3 g more carbohydrate than “Waffle, fruit.”
Only the comparison record lists Blueberries, frozen, unsweetened (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program). Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pancakes, plain, dry mix, incomplete (includes buttermilk); Sugars, granulated; Milk, NFS; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; and 2 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Blueberries, frozen, unsweetened (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program).
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium waffle (75 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium waffle (75 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708325 with FDC 2708326 at equal mass; use their 75 g and 75 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708325 versus FDC 2708326 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pancakes, waffles, french toast source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708325 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Waffle, plain” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708325 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Waffle, plain,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708325 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 373 kcal per 100 g becomes 280 kcal at 75 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium waffle has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708325
FNDDS food code: 55201000
The scaling for FDC 2708325 can be exact while the match to “Waffle, plain” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 75 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.